We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Burlington

Expedia.comUSD 62*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Burlington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 572: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Burlington
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M6356JCmariew
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Pekin, Illinois
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel previously. It is directly next door to fun city pzazz. On this trip we took our 7 year old daughter. In advance, I requested an indoor room (as opposed to an outside facing room). The location was perfect, on the bottom floor facing the pool. Since fun city no longer has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki R
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear about your stay and the fact that your family had a great time with us. I will pass along your kind words to our staff. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Burlington.

Atlanta, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rashauna P
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Columbia, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This motel needs a remodel great location but very old with outside room entrances. Very high priced for what you get. Breakfast not good.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of doing some updates to all of our rooms. We do have rooms on the inside surrounding our pool that have easier access to the pool and bar area. When making your reservation next time make sure to request the interior rooms. Thank you again for your feedback and we...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bartender at the tiki bar "Soup" was great! We enjoyed meeting him and he recommended the best restaurant we visited all weekend. We would be happy to come back as long as we could get a room that opens up to the pool area and Soup is working. The outside rooms were very "budget". They turned the heaters off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zcar300
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and got some good recommendations from Soup. I will pass along your kind words to him. Soup typically is working at the Tiki Bar unless we have an event. When booking your next visit please make sure to request an interior room. Thank you again for your feedback...

Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Traveling for business, I booked a room because of the price. When I drove up, I was a bit reluctant to enter. Once inside, however, I was quickly greeted by Kristy at the front desk. The hotel is very dated, in need of updates. With that being said, the room was clean, staff amazing, breakfast area comfortable. I will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel G
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We take pride in providing our guests great guest service and a clean comfortable home away from home. I am happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. I will pass along your kind words to our team. Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to your next trip.

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The check in process was painfull, the decor outdated to stay the least. A large group of soccer high schoolers kept me awake until 1am. They did have breakfast at 5:30 am when I was checking out, it was decent. Will not return to this property.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woopigsooie7
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish you would have told us about the noise while you were here so we could have addressed it and made your stay more comfortable. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail please call me directly. Thank...

Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend sporting event and were very disappointed. The place had an odor from the moment you walked in. The hotel is in dire need of remodeling in the lobby, the pool and the rooms. Everything was run down and out of date. The staff was constantly outside smoking and didn't answer the phone when we called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our staff takes pride in offering great guest service and I am sorry to hear you felt we did not achieve this. We are in the process of doing some updates to our guest rooms. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you...

Stewartville, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When arriving at this HJ, from the back side, we didn't know what to think. Once we checked in and entered the courtyard, to our room, we were wonderfully surprised. The lobby and courtyard were very well kept. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The room was very well priced, and right beside the casino. The only complaint is...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in offering our guests a clean comfortable place to stay away from home and we are happy to know we met those expectations with you. I am sorry about being inconvenienced with housekeeping knocking prior to check out. I...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved the hotel, friendly people from the time you check in until the time you check out. The housekeeper staff was excellent. Loved the pool area, pool table. The hotel was very nice . Was very disappointed in the breakfast. The breakfast needs improvement.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 206vickit
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay during your last visit with us. I would like to discuss further with you on your experience with our breakfast. Please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.3 km away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Burlington
133 reviews
3.9 km away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
115 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 11 in Burlington
43 reviews
37.5 km away
Best Western Mt. Pleasant Inn
Best Western Mt. Pleasant Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Pleasant
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 61 North and Mt. Pleasant St (Rte 34), the Howard Johnson Burlington is next door to the Catfish Bend Casino and Burlington Bees Stadium and close to Fun City Family Water Park. In addition to our friendly staff and top notch service, you will find 2 indoor heated swimming pools, a hot tub/whirlpool, 4 large banquet halls for weddings, meetings and parties. Our Poolside weddings are unique. We provide full catering services. We have a Tiki bar and Lounge. All our guest rooms have flat screen 32 inch LCD TVs with Free HBO, Microwaves and Refrigerators. We offer Complimentary Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Bridal and Honeymoon suite is a beautiful addition with Jacuzzi and a 40 inch LCD HDTV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mount Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601-2137
Region: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Burlington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room that opens to the pool area.”
zcar300, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the pool for quiet. Ask for a poolside room for a poolside patio (good if you are travelling with kids)”
GrammaIG, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Request an indoor facing room for pool access and more security.”
734nikkir, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If it is cold weather and you want to enjoy the pool or hot tub, ask for an inside room.”
2rosedust, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not book this hotel, there is a brand new Holiday Inn across the street.”
mrsbonner0727, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 62* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 85
Hotels.comUSD 62
Hotwire.comUSD 62
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates