We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stoney Creek Inn

Show Prices
#2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stoney Creek Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 818: English reviews
Start your review of Stoney Creek Inn
 Click to rate
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My daughter and I were traveling in the area for a few days and decided to stay at this hotel based on the great reviews on trip advisor. Our room was cozy and the beds were comfortable. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The lobby had cold lemon water and coffee out at all times. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DKU53051
Peru, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was visiting Galena for the weekend with my wonderful girlfriend and was looking for not a real cheap hotel but not a super expensive one either. The Stoney Creek Inn fit the bill. I got the king suite with the added wine package with later check out. The bed was extremely comfortable plus the extra room helped with all our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John W
Galesburg, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is just a great place to stay. Always clean, always friendly and always quiet. This is a little away from Main Street, however it is close to a couple of places to eat. They do have a breakfast for guests.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanschisler
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at Stoney Creek Inn. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The lounge was a great place to hang out for the evening and many nice friendly people. Galena is a great place to visit and we will be back. We only wish we had more time to enjoy the pool and hot tub....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karrie N
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. The hotel shuttle was accommodating taking us downtown and back to the hotel. The driver was pleasant and informative. The disappointing part was that there were no ground floor rooms except for handicapped accessible rooms and no elevator for access to non-handicapped second floor rooms. We were a group of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula1964_13
Janae T, Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paula1964_13, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and that our hotel shuttle was accommodating as you explored the beautiful sites of Galena! I understand your frustration with having to carry your luggage to the rooms on the second floor, however, due to the historic nature of our building we...

Janesville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in to spend a couple of nights in Galena on our way home from vacation. Checked in and soon found out that our rooms were on the second floor, and the hotel has no elevator at all. We had to drag our luggage up the stairs and down the hall. Northwoods decor was a bit over the top, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
Janae T, Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Patrick G, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Stoney Creek. I apologize that we do not have an elevator for our second floor guests' convenience, but due to the historic nature of our building, we are not able to offer this feature. We hope that during your next visit, we can accommodate you on...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This property has smaller sized rooms and no elevator but it is immaculate with a friendly staff. Decor is a combination of northwoods and golf. Very cute. AND there is a Keurig coffeemaker so bring some pods from home! You need to drive to downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lois S
Janae T, Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lois S, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our signature decor and that our staff was friendly and accommodating to your requests. We also love the in-room Keurig coffee makers—it's just one more thing that feels like home. Our staff looks forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank...

Warrenville, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this Inn for the reason to visit downtown Galena. The Inn is a few miles away, very close and convenient. The Inn is also very close (walking distance) to large grocery store, as well as other smaller shots. We were extremely satisfied, comfortable and well taken care of by the front desk. The hotel room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joeurso
Algonquin, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed here before during a previous trip to Wine Lover's Weekend. Again the accommodation were great, the staff was very helpful and the facilities were clean and welcoming. The complimentary breakfasts had good options to offer for all. The lobby bar was nice for a relaxing cocktail and meeting new people.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K3282GOlauran
Janae T, Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

K3282GOlauran, Thank you so much for sharing your five-star review of your recent stay and acknowledging our attention to the details that make a difference! We especially happy to hear that the service of the staff was helpful and welcoming. Please come back and see us again for more fun in Galena!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Always a great overnight spot. Clean and the rooms are furnished well. We stayed in the theme rooms. Perfect night for a fire. Staff is very friendly. It was nice also to enjoy a late night drink in the lobby bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dottie L

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.9 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
92 reviews
12.2 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: $113 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoney Creek Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stoney Creek Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a dog friendly hotel. If you can't walk stairs, make sure you ask for room on first floor.”
659karrien, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Excellent Inn if you want to visit Galena Illinois.”
joeurso, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Theme rooms are very nice with fireplaces and some have in room whirlpools.”
K3282GOlauran, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The theme rooms are excellent!”
ajh7320, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King bed ground floor.”
616francesca, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5