Cockatoo Island
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cockatoo Island

Sydney Harbour Woolwich, Sydney, Cockatoo Island, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Campground from lookout
Traveller (302)
Harbour View Apartment dining and living rooms.
Room & Suite (129)
Cockatoo Island
Videos (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Cockatoo Island
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
In need of a getaway or staycation? Book accommodation at Cockatoo Island and enjoy a holiday in the heart of Sydney Harbour. Bordered by landscaped gardens, Cockatoo Island’s holiday houses and apartments combine authentic heritage character with modern amenities and harbour views. Meanwhile, our waterfront campground is an opportunity to unwind in a spectacular outdoor setting and watch the sun set and rise on Sydney Harbour. Located in the heart of Sydney Harbour, Cockatoo Island / Wareamah is a source of adventure and inspiration due to its historic landmarks, award-winning accommodation, and other popular attractions. A major drawcard is the UNESCO World Heritage listed Convict Site, which provides a window into the era when Cockatoo was a convict gaol (1839-69). Further highlights include a waterfront campground, licensed cafés, a historic dockyard, holiday houses and apartments, guided and self-guided tours and exciting seasonal events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Public wifi
Coffee shop
Outdoor dining area
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
City view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:'Stay Longer and save’ deal (Save 10%)

Location

Sydney Harbour Woolwich, Sydney, Cockatoo Island, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Sydney Airport
10.9 km
See all flights
266Reviews10Q+A71Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 82
  • 26
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nicole wrote a review Jan 2024
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic little getaway with my daughter and her friends. they had a ball, facilities were wonderful and very clean and the tents were spotless and incredibly comfortable . We will be back for sure :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte B wrote a review May 2021
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night in one of the waterfront campground site and we were very pleased with what we experienced. We arrived around 11am and did the virtual tour while we were waiting to check in at 2pm. The tour was great and took you round the whole island and you can buy the Audio for 5/6$ each.

The restaurants were also great and we visited both on the island. One had live music in the afternoon and the other was really cool at night seeing the city and harbour bridge all lit up.

We watched the sunset on the deck and they had a campfire going nearby. The toilets for camping were very well looked after also.

But the best thing I’d say would be the waterfront campsite. The tent was a very good size with great amenities such as duvets, pillows, soaps, bedside table which turned into an esky, towels, deck chairs and a lantern.

It’s great to do as a staycation from Sydney and a great night away if you want to be away from the city without driving ages.

Would definitely recommend and all self funded so cool to see some history!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannel F wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We hired the Deluxe tent and found it to be comfy, soap, conditioner and shampoo were provided as well as all bedding and towels. We had an amazing spot with crazy views, it was so peaceful to wake up with the sound of the water and boats passing by! I think 2 nights is perfect, anymore might be a little too much. The island itself had great facilities, kitchen, and showers were clean. Great island to go exploring and definitely an eerie vibe! beware of the ghosts
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Isaac T wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Camping was cancelled due to flooding on the island and all they offered was to reschedule and it had to be in next 6 months. No refund was offered and we are from brisbane and can’t get there in the next 6 months. This is a terrible policy especially since we were only staying there for the concert (which was cancelled and full refund given).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CockatooIsland, Digital engagement officer at Cockatoo Island
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Hi Isaac, we appreciate you taking the time to review your experience but are sorry to hear you were left frustrated by the concert being cancelled. As per our accommodation T&Cs, reservations are non-refundable; however, bookings can be rescheduled by up to three months. Although we were not directly involved in the concert, we extended the period in which you can reschedule your stay to six months. If you are not able to reschedule your stay to occur within this extended period, I encourage you to call our Cockatoo Island accommodation team as soon as possible to discuss options.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LadyLaen wrote a review Feb 2020
Horsham, Australia
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s just plain camping.

There are no frills with the deluxe camping to call it ‘glamping’ (and I’ve glam camped around the world). What is exceptional is the island and it’s location that is exceptional.

The delux camping tents are basic (for glamping); fold out mattress that sinks in the centre, no ability to hang a light inside and beside table that doubles as a stool.

Some of these primitive army tents require maintenance, nothing worse than the shade flapping in the wind.

Best to byo all food and drinks. The cafe’s on the island serve only the basics and often run out.

BBQ services are free and ok. Slow to cook. Plenty of space but bring everything including paper towel and oil.

Bags sometimes are checked for alcohol.

The camping is great for kids, so much to explore and do. Plus remember to be creative when entertaining then too.

Either arrive by ferry of private taxi especially when travelling by large group.

Don’t forget your torch, insect repellent and glow sticks.

And don’t expect to sleep.. the birds chirp at 5:30 and the boats on the harbour are going really early.

Recommend - yes
Amount of sleep - very little.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CockatooIsland, Digital engagement officer at Cockatoo Island
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Hi LadyLaen, thank you for taking the time to review camping at Cockatoo Island. We take your feedback seriously and have passed it to the relevant team for consideration.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lia wrote a review Oct 2021
Ashfield, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After months of lockdown this was the perfect mini break close to home. It felt very COVIDSafe as we were in our own apartment with no shared spaces and everything else is outdoors.
I stayed in the fire station studio with my 5 year old son.
The best part of the accomodation was definitely the balcony space, with a brand new BBQ. Great spot to relax with a view of both the river and the harbour bridge depending on where you sat.
I enjoyed being close to the main cafe and ferry terminal for ease of arrival/picking up supplies.

Another highlight of our stay was exploring the island at sunset, so magical.
Highly recommend this to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah wrote a review Oct 2022
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night in the Fire Station Studio.

It was a fantastic experience and would highly recommend. The studio is situated directly above the visitor reception/ticket office so very easy to get to from the ferry wharf. Ferries also run all day so you don't feel isolated or stuck on the island. There are fantastic views from the studio, right across the harbour and all around the island.

The visitor centre and cafe were closing at 3pm, so we stopped at a supermarket before getting the ferry to the island to stock up on food etc. and took this with us which worked well. There are no other eating/drinking facilities on the island so this was an essential stop really - there is nothing to stop you getting a ferry into town though after hours.

We arrived at around 2.30pm - check in was very easy and the receptionist was friendly and showed us where to go. We were also able to take audio guides of the island for the whole night, so we could complete the tour after the visitor reception and cafes had closed - this meant we had a relatively quiet experience. We were given a contact number for the night ranger should anything go wrong, but this was not needed.

The island itself was quiet, we got the impression there weren't too many other guests staying the night. The seagulls, however, were loud but this was all part of the experience.

The apartment was clean and spacious and included all the amenities we needed for a comfortable stay. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue P wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Delightful staff, helpful and friendly welcomed us to their Cockatoo Island. The 2 storey federation style house is spacious, with plenty of living areas, beautiful and practical oudoor space including a barbeque. Everything was well appointed, kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms. Watching all the river activity from the numerous verandahs was fascinating!
The location in the middle of Sydny Harbour is well serviced with ferry services to and from Circular Quay and Parramatta.
We self catered but enjoyed coffees from the Cafe. The island has so much history and there's so much to see and learn about we could have stayed longer than 4 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aktive X k wrote a review Jan 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Checking-In is very easy, friendly staff, clean facility and kids friendly. The common kitchen is a bit untidy (all self-service) so I blame it to other guest who don't really care about other people.

To facility manager, pls check all the electric bbq grill, only 1 bbq grill that really heat-up and able to cook really quick, you'll notice the most burnt mark is the one that works well. Unfortunately the one I used took almost 1 hour for just ten kebabs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leanne Culina-Penza wrote a review June 2023
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay in the fire station above the information office. Not only is it in a central location for the ferry and cafe, but it also means you don't have to walk up any hills at the end of the night. The views are stunning of the city and harbour bridge and all the creature comforts are available for you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take food and drink - especially if you don't plan on heading back into the city and dealing with...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Cockatoo Island
Sydney, Australia45 contributions
Hi AlakaS5, the easiest way to get to Cockatoo Island is by public ferry. The F3 and F8 services operate to the Island daily, departing from Circular Quay and Barangaroo as well as from wharves along Parramatta River. For further information, including timetables, visit the Transport NSW website. The ferry trip to Cockatoo island is generally convenient for BYO tent campers as there are seats for passengers. Upon arrival at our ferry wharf, you may collect a trolley if you require assistance moving your luggage to the campground. Two things to consider: Availability of seats and standing room aboard ferries will vary depending on time of travel (e.g. peak hour) and Sydney Ferries have final say on what items are and aren’t allowed on their vessels If you are concerned you tent is quite large, you may wish to contact Sydney ferries to double check it is okay to bring aboard. That said, we’ve never had any issue with campers bringing tents aboard ferries.
Answer from BMadventures
Werribee, Australia34 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes.
Answer from cmartin41
Fairy Meadow, Australia226 contributions144 helpful votes
No the boat pulls up close to the tents and you don’t need much for 2 nights
Answer from Edith L
Chatswood, Australia51 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Peter, You can choose your spot when you book online, the best one is “A Reserve” which is facing the water and I would recommend. That one was for someone who bring your own tent and gear. There were also something which they will provide Tent and linen, you may need to look it up if you go for that. We booked for the car park at Woolwich where we preferred to park our car there, the fee included the shuttle ferry from Woolwich car park to the island For two nights I’m pretty sure they were other ferries you can opt for but I wasn’t too sure. We didn’t plan to leave the island once we arrived, so I’m afraid I can’t answer the last question you are after. Good luck and hope you can book the one you want ! Edith
Answer from Cockatoo Island
Sydney, Australia45 contributions
Hi Dot96 The visitor regulations are listed on our website and are onsite and these are in place for the safety of our visitors. Thanks Cockatoo Island
Lynne And Rob W wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lake Conjola, Australia9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Know your Ferry times Don’t take too much (we did) The house has a washing machine and dryer so you could take fewer clothes."
Read full review
Maxine S wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep an eye on the ferry/rivercat timetable at night, if you go to town for dinner, as there is a last trip on the route to the Island"
Read full review
Leanne Culina-Penza wrote a tip June 2023
Sydney, Australia809 contributions261 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take food and drink - especially if you don't plan on heading back into the city and dealing with ferries"
Read full review
Penny S wrote a tip Aug 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for the waterfront tents"
Read full review
Kristen L wrote a tip Dec 2019
Hunters Hill, Australia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own decent camp mattress if staying in the tents. Good that there are fridges so you can bring your own breakfast and tea."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cockatoo Island area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$59 - AU$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCockatoo Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
137
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COCKATOO ISLAND (AU$59): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cockatoo Island
Which popular attractions are close to Cockatoo Island?
Nearby attractions include Cockatoo Island (0.07 km), Elkington Park (1.0 km), and Clarkes Point Reserve (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cockatoo Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include baggage storage, barbeque facilities, and a coffee shop.
What food & drink options are available at Cockatoo Island?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Cockatoo Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Deckhouse Woolwich, Cucinetta Sydney, and Ironwood Coffee Company Cafe Restaurant.
Is Cockatoo Island located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Cockatoo Island.
Are there any historical sites close to Cockatoo Island?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (4.2 km), Anzac Memorial (4.8 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (4.7 km).
Does Cockatoo Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars