We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barra Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Barra Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Booked here for the diving which was disappointing compared to other places we have dived. After reading the previous reports I knew it was going to be fairly basic which wasn't a problem. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily, but linen and towels should be changed and not requested. Electrics failing regularly with power cuts hourly. Kettle had to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank charliesum666
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Each point that you have made will be taken seriously. We had major problems with the national electricity supplier over the festive season as did all the lodges surrounding and made use of our generator where we could. Water supplies were also interrupted. Our most humble apologies for all the other issues you encountered at...

Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Barra lodge is a wonderful place to stay for people of all ages.There are lots of activitys like there is a kids club and you can go horse riding and stuff like that. The sea is very warm and there are also other pools for example at your place wear you stay there might be a pool. There is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selenacool4
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

We strive to cater for kids as much as possible. Sea and Sand is always a win for children but an additional activities schedule always keeps them that much busier so mom and dad can relax. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again soon.

Vereeniging, South Africa
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We had the most spectacular wedding and the time of our lives. We had never been to Mozambique and didn't know what to expect but still wanted a tropical wedding. When we arrived at Barra Lodge we just knew we made the best choice ever. The staff was so friendly and helpfull and made us feel like royalty. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bella31_12
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

What a lovely review. thank you for sharing your thoughts about your special day with us and that you for choosing Barra! indeed, our team, location, accommodation and services makes for the perfect destination wedding. thank you and we hope to have you back again soon.

London, UK
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The resort is set on a beautiful beach where you can walk for miles and watch beautiful sunsets in the evening. The staff are friendly and courteous and the lodges are spacious and simple although the bedding and towels are threadbare and the bedding needs to be changed more regularly especially when raining (we asked for ours to be changed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlakeySurrey
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We truly appreciate, value and take to heart the feedback we get so have noted and reviewed our menu and have in the interim purchased brand new quad bikes. Maintenance is ongoing and we do hope that you can make a return trip to re-experience these areas.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 28 November 2012

From the planning stage right through to the wedding day, the Barra team were so helpful and friendly. We organised the whole wedding from Pretoria via email and Skype. When we arrived on a hot Friday afternoon at the logde, we were welcomed by a welcoming drink, local ladies choir and a red carpet... the whole stay was awesome! the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 762Marics
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you once again for your wonderful review. We are so proud of our staff members and so love making couples' dreams come true on such a special day.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The resort is nicely situated at one of Mozambique’s many beautiful beaches, and provides decent accommodation for a reasonable price. Fairly simple lodges, and a couple of restaurants offering what you need ( if not always what you want). The staff is providing service with a smile. Barra´s main asset is it´s location, witch is stunning, as well as the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harald M
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its wonderful to hear from our guests who hail from all over the globe. I hope you come back to visit us again.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 October 2012

If you're looking to get away from your BlackBerry (I didn't have signal for 8 days!) and simply relax and enjoy the beauty of the Indian Ocean, then this is perfect. Simple, spacious and more than adequate casitas, cleaned every day, have the benefit of the most natural air con - fresh breeze blowing through the reeds. The food is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mez65
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

What a lovely review. Honest and refreshing. Barra is a great place to getaway and relax and we pride ourselves on a home-away-from-home type of feel. I am glad you enjoyed the diving as well, Dom and Ina are true professionals. In regards to the greetings, many of our employees cultures are that of shyness and although this is something...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I took our two grandchildren for 5 nights to Barra Lodge. We went on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. We stayed in a Casita which was very comfortable and clean. The food in the restaurant as well as the Beach Pub was very good and the service very friendly. I will definitely return during the month...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Barra Lodge would like to thank you for your review. How lovely to take your grandchildren on holiday! Barra is perfect for kids of all ages and I am sure they had a great time on the white sands and in the warm ocean. Hope to have you back again soon.

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The pool, restaurant and bar amenities are in good condition and enjoyable. The staff are super-friendly and accommodating. However, the rooms leave much to be desired. Stale bedding, nobbly pillows and a limited selection of equipment in the self-catering 'chalet's. The rates are very affordable, but i would rather spend a little more and sleep in a comfortable bed after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LezanneMW
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your feedback and will be looking into the areas of concern.

Reviewed 25 August 2012

It is difficult to rate Barra Lodge but based on our overall experience I have scored 'very good' when perhaps a 'good' would be more accurate when compared to the other accommodation stayed in this holiday. We had a great time,however,and the hotel served us well during this, our second week in Africa, when we wanted to experience some beach...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah G
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate every piece of information we get specifically the good the bad and the ugly. We are working on the areas that we need to improve and because of this forum, we are able to more speedily address certain areas of concern. Thank you once again and we hope to have you back...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane Province
16.0 km away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#9 of 17 in Inhambane Province
58 reviews
1.2 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
72 reviews
1438.3 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
214 reviews
7.3 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
167 reviews
0.0 km away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Price Range: $300 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barra Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Barra Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabanas are equipped wit air conditioners and are for large families. Lot of accommodation on offer. Ask before you book.”
lindieb961, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“It seems you can't really choose as allocation is changed as they please.”
574gerriem, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose aircon type cabana, beach facing.”
Willj225, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The 6-sleeper chalets are great for a well-priced self-catering stay”
  • The lovely, large, well-priced chalet
L3702HXmarkm, 14 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Best value are the cottages, but if you can afford an upgrade the cabanas are reallly good too.”
albert0ds, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5