We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Booking.comUSD 76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,463: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
 Click to rate
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived at the hotel late in the day.The front desk person told the gentleman in front of us it was her second day, and she was all by herself. She didn't seem to know how to check him in, and answered the phone. The call took her away from the desk, which led to a long wait to get...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I love the location which is close to the flea market, downtown shops, etc. The hotel room was okay. I felt the carpeting needs to be clean in the room we stayed in. To me it smelled like stinky feet. My daughter thought it smelled musty. We would notice the smell whenever we entered the room. The room looked clean...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W1807HHrebeccac
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback...I have sent your comment along to housekeeping and will personally follow up.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You can tell the hotel has a little age on it, but that's part of the charm. Great service, easy check in and out, great location, comfortable beds, clean, and a wonderful complimentary breakfast. Couldn't ask for anything more!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Algonquin, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed our time. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Breakfast was great! The room was nice and big. Pool and forpit area are a nice touch. Great location for Flea Market!! Really cool to be in the middle of it all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

Perfect but we get only 4 stars :( Thank you for the review

Brookfield, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose a play, dinner and overnight to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed at all. The play was so professionally done. Our waitress went out of her way to serve us and when we checked into the room BlueGate surprised us with a wonderful momento of our time with them. I would recommend the Blue...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette M
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

No - Thank You!!!

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

the hotel is very nice. we had a really nice room. all the staff was friendly, a plus really great breakfast to start of the day. Thanks Blue Gate Inn for having such a nice clean hotel.We will return next month to check on you. Thanks again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 340kent
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

We are looking forward to your next visit! Thank you!

Westland, Michigan
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stay was good. Hotel was mostly empty. So I was shocked when they decided to vacuum at 8:30am. Everything else about the stay was good but I don't see why they need to vacuum at 8:30am right outside of guest rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NMJr
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

We shouldn't be vacuuming outside of guest rooms at 8:30. Thanks for your feedback and review!

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice clean friendly, wonderful breakfast buffet included in stay. We return every year! Close to everything. Free coffee tea water and cookies too. Lots of furniture and tables indoor and outdoors for visiting. Nice pool and hot tub.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank clm861956
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you!

Winn, Michigan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our second stay here. Not disappointed. Nice comfortable bed. Spacious. Ice cream parlor open after the concert we attended. Such an inviting atmosphere. Breakfast buffet like the icing on the cake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cabingranny
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!

Plainwell, Michigan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We encountered a family emergency and had to check out the same night we checked in. We were in the room less than three hours. When checking out I informed the receptionist we needed to leave due to an emergency, she did not offer condolences or apologies for our situation, only handed me the bill. We have stayed here before...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly T
Rob P, General Manager at Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel, responded to this review

Let me check into this. Family emergencies are given exception to our rules. Did you check with a member of the leadership team prior to leaving?

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
0.6 km away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
670 reviews
2.6 km away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
21.1 km away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
237 reviews
0.2 km away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Gate Garden Inn Shipshewana is located in the heart of Northern Indiana and is located within walking distance of all the major attractions, shopping and dining in Shipshewana. Stays include our FAMOUS full hot country breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and access to an indoor pool, hot-tub, fitness room and more.The entire hotel is non-smoking and guest room amenities include TV with premium cable, wireless Internet, free local phone calls, voicemail, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron/board, desk, and more. Suites offer microwave, mini refrigerators and more.The Blue Gate Garden Inn is convenient from the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel

Address: 800 S van Buren St, Shipshewana, IN 46565-8610 (Formerly The Amish Country Inn - Shipshewana Hotel)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Price Range: $133 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splash Universe Shipshewana In
Splash Universe Hotel Shipshewana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely clean the carpeting and put tissues in the counter of the bathroom.”
W1807HHrebeccac, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Keep up the god work”
robertmU6809NZ, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Everything was wonderful!”
, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Back of hotel facing fields for being away from any road noise.”
michaelhU2011JL, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“I wish they hadn't removed the water park!”
IceGoalieMom, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 76* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 76
Expedia.comUSD 76
Orbitz.comUSD 76
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates