We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lil Black Bear Inn

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lil Black Bear Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lil Black Bear Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Booked for a weekend get away with my wife. Set vacation days, got kennel booked for the dogs. Get an email from the owner saying we are canceled, she overbooked a wedding can we swap weekends. We accommodate and swap. She checks availability and we are good. Swap vacation days, swap kennel reservation. Then 2 weeks out.... email. Someone wants...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Chris H
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I had never stayed in a B&B before and I'm sad that this was my first experience. We arrived after dark to a dark Inn. No porch lights. We found a door which was unlocked but no signs of life. Called and Innkeeper came down to show us around. Was shown other rooms, one of which her kids and dog...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Michelle M
indiana
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

All I have to say is if you're a groupon holder for this place good luck. When I finally spoke to owner, who lives out of state, about our room not being available(wouldn't pick up for me had to have inn keeper call, gotta love caller I.d) she basically told me to call groupon get a refund(at 6pm on a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cheaptricktaker
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Pros: The whirpool and fireplace were awesome!! These were the reasons we picked our room, and they didn't disappoint. The TV had been upgraded from the pics on the site, and it swiveled on the wall mount so you could watch it from the whirpool. Breakfast and snacks were very yummy. The mattress was comfy. The bathroom had been upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank manderzpanders
Trafalgar, Indiana
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is the old innkeepers Lois and Marvin Scrogham. We wanted to say Thank You to all the great an wonderful customers we had May 8, 2013 - February 10, 2014. You were all the greatest and we will miss you dearly this next season. We wish you all the best. Thank you again! Lois and Marvin Scrogham Former innkeepers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SuperTripleL
Bethel, Ohio
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I bought a voucher on Groupon for the 2-night stay as a gift for me and my boyfriend to have a relaxing and romantic weekend not too far from home. I also ordered the candlelit dinner in our room for the night we arrived and a bottle of champagne being chilled. The innkeepers had everything perfect! The fire was lit...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tina B
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip to Nashville after we saw a Groupon offered for Always Inn. We thought it would be a great opportunity to check out the town before the weather got too cold and to take a day trip to IU, where I went to college. We didn't arrive until late on Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Courtney C
Zionsville, Indiana
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have stayed at several B&B's and this was probably our worst experience. The Inn could use many updates, but we were disappointed with the amenities that it lists, but were not available to us, and the minimal service offered at Breakfast. There are no chocolates or snacks in each room, only 2 bottles of water in the fridge, wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank frequentraveler13638
fredadanzig, Owner at Lil Black Bear Inn, responded to this review

Dear Suzette and Chris: So sorry that you were disappointed in your stay at Always Inn Brown County. I was at the inn the day prior to your arrival and the internet worked fine. I have shown Lois and Marvin how to reset the modem if that happens again. They are country folks who are not electronically savvy, but they...

Noblesville, Indiana
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I decided to leave town without the kid for a romantic one night getaway. We had never been to Brown County and decided that is where we were going. We found what seemed like a good deal on Groupon for a one night stay at the Always Inn Bed and Breakfast and booked our room. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Consumer00001
fredadanzig, Owner at Lil Black Bear Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the opportunity to speak with me on the phone yesterday about your stay at Always Inn Brown County. The power going out at breakfast time was unfortunate; it came back on at 11:40 a.m. I am refunding each room $20 since a full country breakfast is included. We have had no complaints about the television reception. The...

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our host and hostess made our experience a very pleasant one. They made us feel right at home. The rooms were very charming and the breakfast was great... (thank you marvin and louis) for an overall pleasant, and relaxing vacation... The johnson's

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiena1972

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
12.9 km away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
303 reviews
12.1 km away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
119 reviews
12.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
12.9 km away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
422 reviews
13.9 km away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#3 of 24 in Nashville
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The ‘Lil Black Bear Inn is located on State Road 46 East in the beautiful hills of Nashville, IN voted by Midwest Living magazine readers as “the most picturesque stretch of highway in America.” Our intimate six-room inn offers privacy, pampering, warm hospitality, and great food. Stay with us for a relaxing getaway, whatever the reason or season. Comfortable bedrooms with custom furnishings and local original artwork, several rooms with private whirlpool spa baths, in-room refrigerators, full breakfast, free wireless internet, satellite TV with flat screen TVs free movie library, free parking, central air/heat, CD player, alarm clock, radio, aromatherapy toiletries, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and more. Ask for a room with a whirlpool spa or one with a view of the woods or pond. We are also a pet friendly inn. We can arrange for candlelight dinners on our decks and patios or in-room dining. We also offer gift and fruit baskets, floral bouquets, spa treatments, in-room deep tissue massage therapy, chocolate covered strawberries, chilled beverages, box lunches, picnic baskets and more… In the morning, awaken to a sumptuous country breakfast, accompanied by juice and gourmet coffee. Breakfast is on the house, of course. In spring and summer afternoons, we also offer complimentary cookies or brownies and sun tea or lemonade; in the fall and winter afternoons, we serve brownies and hot chocolate. Our goal is to pamper you so you can relax, unwind, renew and recharge. Gift certificates, specials and packages are available for anniversaries, birthdays and honeymoons. Please tell us if you are celebrating a special occasion – honeymoon, anniversary, and birthday or simply escaping for a couple of days. We’ll do everything we can to make your getaway extra-special, always. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lil Black Bear Inn

Address: 8072 State Road 46 E, Nashville, IN 47448-9396 (Formerly Always Inn Brown County Indiana Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Price Range: $148 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lil Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lil Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lil Black Bear Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lil Black Bear Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wild Oak room has a nice view of the woods, but the room itself: bad, very bad.”
Midwest_Guy15, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Definitely not the Bitter Sweet Room”
487sherij, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The Bittersweet Room is absolutely perfect!”
TZahlen9469, 18 Dec 2013 | Read review
“the rooms are very nice and clean but security is a massive issue, we stayed in the Bittersweet and it was a dream to look at but until these people are gone please be careful.”
824kathyc, 6 Nov 2013 | Read review
“The Red Bud room was great! I loved the balcony.”
RHamman, 27 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5