We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dumfries Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Dumfries Arms Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 427: English reviews
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here as part of an it is on Voucher which entitles us to bed and breakfast, dinner & a bottle of wine. We stayed in the standard room which I felt was a great size and super clean &a the bed is super comfy! The general interior of the hotel is beautiful, and the staff are very friendly. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keelyw417
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got married at the DA after changing our minds from first venue, so glad we did!! This place is gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful, the food is amazing and the staff are awesome. Always enjoy coming back to celebrate other friends who have chosen this venue.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smilerr90
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were given an overnight stay here as a Christmas present. I cannot recommend this place enough we had a fab time. We stayed in room 17, it was large and very luxurious, i wish I could have took the bed home with me. Dinner in the restaurant was spot on. Even though the restaurant was busy we were well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MariaJ1968
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. Staying was my partner, our son and I, we all had an amazing time. We stayed on dbb basis, the restaurant is gorgeous, absolutely love the decor; the thistle wallpaper in particular. The meals were lovely, very tasty and good portion sizes too. I would personally recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol Anne M
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the DA on several occasions but we are just home from staying there after attending a family funeral.Booked into a superior room to find dirty stained cushions on bed,a bathroom door that jammed when opened only halfway,hence nearly injuring yourself.1st breakfast we had we chose a cooked breakfast,tea was like dishwater and no toast or toaster...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank philipshaw60
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear your stay was not as pleasant as we would have intended. I have spoken to the head housekeeper and asked her to check the cushions in all rooms. We do have a thorough housekeeping team and pride ourselves on...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

New Years Eve one would expect to be able to buy a pint of bitter. No way, neither bar had any available. Even the Guinness was out of a can! We weren't even warned of this beforehand! And to pay £4.00 for it ! Utter disgrace! A 'bitter' disappointment.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tomickj
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry you felt disappointed on New Years Eve when you discovered we did not have Bitter on draught. As you can probably appreciate we cannot stock every drink possible but we do have a large selection of drinks available. Bitter on draught was not available on the night you visited the hotel, however we offered Theakston...

Stevenston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A pleasant place to stay I was just staying overnight. The meal was good and so was breakfast and staff were very helpful. A few minor faults being no wifi in my room ,a piece of the iron broke off and shower door would not close.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John S
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed dining with us. I will pass your nice comments on to the rest of the team. I will look into why Wi-Fi was not available in your room. Maintenance have already...

Ayr
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here for Christmas lunch with work. The restaurant is lovely and spacious. The staff were very attentive. All of us enjoyed our meal. Some of the portions are huge and those who ordered the burger were amazed at the tower structure that was given to them! The turkey which I had was delicious with all the trimmings. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scrumptiousxx
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent dining experience with us. I am delighted to hear you highly rate our food and will pass these kind comments on to our kitchen team, although I am a bit disappointed that the steak one of your party ordered was overcooked. I have spoken with our Restaurant Manager who was...

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Attended a Xmas party night and overnight stay for the second year in a row. As my previous visit and review, the place is stunning, staff more than helpful, food is top quality. Previous visit I gave 4 stars but this only 3 due to a few minor issues that is mostly outwith control of the hotel - Front rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank murdo1
DumfriesArms, Senior Managment at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. The hotel would like to thank you for your choosing to have your party night at The Dumfries Arms. I am pleased to hear you think our venue is stunning and food to be top quality. Our hotel is situated in the center of a small town so it is difficult to minimise...

Scotland
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Spent one night at the Dumfries Arms Hotel while attending a wedding in a town nearby. The hotel was delightful, so warm, cosy and welcoming. I was a little early in booking into the hotel but it was not a problem for the hotel reception staff and I was soon settled into my room. The hotel is so convenient for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CruiseEnthusiast
DumfriesArms, Senior Management at Dumfries Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful five star review. We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay with us at the wedding you recently attended. I will pass on your lovely comments to our team. We hope you will return and visit us again. From everyone here at The Dumfries Arms we would like to wish you...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
6.1 km away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,021 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
111 reviews
22.3 km away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
603 reviews
10.2 km away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
57 reviews
36.5 km away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fully renovated in 2011 the Dumfries Arms is a contemporary, stylish boutique Hotel with 26 stunning guest rooms, stylish restaurant and function facilities that ensure its place as one of Ayrshire's largest and most stunning wedding and events venues. Rich in history, The Dumfries Arms Hotel has stood at the heart of the ancient burgh of Cumnock, Ayrshire since the early 18th century and even predates nearby Dumfries House, saved for the nation by HRH The Prince of Wales and now one of the nation's most stunning heritage attractions. Over its 300 year history the hotel's guests have included some colourful and well known characters including our national bard, Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott, who made reference to his stay in Old Cumnock..."Where beds are as hard as a plank, sir". Much has changed since! However, as an important part of our heritage, due homage has been accorded with these historic words being embroidered on soft furnishings within our guest rooms. We should add that our beds are magnificently comfortable! We look forward to welcoming you to one of Scotland's newest, privately owned boutique hotels whether as a resident, diner, or to view our stunning function facilities if you are planning a very special event. A warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dumfries Arms Hotel

Address: 54 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Price Range: $152 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dumfries Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dumfries Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dumfries Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great, especially Bridal suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Smilerr90, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in a room in the old part of the hotel it was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dibbleduff, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had 35 and my brother 36 - same price but 36 is a much larger room”
 of 5 bubbles Snookytam, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lower floor rooms will save your legs .”
 of 5 bubbles JimT40, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't take a room on upper floor unless you are fit and healthy”
 of 5 bubbles lanzaholic, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay