We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Metropolitan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Metropolitan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Metropolitan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 507: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 13 October 2014

I didn't see bathrooms so dirty in my life !!! Don't go there awful housekeeping !!! Buffet terrible an very expensive !!! They offer transportation to Plaka, but that is the only positive thing !!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ceciviva
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ceciviva, First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations however we assure you that everything you mentioned will certainly be taken into consideration and any corrective actions...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Staff on arrival not particularly attentive, friendly or helpful. No information on close-by restaurants given voluntarily. The roof-top restaurant already closed for "end-of-season"?? [24 Sept]. There was no magnifying mirror in our bathroom (for people with eye problems like me), which one can find even in budget hotel rooms. The shuttle bus was a nice feature, but both times when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thebrewisfamily, First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations however we assure you that everything you mentioned will certainly be taken into consideration and any corrective actions...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 5 October 2014 via mobile

I came for a gast break of two nivhts. The rooms is actually so small that a regular suitcase doesn't fit on the pedestal in the cupboard. Breakfast is under the normal, not rich and not tasty enough. Parking is not inhouse you have go walk 300 meters and it is open. The hotel is well situated and has an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamgbg
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adamgbg, We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel. Please accept my apologies for not having fully met your expectations. We have taken all your comments onboard and I would like to reassure you that all necessary steps have been made to ensure comfortable and enjoyable stay to our guests....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Firstly I would not have given Metropolitan Hotel 3 out of 5 in my review but this hotel claims to be 5* and certainly is not by a long way. I have been Athens 5 times with multiple stays at the Athens Gate Hotel which is a 4*, and in my opinion is a much better hotel which I recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APReviews2012
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear APReviews2012, We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel and we are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the great variety and service in our breakfast buffet. While I would not wish to make any excuses for the lapse in our service standards I would like to...

Reviewed 16 September 2014

I have stayed in hotels all over the world on business, I booked this hotel as it was said it was in a convenient location, actually the location couldn't be more inconvenient, it's a long way from anything. Upon arrival I waited 10 minuets to be checked in, and the staff didn't seam to want to be there. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monkey4461
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monkey4461, First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations however we assure you that everything you mentioned will certainly be taken into consideration and any corrective actions...

Sydney
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel, advertised as 5 star but only a 3 star. Needs an overhaul, stained walls and ceiling in desperate need of paint. Carpets in the hallway are filthy and stained, with what looks like chlorine spills. really very grubby. Pool on the roof and very small, unable to use unless lifeguard on duty, which is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandraMS1959
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandraMS1959, We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the variety of our breakfast buffet, the service of our breakfast staff, the hotel’s location, the free shuttle bus service and the free wi-fi in dining areas. In addition we...

Reviewed 11 September 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel, on a business trip, and not impressed, room was spacious but quite dated in the decor. The staff apart the waiters at the roof garden restaurant, were not really friendly although always professional. Personally I don't think I will be back since the ratio price quality not the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe S
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Giuseppe S, We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your comments regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel. While I would not wish to make any excuses for the lapse in our service standards I would like to assure you that this is not reflective of the normally high standards that are provided at the Metropolitan Hotel. We...

Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Carpet filthy, worn out and numerous black stains. Complained only to be told fully booked come to lobby tomorrow. Requested double and get 2 single bricks pushed together. All food and drinks expensive. Toilet water stained and whole hotel shabby. Do not be fooled by pictures of the roof top pool, it is small with a full wall mirror to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les C
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Les C, First and foremost we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your stay here at the Metropolitan Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having fully met your expectations however we assure you that everything you mentioned will certainly be taken into consideration and any corrective...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 10 September 2014 via mobile

Meeting rooms with light, extremely friendly staff, wifi everywhere, well standing buffet and restaurant. Ideal for business meetings and events. The large room at the lobby can accommodate large scale organizations. The value-cost is one of its competitive advantages. Parking not in hotel but there is deserved space few meters away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panagiotis F
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Panagiotis F, We sincerely appreciate for taking the time to let us know about your nice experience from your recent stay at the Metropolitan Hotel. We are pleased to read your nice comments about our meeting rooms, the friendliness of our staff and the quality of the buffet. We greatly appreciate your review and recommendation of our hotel and...

Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 September 2014

What can I add, we were with a tour group and the Metropolitan Hotel was our last stay before going home. That said, the room was clean and comfortable, the service professional, we had a personal dinner buffet and enjoyed the breakfast buffet--both good food, several choices. The bus service was sufficient and efficient, I was rather glad we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamaroamer
GMAthensGreece, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iamaroamer, We sincerely appreciate your time taken to write your beautiful comments regarding your stay at the Metropolitan Hotel. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms, the service provided by our colleagues, the quality of food served in our hotel and the free shuttle bus service to the city...

558 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Corner Suite (46)
Viewed
Executive Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
Superior Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleo Faliro
Coral Hotel Athens
#2 of 5 in Paleo Faliro
444 reviews
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paleo Faliro
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#47 of 336 in Athens
1,137 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#78 of 336 in Athens
1,330 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#67 of 336 in Athens
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A city hotel, in front of the new Faliron Olympic coastal park very close to the city centre. Hotel offers daily complimentary shuttle service to town and back. Available in the vicinity one can find a variety of high street shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 385 Syngrou Avenue, Paleo Faliro, Athens 175 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Paleo Faliro
Price Range: $130 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Metropolitan Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Metropolitan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book any rooms”
 of 5 bubbles J4536NTdavidh, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles franciscormm, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We get a quite room on the 6th floor to the South direction.”
 of 5 bubbles EphraimG, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms I tried are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles DBadalucco, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The washrooms need sprucing up in terms of grouting and hardware but not dirty just old.”
 of 5 bubbles bdsilva, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay