Cedar Glen Farmstay
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cedar Glen Farmstay

3338 Kerry Road, Darlington, Queensland 4285 Australia
Traveller (253)
Master bedroom
Room & Suite (31)
Fresh produce served for breakfast.
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 ranch in Darlington
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in the foothills of the spectacular ‘Lost World’ section of the Lamington National Park, ‘Cedar Glen’ is a unique place to experience. The 1050 acre cattle property has been in the Stephens family since 1882, and has been a Farmstay since 1981. We are located just 90 minutes from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. Choose from the original Homestead built in 1901 or one of three historic Cottages. Activities include animal feeding, cow milking and egg collecting. Horse riding is a highlight for all ages and levels of experience. Other activities include boomerang throwing, whip cracking and 4WD tours. There is 2 kms of the Albert River running through the property to explore, the river is spring feed from the Lamington National Park and is perfect for swimming or catching some of the local fish. Come relax, take in the scenery and enjoy the beautiful country air.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hiking
Walking tours
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Kitchenware
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint

Location

3338 Kerry Road, Darlington, Queensland 4285 Australia
106Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 18
  • 6
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joanna C wrote a review July 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely relaxing weekend we just had! Thank you to all involved at Cedar Glen Farmstay!
From when we arrived to when we left, it was calm and relaxing. Feeding the animals and patting them was a highlight for the kids (big and small) Sitting on the veranda watching the grandkids play, to playing board games at night after sitting around the camp fire - what more could we ask for.
Having the meals provided was just so easy as well and they were large enough to feed big growing Islander lads!
Only thing we would pass on is that it would have been great to have been told earlier that we needed to collect our own fire wood - we were running into the bush trying to get some as the sun was going down.... but that was a minor thing.
Overall, if you want to switch off and not have devices and have a relaxing, quiet, fun filled break from the city - definitely book at Cedar Glen!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amber CE, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 23 July 2021
Hi JojoPappy2021 Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and I am so sorry about the fire wood. We really enjoyed having your family here and we hope the memories made are happy ones.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate C wrote a review Nov 2020
Sunshine Coast, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely by far the best experience I have EVER had with my family.
Amber and Michael are the most amazing hosts.
Cedar Glen farm stay became a home away from home that you never knew you needed until you experience it. I Totally recommend this place!! Make sure you stay for at least three nights so you get to experience all Cedar Glen Farm Stay has to offer. My 16 year old daughter now has her heart set on moving out there and my 6 year old son cry’s cause he misses Armani, Giorgio, Tiger and Caramel 😊🤷‍♀️
See you all again soon 💕
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amber Cordingley-Erpf, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 10 Jan 2021
We were lucky you chose to stay with us! so glad you had a great time and we look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle H wrote a review Oct 2021
9 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome views from the farmhouse veranda watching & listening to all the wild life & farm animals. Accommodation was adequate - lovely old original character farm house. Loved feed time with the animals very hands on. Human feed time was great too with home cooked meals on site. Lots to do, see and explore with walks, cave hikes, swimming holes and farm animals. Spectacular views of the hills and surrounds. My kids loved it all (even though they are adults) we had the best family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cedar Glen Farmstay, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 4 Nov 2021
Hi Michelle, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with your family!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve wrote a review Dec 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family booked for a weekend and we stayed for 2 hours only. Our kids were scared and unsettled and didnt want to stay in the homestead, when we walked in, it felt like a haunted house. Like my wife said, we were aware it is a 2 Star accomodation, but we paid 5 star price and the homestead was not even 1 star!

In our opinion, its dark, old, dingy and doesn’t present well, it would have been different if the fittings and furntiure were the same style but had been refinished and/or repainted but they werent. Out complaint doesn’t revolve around the furntiure and fittings themselves, just the fact that they are in terrible condition and desparately need to be reconditioned and refinished.

We didn’t book the farmstay to watch the TV however, I did put in the TV on to try to calm the kids down and seriuosly, whats a decent TV worth nowdays? About $500 instead of an Ex computer monitor connected to a satellite TV box?

Unfortunately the owners missed the whole point of our feedback email as we asked for a refund and they flatly refused.

In our opinion, the homestead we stayed in needed to brightened up by upgrading the light bulbs, it needed a repair and a repaint of all the walls and fixtures, the nails in the floor boards needed to be repaired, neutral coloured bedsheets purchased, fix the furniture, clean up the pond area and replace the rotten floorboards outside the shower.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cedar Glen Farmstay, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. I am surprised you wrote this as you are still actively seeking a refund from me, you had contacted me a week earlier claiming to have Covid and seeking a refund then as well. Two refund claims for the same booking but different reasons. I will address some of what you have said though. You booked the homestead which is our largest cottage, it is $595 per night for up to 6 people so less than $100 per night per person, this is not 5 star pricing. 5 star pricing is from$2000 a night for a family of 4. We are a working farm who allows guests to stay in our cottages. We are not staged and We offer an experience of staying on a real farm with real farmers and lots of animals a huge variety of animals. We are not going to get neutral bed covers, the sheets are white so you cannot get more neutral than that. The furniture is mostly antique furniture original to the homestead and refinishing it would devalue it. We occasionally have to hammer in a nail in the decking and would have gladly hammered in the nail you found had you have asked. It is not unusual in wooden decking for a nail to occasionally work loose. We spend a lot of time tending to the farm animals and our time in the garden is limited, the garden actually is looking great at the moment! It is not a priority for us and never will be given that the animals and the guests come way before the garden ever will, we also don’t advertise that we have a great garden. It is neat and serviceable at the moment. I have reviewed the lighting and asked the current guests and everyone agrees it is light and bright. I am sorry you didn’t stay to actually experience any of what we offer. We want all of our guests to have a great time and I wish you had of come and addressed these thing with me when you where here and we may have been able to resolve them, I do think though that you just wanted a refund before you even arrived so where looking for faults as soon as you arrived hence the only staying two hours.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pedro D wrote a review Apr 2022
Brisbane, Australia21 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid in advance for 3 nights accommodation for a 3 generation family group. We had to cancel at very short notice because a key close family member of the party contracted Covid19. Their policy is no credit no refund so we lost the lot! So their fine print says no refunds within 14 days of stay. And in a polite exchange they pointed out we should have obtained travel insurance. Who does that for a farm stay? Insurance can add up to 20% to the cost of the booking. So my mistake all up. But I recommend using one of the other local farm stays that has a refund or credit Covid19 caused cancellation. That’s what we will do next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cedar Glen Farmstay, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 16 Apr 2022
Thank You for the review Pedro D, As you know we actively tried to fill that vacancy, advertising it heavily but unfortunately it didn't fill. If we had of known about your Daughter contracting Covid 5 days before we could have filled the vacancy and you would have received a full refund less a small admin fee instead of being informed less than 12 hours before check in. All of the Farm stays in the area recommend insurance , even the one you suggest as having no cancellation fees. We do this to protect our only income. This is not a hobby or an investment property it is our income and as we cannot insure ourselves against losing that income when people cancel last minute then we have to rely on you taking appropriate steps to insure your stay or to forfeit the money. For 2 years we had a full refund on Covid related shut downs etc however now insurance is available for this we have reverted back to our 14 day policy. We have done our share of being financially hit from Covid and have endured great loses as a small family run business, both financially and mentally. I do strongly suggest if anyone is planning a holiday that they invest in insurance to cover themselves from any unexpected illnesses that may mean they have to cancel their stay. We do our best to fill and last minute cancelations and refund money but unfortunately that is not always possible and we have to enforce our policy to protect our income, Thank you for understanding.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fearless10055353989 wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In my opinion, the homestead felt and looked like a haunted house. My kids were so scared and unsettled we left the place within 2 hours.

It’s advertised as 2 star, charging 5 star price but really it’s not even 1 star. I would never recommend this place for anyone.

There are a few changes we noticed and suggested but the managers were in denial!

1. Repaint, re-level the whole house.
2. Refurbish and repair all the furniture (literally all of them need fixing!)
3. Nails sticking out of floorboards.
4. Rotten floorboard in the shower.
5. The garden and pond was not properly maintained.
6. Change to brighter light bulbs, now it just look dark and dingy like a haunted house!

I really wish the managers would listen to us but instead they argued that we paid for the activities not a 5 star hotel. Boomerang throwing and animal feeding are the two activities that’s included. We paid almost $700 for a night.

We don’t feel safe, it doesn’t feel homely or welcoming. The homestead was not even locked when we check in! Yes no lock, no key.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cedar Glen Farmstay, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. I am surprised you wrote this as you are still actively seeking a refund from me, you had contacted me a week earlier claiming to have Covid and seeking a refund then as well. Two refund claims for the same booking but different reasons. I will address some of what you have said though. You booked the homestead which is our largest cottage, it is $595 per night for up to 6 people so less than $100 per night per person, this is not 5 star pricing. 5 star pricing is from$2000 a night for a family of 4. We are a working farm who allows guests to stay in our cottages. We are not staged and We offer an experience of staying on a real farm with real farmers and lots of animals a huge variety of animals. We are not going to Re level and repaint the homestead as it is already just fine the way it is. The furniture is mostly antique furniture original to the homestead and refinishing it would devalue it. We occasionally have to hammer in a nail in the decking and would have gladly hammered in the nail you found had you have asked. It is not unusual in wooden decking for a nail to occasionally work loose. We spend a lot of time tending to the farm animals and our time in the garden is limited, the garden actually is looking great at the moment! It is not a priority for us and never will be given that the animals and the guests come way before the garden ever will, we also don’t advertise that we have a great garden. It is neat and serviceable at the moment. I have reviewed the lighting and asked the current guests and everyone agrees it is light and bright. I am sorry you didn’t stay to actually experience any of what we offer. We want all of our guests to have a great time and I wish you had of come and addressed these thing with me when you where here and we may have been able to resolve them, I do think though that you just wanted a refund before you even arrived so where looking for faults as soon as you arrived hence the only staying two hours.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerry H wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was everything advertised and more!
We enjoyed the serenity of the location, the cottage, the ability to visit the animals whenever we wanted, the fantastic owners and their courtesy and advice, along with the two dog tour guides who led the way along every hike we took.
The beauty of the Lost World valley and Cedar Glen Farm Stay will forever stay in our memory.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Code B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I highly recommend Cedar Glen Farm Stay.

I’ve heard nothing but good things about you & all of your team and how wonderful you all were. I sincerely thank you all for making the weekend such a wonderful experience for our clients. The nature of autism (as you may or may not know) is that our young adults on the spectrum struggle socially (which is where we come in) and being able to send them away for a few nights to a location that is fun, inclusive and relaxing for them, is just wonderful. It provides an atmosphere where they become confident in their social setting and can practice the social skills we coach them in at Code Blue.

I will definitely put Cedar Glen farm stay back on the list for our trips away.

Thanks again for all that you and your team did for our group – it was a weekend they won’t forget!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AFlynn wrote a review Aug 2021
Gold Coast, Australia6 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely family weekend away with my siblings and nieces. We stayed in the Dairy Cottage which has amazing views of the Lamington National Park and the farm. The kids enjoyed the daily feeding of the farm animals. We also enjoyed the boomerang throwing and whip cracking, the alpaca walk, a picnic by the river and relaxing at the end of each day toasting marshmallows. Everyone enjoyed the stay so much, we all would like to stay again. Thank to our hosts Amber and Michael for a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cedar Glen Farmstay, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Thanks so much for the _amandaflynn_22 we really enjoyed having you all here and look forward to your return visit! Maybe next time we will be naming the sheep A names instead of M we wont run out of names!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juzandmuz wrote a review July 2022
Sydney, Australia26 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just completed 3 nights at Cedar Glen Farmstay and it was a fabulous experience. We stayed in Dairy Cottage and there was plenty of room for the 6 of us. It was warm and snug with its slow combustion heater and oil heaters so we didn't need the aircon.
Great verandah with outdoor furniture, lovely filtered rainwater, reasonable kitchen, great hot water, a bath for the kids and comfy beds. We loved the farm dogs and alpacas coming to visit and the kids adored feeding time and the alpaca walk.
Do go down to both of the close waterholes even if it is too cold to swim. We all loved collecting firewood for the wonderful outdoor firepit behind the cottage - every cottage has one .
Amber and Michael were terrific hosts even picking up marshmellos when they went in to town as we forgot to bring ours.
Our granddaughter arrived on the Friday quite wary of dogs and by Sunday she was romping with all of them. Just so wonderful to see.
Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Do not expect the Hilton - it is an authentic old farmhouse. Our grandchildren did not want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We loved Dairy Cottafge and Wallaby Cottage looked great as well but smaller.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cedar Glen Farmstay, General Manager at Cedar Glen Farmstay
Responded 26 July 2022
Thanks so much for the review Juzandmuz! We loved having you all here and hope you return. lots of children and sometimes adults arrive a little wary of the dogs and by the second day are patting them and don't want to leave them. We are a very rustic authentic farm and no were near the Hilton experience haha and that is exactly how we like it :) Plenty of other 4 star places around we prefer to have an old-fashioned farm experience and hands on with the animals. So happy you had a great time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Fiona S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kitchen not well equiooed so bring all you need like aluminium foil, oil etc. "
Read full review
Mr Warren Bruce wrote a tip Sept 2023
28 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mixed accommodation ... we took caravan & camper trailer + two families took a homestead."
Read full review
margaret w wrote a tip Sept 2022
9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Prepare to relax."
Read full review
Juzandmuz wrote a tip July 2022
Sydney, Australia26 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved Dairy Cottafge and Wallaby Cottage looked great as well but smaller."
Read full review
Cheryl M wrote a tip July 2021
Acacia Ridge, Australia13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the homestead even though there was only two of us the space was superb ."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darlington area.
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionScenic RimDarlington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CEDAR GLEN FARMSTAY: 2024 Reviews (Darlington) - Photos of Ranch - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cedar Glen Farmstay
Which popular attractions are close to Cedar Glen Farmstay?
Nearby attractions include Lamington National Park (6.6 km), O'Reillys Birds of Prey (6.6 km), and Darlington Park (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedar Glen Farmstay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and hiking.
Which room amenities are available at Cedar Glen Farmstay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Cedar Glen Farmstay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Cedar Glen Farmstay located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Darlington.