We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Baker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Baker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baker
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a classic St Charles fixture. It has fantastic ambience and old world charm. However, that's where the positives end. The room was small, and it had a murphey bed. The tv was tiny and the windows were filthy with dead bugs on the sill. Our desk chair was broken and extremely uncomfortable. We will not be staying... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank jano1974
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear jano1974, You sent a message to Hotel Baker at 4:17 pm on Friday, July 29th with your complaint. A response was immediately sent to you apologizing for your displeasure. With your displeasure, we were quick to respond to your needs. We attempted to call you immediately regarding a transfer into a different room. After connecting with you, we were... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and clean, just not new. Bed was comfortable. Bar was good and a retro atmosphere, breakfast was fantastic with good eggs and options. There was always fresh fruit flavored water at the front desk. The staff was very friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer H, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We truly appreciate your kind words. At this time, we are finishing the new carpet in the guest hallways and other spaces, along with new window treatments for the windows in the corridors on the 3rd through the 5th floors. Within the next few weeks, the top... More 

Morris County, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016

At first glance the appearance of the outside of the hotel is nice. Location is great. However, we had called to reserve a king room which we booked and then when we get there we were shown to a double queen because there was no king room available anymore. Odd and annoying but manageable. Next, the toilet doesn't work and... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Christine E
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Christine E, My sincerest of apologies for your poor experience. Your feedback is essential and has been noted. If you would be so kind, please contact the General Manager's Assistant at 630.584.2100 and provide some detailed information. I look forward to you contacting the hotel as soon as you are able. Stay well and enjoy the rest of your... More 

Travellers are raving about these Saint Charles hotels

Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016

You CANNOT get better views and experience the warmth and charm that The Baker Hotel has to offer, if you stay at any of the other St. Charles hotels ranked in TA. I see why this great, historic hotel in picturesque downtown St. Charles right on the Fox River doesn't get a fair shake when compared to newer, cookie-cutter hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SWONTraveller
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear SWONTraveller, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your thoughts about Hotel Baker. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we have noted some remarks in order to improve on some areas. Hospitality is a challenging industry, though has been an enjoyable journey for the team at Hotel Baker since it reopened in 2003. We look forward... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

First, the (somewhat) positive. Food: The Rox restaurant was divine. We both ordered steak, which was cooked to perfection. Good cocktails and wine and attentive staff. However, the restaurant staff was a bit too attentive; wait staff came back literally every 5 or so minutes to check on us. While I truly appreciate good service, to be interrupted in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sjmegy
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear sjmegy, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for the negatives you experienced. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Yes it is a historic hotel -- but I think they are at the point where that is used as an excuse to keep things old. Drapery, carpet, etc could use some love for sure. There is not even a place to plug in a phone charger by the bed? Wifi is awful. Two weddings Saturday night. Hall reeked of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jonathanlipsitz
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear jonathanlipsitz, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for your poor experience. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful in... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We were visiting out of town for a friends wedding which was held at the Hotel Baker. It is a beautiful facility. Tons of history. The staff were friendly and extremely accommodating. The hotel was extremely clean. Would love to know more history behind the hotel other than built in 1928.

Helpful?
1 Thank ecseger
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Please email jborsellino@hotelbaker.com. Provide your name and mailing address so we can forward a historical booklet to you. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Stayed in a king room on a Saturday night. $230. Staff was friendly, hotel is old style, all the decor is a history of the hotel. Room was in good shape -- newer carpet, paint, etc. Right on Main St of the city. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Restaurant in hotel is $$$. Didn't eat there. No parking on... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrBill923
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear MrBill923, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated. We hope that you will give us a try at ROX City Grill - we would love for you to come and dine with us. We look forward to having you come and visit us real soon! WIth much respect, Team HB More 

Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Pouring rain, no parking. No valet. Had to ask for an umbrella. Told parking was one block down two blocks south. Rooms were shabby at best, very old. Had to look for toilet paper. Drunk women in lobby when we arrived, glad I didn't have grandchildren with us. Stayed at Hyatt the previous night, better room and amenities for half... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OHara628
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Ohara628, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for your poor experience. We hope that you will give Hotel Baker another try in the future. As we have many challenges, we always try to make sure we can accommodate your needs as best as we can. The information you have provided is helpful in... More 

Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We have gone here for Breakfast with Santa the last two years and it has been great! The food is excellent and plenty of it. Also Santa is upstairs to take pictures with the kids and they also have face painting activities. The only advice I would give if you are interested in going to Breakfast with Santa is to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek S
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Derek S, Thank you for your Breakfast with Santa review. It is such a joy to see a review that the Breakfast with Santa event was enjoyed. We try to make sure we have events that are memorable which becomes tradition for many. We are looking forward to another wonderful holiday season in 2016 having Breakfast with Santa on... More 

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
3.1 km away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
3.0 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
128 reviews
15.0 km away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Region: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Price Range: $161 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baker 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Baker staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
Pembroke Pines,FL
over a year ago
Forsyth, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Baker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room over looking the river”
 of 5 bubbles paul30, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 255christinee, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“River / Main St. views are good.”
 of 5 bubbles SWONTraveller, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would definitely ask to see a room before booking. The website shows rooms with beautiful and lavish furnishings. Very deceiving.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenV372, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the backside to get a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles welltraveledOkie, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay