We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverbank Homestay and B & B

Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Overview
12 Old Mill Lane, Ngunguru 0173 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Golf Course
Pool
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
55
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
55
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts new zealand scuba diving great place to stay hilton nz
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third time at The Riverbank and we loved it, as always. (Last year we stayed there too, after I'd broken my arm on the South Island, and their kindness and support and the relaxing qualities of their B&B really helped me greatly....More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank C M
Response from Theriverbank, Owner at The Riverbank Homestay and B & BResponded 1 week ago

It was again our pleasure to have you stay. The Piwakawaka chicks showed up about 10 days later, wish you could have seen them. So glad you had perfect diving weather this time. Early morning walk in the wetland is a nice way to start...More

Reviewed 14 February 2018

Melva and Hilton were wonderful hosts and have a beautiful home. Although we weren't able to go scuba diving like we hoped, because of bad weather, we still very much enjoyed our stay. We also really appreciate their focus on sustainability. We can't wait to...More

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank KaibaW1
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed with Hilton and Melva in beginning of January. We were three weeks in New Zeeland and this was the best place we stayed at during our whole trip. The breakfast was amazing! The hiking suggestions from them were really good. We got lots...More

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Elin B
Response from Theriverbank, Owner at The Riverbank Homestay and B & BResponded 23 January 2018

It was our pleasure to help you lovely people have a pleasant stay. Welcome back anytime, sad you did not get to do your diving, maybe there will be another time and the weather stays good. :-)

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for an authentic New Zealand nature experience then look no further. Hilton & Melva and incredibly gracious hosts with not only a beautiful home, but with a perfect location (well maintained and predator "freed") for enjoying New Zealand and it's world class...More

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank 463jasons
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The Riverbank is a magical place, set amongst beautiful trees on the edge of the Tutukaka Coast. That in itself would be great, but what makes it truly fabulous is the welcome, warmth and hospitality of Melva and Hilton. Our three nights in in their...More

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank Ian G
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Golf Course
Details
Price range
USD 85 - USD 106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 85 - USD 106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
37 reviews
2.37 km away
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
262 reviews
4.59 km away
Pacific Rendezvous
791 reviews
5.39 km away
Lupton Lodge
323 reviews
9.54 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Salt Air Cafe
54 reviews
2.12 km away
Schnappa Rock
550 reviews
4.83 km away
Ngunguru Takeaways
56 reviews
2.08 km away
Wahi Restaurant
173 reviews
4.63 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Matapouri Bay
98 reviews
7.95 km away
Yukon Dive
138 reviews
4.84 km away
Poor Knights Island Marine Reserve
177 reviews
4.76 km away
Perfect Day Ocean Cruise
125 reviews
4.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Riverbank Homestay and B & B staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Only one room, but it's very nice."
D7884YQcm
2 weeks ago
Read review
"The room is very clean. Mattress and bedding are great. Shower is superb! "
jodiwcv
12 Jan. 2017
Read review
"Spotless and spacious room with comfortable beds, very quiet location, close to nature, amazing and very..."
245marzenak
3 Apr. 2014
Read review
"Stay on a Homestay, all-meals basis - the food is great!"
MnMCoulson
12 Feb. 2014
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing