We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa

1820 State Highway 6, Gibbston 9371 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (202)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Gibbston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Set within Central Otago’s oldest founding vineyards, and nestled between rugged schist mountains, Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa offers the ultimate in relaxed luxury, fine wine, gastronomic food and five-star concierge service. Twenty four private villas featuring views over organic and historic vineyards are sure to impress. Each villa offers spacious and luxurious indoor living areas open onto a secluded, covered deck and courtyard. Inspired by the Central Otago landscape, the lodge’s soaring ceiling and locally sourced schist finishing echoes the natural beauty and the awe-inspiring elements of the region. Located inside the lodge, an exclusive wine cellar, the conservatory and a media room are perfect venue options for your most important and intimate events. Be sure to experience our onsite Spa and a range of activities on offer - exclusive wine tastings, vineyard tours, cave dinner, private picnics and luxury cycle tours. The concierge team at Gibbston Valley is committed to making every moment of your time here a seamless, enjoyable, and unforgettable experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 4 more
260Reviews0Q+A39Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 232
  • 18
  • 8
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sheena M wrote a review 4 Apr
Pokeno, New Zealand7 contributions
I had a wonderful morning at the spa. Stacey was brilliant, best massage and facial I have had. I was completely relaxed and walked out floating. I did not feel rushed at all to get changed afterwards. The area around the spa is so tranquil, you relax before setting foot through the door.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: It maybe pricey but this isn't just a massage, it is an entire experience of being relaxed head...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your spa experience and the amazing service offered. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Gibbston Valle Lodge and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dwmloh wrote a review Mar 2024
Hong Kong, China1 contribution
The lodge and the facilities were amazing. Staff was helpful and friendly. Restaurant had great food and better value than most you would find in Queenstown. Do not miss out on the hot tub, private cinema, free wine tasting and bike rides. The wines are all from gibbston valley vineyards but they are all so amazing you won't feel like you're missing out on other vineyards or regions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Derek and Alison, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience with us and enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Best wishes and warm regards, Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ChristieJ303 wrote a review Mar 2024
Denver, Colorado1 contribution
Fabulous dinner at The Lodge. The atmosphere is relatively quiet as there isn’t a lot of indoor seating available. Entree, main, side and dessert options available with the option to do a wine pairing. We loved the flavors and the focaccia was the best I’ve ever had.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Christie, thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we can't wait to welcome you back. Warm regards, Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thomasontour24 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
We spent just one night here and were very satisfied. Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa is a beautyful and outstanding location. Our villa was huge and had a nice veranda with view on a small vinyard. The rooms are comfortable and serve all your needs including a collection of local wines. We recommend this location and the excellent restaurant for your stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your valuable feedback and kind review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed our facilities, service, and wine. We look forward to welcoming you again. Warm regards, Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
YvonneBarclay2 wrote a review Mar 2024
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Great service with amazing food. We went for the wine paring and tried wines we wouldn’t have chosen, but they complemented the dishes brilliantly. The food was delicious, cooked perfectly and the presentation was superb. You deserve 5 stars!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Yvonne, thank you very much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your dinner experience with us, along with our wines. We hope you can visit us again soon. Warm regards, Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sightsee641426 wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
We highly recommend staying at the Gibbston Lodge. Stunning scenery, luxury accommodation and outstanding service. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experiences at the Lodge with fresh and local produce. The winery tours and tastings are a great way to add to the experience of staying in the Gibbston valley.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guests, thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience at our property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Barbara K wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
For a 5 Star accommodation it does not supply toiletries or anything complimentary. We were here for 6 nights, quite a few thousand dollars and had no special treatment offered at all. Staff are amazing, but can only work with what they have. Meals have to be booked in for, and are delicious. Mini bar wines are a lot cheaper if you purchase from the cellar door 20 metres away. No free water, that will cost you $10 a bottle. Lovely well appointed rooms, but I wouldn't class it at 5 Star compared to the services and complimentary deals offered in other similar priced accommodations locally. Lucky we bought our toothbrushes supplied complimentary at our last accommodation lol
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Arrive early, we rang at 5.30 to state arrival at 8.30, no one answered the phone or returned our...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Dear Barbara and Shane, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your holiday in Queenstown and for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the food and service provided during your stay. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services. I wanted to highlight that we appreciate your loyalty, and as a token of our gratitude for choosing to stay with us for six nights, we included breakfast in your rate and provided the same inclusions as a direct booking would have received, such as unlimited access to hot pools, sauna, gym, cinema, complimentary wine tasting, and a discount on e-bike hire rate. Please note that if you needed more toiletries during your stay, we would have been happy to provide them. We value your business and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wanderlust wrote a review Jan 2024
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom241 contributions97 helpful votes
+1
Beautifully manicured grounds, stunning views! The lodges are very well appointed, extremely spacious with luxury twin basined bathroom, separate sleeping area, which can be divided off from the lounge/seating area. Small sink and fridge provided with adequate tea/coffee making facilities. There is also a lovely gas flamed fire, which can operate for visual effect, or to warm the lodge, fabulous to sit by if the weather is not so good. Without exception, the staff were more than helpful, welcoming, engaging and couldn't do enough for you, providing recommendations for our onward journey of views, restaurants etc. Breakfast was provided at an additional cost, freshly prepared to order, although we felt the cost of this could have been included given the price of the accommodation. Dining in the restaurant was very good, dishes beautifully presented and well cooked. We tried the complimentary wine tasting, which we thought was a little underwhelming, being offered only 1 white, 1 rose and 1 red to sample, all entry level, with the suggestion to pay for the next level wine tour and tasting. Unfortunately, this was not possible for us due to timings of our visit and ongoing travel commitments. We had wanted to sample wines to select something to have alongside evening dinner, but this was not possible to do. A fabulous place with exceptional staff but a couple of minor disappointments.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 19 Jan 2024
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities we offer. We hope that your overall experience was a great one, and that you had a wonderful time away from home. We look forward to hosting you again in the future, and we wish you all the best. Thank you again for choosing Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BrianBoru1 wrote a review Jan 2024
Sarasota, Florida5 contributions2 helpful votes
The Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa is absolutely, hands down, 5 star!! As is the AMAZING TEAM that makes it so!! My wife and I are celebrating our anniversary, (and secondarily, my birthday) here. Given our experiences here, I think my wife will keep me around for at least a few more years! ;) We could not be more pleased, or more grateful!🙌🏻🎉🍷Thank you!!🙏🏻❤️ We are on a 4 month around the world journey, and this is checked off as one of the best and a definite “must re-do” again!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You’ll get “hero points” here!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear Bryan and Ruby, We're thrilled to receive your lovely review! It warms our hearts to know that you had a fantastic experience with the Gibbston Valley team during your stay. Being a part of your amazing adventure and special celebrations was truly an honour for us. Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us and for letting us contribute to your memorable moments. We hope that these memories stay with you for a long time, and we genuinely look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future. Wishing you both continued joy and wonderful adventures! Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Friendly staff. Decent facilities. But smart TVs are old - can't download apps so can't for example access Netflix This wouldn't matter if their collection of films for viewing wasn't so awful. Bought as a package on the cheap. Heated towel rails would have been nice Be careful ordering coffee. Cappuccino and even flat white comes loaded with chocolate. Staff should really know to ask for cappuchino and it should never be on flat white. Aside from this detail a decent stay na great location with, as noted above, very friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Careful when ordering coffee )
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giselle Guerrero, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Hi Pete, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and for choosing to stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you had a positive experience overall during your time with us. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it provides insights that help us enhance our services and better cater to the needs of our special guests. We genuinely appreciate your input, and it motivates us to continually improve. It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future. Wishing you all the best, and we hope to see you soon! Gibbston Valley Lodge and Spa Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gibbston area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$506 - AU$740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionGibbston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GIBBSTON VALLEY LODGE & SPA: 2024 Prices & Reviews (New Zealand) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Crown Range Road (4.9 km), Kawarau Suspension Bridge (1.2 km), and Kawarau River (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gibbston Valley Winery Restaurant, Kinross Winery - Bistro, and Gibbston tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, and Hindi.