We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheridan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 219: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I decided to try to make the most of it after being suckered into one of those timeshare presentations. I just arrived and already really disappointed. There is no fitness center, no restaurants (unless you consider Subway a restaurant), nothing to do except small child friendly activities (like movies, putt-putt golf, and coloring). It looks like I will have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karina M
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of fun things to do. We are a family-owned and family-friendly resort. That is part of our brand. However, we recognize that the grown-ups need to be entertained as well. Because of our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. If help is needed, from where to find stamps or how to get to soldier field without getting lost, they went beyond what was expected. There is a water park and two pools on site. Very family friendly. Unfortunately not much to do nearby and no wifi in rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic time! Plenty to do at resort and close to Chicago. Didn't get bored once. I got great photos also. I loved the horses! Loved the mini golf and even closer to restaurants in neighboring suburbs. We had a kitchenette and the small store nearby was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristyn S
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your special birthday trip to Fox River Resort! It's always our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have lots of fun things to do. We hope to see you back again soon, whether for a birthday celebration, or just for fun! Thanks for sharing your comments.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is just average( as far as the regular rooms go). Let me say, I grew up in the vicinity and know the area quite well. With that being said The campus has some nice amenities but is more for families with smaller kids. The waterpark changed the schedule as we were there with no warning! Only opening on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relaxwithsun
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of things to do. Whenever something isn't perfect with your unit, we want to know so that we can correct any problems right away. Because of our woodland surroundings, we are dedicated to...

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I understand that this property was recently acquired by Holiday Inn Resorts, and that there is an expected transition period. However, it appears that some of the focus on maintenance and cleanliness has been lost. I have stayed here before and have always put off doing a review, thinking that maybe they would improve; NOT! I stayed in the Presidentials,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank les w
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay at Fox River Resort. This certainly isn't the way we want our guests to experience our resort. We sent you a private message in hopes of addressing your concerns more personally. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Independence, Mossouri, USA
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

I guess i would say ur stay was satisfactory. The front desk man DJ was awesome and a bright spot of our stay. He was very knowledgeable of this and the Chicago area. The accommodations were clean and orderly. They did lack attention to detail. Toilets not flushing right and constantly having to use a plunger. No hot water at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dpcopper
Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

As a preferred member of the Holiday Inn Vacation Club, I have always been pleased with our units. Unfortunately, this cannot be said for our stay at the Fox River Resort. Upon our arrival, we noticed it was not a nicely cleaned unit. We had candy wrappers left on chairs, water marks left from glasses covered the coffee table, cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ecweiler
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're so sorry to hear of the shortfalls you encountered at Fox River Resort. This just doesn't sound like us! It's always our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and receive outstanding service. We sent you a private message in hope of addressing your concerns more personally. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We decided to spend a long Thanksgiving weekend at Fox River Resort. This was our first stay at this resort. The people at registration were very friendly and helpful and we were assigned to a third floor unit in building I. We were disappointed when we checked into the unit and found the refrigerator and microwave hadn't been cleaned, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DanTrips
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're pleased you enjoyed the accommodations and friendly staff at Fox River Resort! It's always our goal to make sure our guests feel comfortable and have lots of fun things to do. Whenever something isn't perfect with your unit, we want to know so that we can correct any problems right away. Inspections are an important part of our housekeeping...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We had a condo use for a week and a base of travel in the area. We also went into Chicago which is about an hours travel each way. We had a enjoyable rest during a great adventure. There are several communities in the area and Aurora where you could test your gambling skills r catch to the train to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123456topman
Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewed 15 November 2016

There were four of us in a two bedroom villa - we had a full kitchen and dining & living room areas. While there was remodeling going on, this was to be expected since the Holiday Inn Club Vacations had taken over Fox River Resort about a year ago. We used the activity rooms and their Grille, which had quite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grace P
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're so pleased to hear about your great visit to Fox River Resort! It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of fun things to do. Your comments are helpful to us so that we know what our guests value most, and they'll also be very helpful to any new guests considering a stay with...

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheridan
15.9 km away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
37.0 km away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
38.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
23.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites of Morris
29.8 km away
Hampton Inn Yorkville
Hampton Inn Yorkville
#1 of 2 in Yorkville
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and Renew in Rolling Midwest Hills. The sprawling resort is located about an hour-and-a-half south of Chicago in the beautiful, rolling hills of Illinois. It features a wide range of outdoor activities for family fun. It starts with a stocked, seven-acre lake, ready for fishing. Or, rent a canoe or paddle boat and enjoy a relaxing cruise across its still waters. For swimming, we have an indoor and outdoor pool, plus the always fun year-round indoor Pirates Cay Indoor Water Park™. It features interactive water features, water slides, lazy river, food outlets and more. For sports, enjoy everything from basketball, tennis and volleyball to cross country skiing. And our 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course will help you get that swing back. Plus, the 18-hole mini golf course is a big hit with kids, as is the Activity Center with an arcade, mini movie theater and more. A playground, ball field and sports equipment and even horseback rides help round out your outdoor fun. Sheridan, IL is a rural location, making it a perfect place to get away and relax. Beautiful state parks, historic sites and golf courses are all nearby. Shopping, dining, movie theaters and other entertainment can also be found in the region. And, it's close enough to the greater Chicago area and downtown to experience a day of wonderful sites and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort

Address: 2558 N 3653rd Rd, Sheridan, IL 60551-9400
Region: United States > Illinois > Sheridan
Price Range: $97 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 332
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Fox River Hotel Sheridan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family amenities”
 of 5 bubbles relaxwithsun, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all condos are convent to the family areas.”
 of 5 bubbles 123456topman, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a villa away from construction or remodeling”
 of 5 bubbles 563gracep, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want a condo/villa and want wifi, Building 22 is best for now”
 of 5 bubbles weluvtravlin5, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want free Wifi, ask for building 22. Not sure about the others.”
 of 5 bubbles mcgeka, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5