We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn Portage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Portage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 327: English reviews
Knoxville, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

A few years ago, my husband and I decided that, if at all possible, we would stay at Hampton Inn because of the standard of quality we usually see, especially the comfort of beds because we both have bad backs, and the free breakfast. Hampton Inn Portage met those expectations and the staff exceeded them. This hotel had obviously gone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loislane2121
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

I shared your comments with our entire team. Thank you. Please come and visit again very soon.

Aurora, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hampton Inns are always our first choice when traveling. I've found that they have the most consistently high level of standard that I expect for a fair price. Cleanliness and comfort are the two most important things I look for and Hampton Inns have never disappointed me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 139phylliss
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you were not disappointed. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will stay at our Hotel again.

Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel, Saturday, November 26, on our way back from Iowa. The room was average and included a Jacuzzi which we didn't use. The one thing that was strange to me was that there wasn't a closet which meant there were no extra pillows, blankets or even an iron or board. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pattydoro
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Our apologies for the confusion. The closet is directly behind the full length mirror. Inside the closet is an iron, ironing board, blanket, and a luggage rack. Thanks for choosing our Hotel. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Knoxville, MD, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable room, as expected with Hampton Inn. Salt water pool the kids loved. Wonderful staff. Nice breakfast, but meat options were only boiled eggs and sausage links. Lots of bread and pastry choices, as well as fruit and oatmeal. When you check out, they give you goodie bags for the road!! Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Defiance
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night while in area on business and it was good. Breakfast needs a little more variety/quality, but it wasn't bad. Room was good and internet was available as well as a fitness center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great stop to make rather than pushing on through the greater Chicago area. It was quiet and no congestion to get on / off the interstate. The bed was firm with no saggy spot and the bathroom was spotless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 976patriciak
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Clemson, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were very clean and all the staff were very friendly! It was so nice to have a bathroom that was shiny and spotless. We love the complimentary breakfast. We also like being able to get coffee twenty-fours a day. We will definitely stay at this hotel again if we are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Condord, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very clean and well situated to local amenities. The staff very friendly, courteous and helpful. But... There is no refrigerator and... the bed was way to hard. Had to get and use extra pillows and comforters to sleep on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William F
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Our apologies. Presently the Hilton Brand does not mandate ownership groups to provide fridges and microwaves as a complimentary amenity. They are standard equipment in our whirlpool suites. In addition we have a few sets that we rent on a first come first serve basis, for a nominal rental fee. All of our beds were manufactured by the Brand approved...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room was great, clean and spacious, staff was friendly and breakfast was simple but delicious. I would recommend the hotel to any one and I certainly plan on staying here again. I even signed up for their rewards program.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cinderlily85
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel.

Innerkip Ontario
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night before going to Chicago. The room and bathroom were very clean. I didn't get the name of the breakfast room host but what a lovely lady she was! The rest of the staff were friendly and helpful too. The only complaints are that there was no fridge in the room and the tub for some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Janet thanks you for your kind remarks. The intent of the original design of the tubs was to insure a quicker flow of water to the drain. As the Brand evolves into the Forever Young Project the tubs will be replaced by showers during the next renovation. Thanks for choosing our Hotel.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
365 reviews
5.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Price Range: $131 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Portage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 2nd floor above the pool and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles loislane2121, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South side rooms are more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kathy3650, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We almost always ask for upper floor rooms for extra peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dcr1837, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Interstate is close on the lobby side of the hotel, so we booked on the back and it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles Ontario76, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Keep driving”
 of 5 bubbles G1982RLwilliamm, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay