We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Goldmoor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Goldmoor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Goldmoor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 460: English reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The rooms were quite outdated and our particular room smelled like smoke. Breakfast was not what I would consider to be gourmet. There were no special touches to make us feel welcome. The grounds were pretty and well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy T
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cindy, thank you for your feed back. I apologize that you felt the room smelled of smoke. We are a smoke free Inn and I am sorry for the inconvenience. As to the furniture you are correct our suites are not suites that have modern minimalist furniture. The concept of the Goldmoor is a castle and with that each...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The Goldmoor's rooms in person are just as adorable and comfortable as advertised on the website, and the grounds are serene and beautiful. We were very disappointed with the quality of breakfast. I know a mass produced muffin or waffle when I see/taste one, and had a hard time believing that the baked goods that comprised most of breakfast during...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LizziH
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lizzi, thank you for your feed back we do take all comments seriously and are very disappointing that we did not hit the mark with breakfast.Our baked goods as well as Waffles are made fresh and I apologize if they did not meet your approval.However we are always eager to please and able to accommodate specific wishes for breakfast....

Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewed 29 November 2016

What a great place to stay. Just a 6 mile ride to Galena and definitely worth it. Wonderful owners, great breakfasts (free with our stay). The turret (our room) was awesome- fit for royalty! Looking forward to going there again.................soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wsiglasky
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear wisglasky, thank you for your nice review. I hope we crowned you Queen and King which is what happens when you stay at the Turret. Please come visit again for another relaxing weekend.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Spent the weekend for our anniversary and it was the perfect location. Thoroughly enjoyed our space in the chef's quarters and dining at the restaurant each evening was a pleasure. Great relations with hotel staff and a nice attention to detail. Dont even question whether it's worth the money to stay here, definitely money well spent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear "perfect Getaway"thank you for sharing your Goldmoor experience. We are happy that we could contribute and make your weekend special. Please come visit again.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 22 November 2016

After a crazy busy fall, we decided to find a quiet place for the two of us to hideaway for a few days. One of our favorite places to visit is Galena and we have found a new favorite place to stay when there. We chose the English Country Cottage for its advertised privacy, appointments, and views. We were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJTJ1982
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear JJTJ1982, thank you for sharing your Goldmoor experience. You are describing the Goldmoor exactly the way we see it and it is our goal to make every visit exceptional and special. We are happy that we succeeded in that. We are looking forward to see you again on your next visit.

illinois
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The Goldmoor Inn is a wonderful place to stay in northwest Illinois. Somewhat midway between a B&B and a hotel, it has attractive, clean and comfortable suites each decorated in a different style. A somewhat upscale restaurant is also on sight. Breakfast (included in the price) is available in the restaurant or delivered to your room. Our suite included a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilmoreooa
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gilmoreooa, thank you for your feed back about your recent visit to the Goldmoor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and were able to enjoy all of our amenities. Thank you for staying with us and please come visit us again.

Aurora, Illinois
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Where do I start: We booked the most expensive room $380 without tax at this hotel Mississippi Suite on the Saturday night. The hotel looks nice from the outside. And we enjoyed bike ride. That all is good there. The overview was nice on their web page, but it was a complete disaster in person. Our room looked like my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summer s
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Summer, thank you for your feed back. We are of course disappointing that we were not able to make this a perfect experience for you. We are sorry to hear that your dinner experience was not satisfactory and we wish we had known about it when it occurred. As to the Mississippi Suite, it is the most popular suite...

Palatine, Illinois
Reviewed 5 November 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary with a delightful 3 night escape at the Goldmoor Inn. It is a charming B & B, that is just the right size for weddings, corporate retreats or family reunions. The setting is spectacular, surrounded by woods overlooking the Mississippi river, serene and inspirational. The staff treated us like honored guests staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mindyziemke
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mindy thank you for sharing your Goldmoor experience. We are happy that you are pointing out all those little details that truly make the difference. Thank you.We would love to have you return in winter time. It is a very different experience because nature is so beautiful in winter and the river is wide,open and majestic.

dublin
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Unfortunately we were obligated to come home, otherwise could have lingered at the Goldmoor Inn another few days! We arrived October 28, 2016 for 2 nights and had booked the Lancelot Suite. Out the front window was a view of the fountain and the Mississippi, and out the back, woods and cabins. Private Jacuzzi area, fireplace that truly puts out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen we are so delighted that we were successful in making this a special occasion and surprise for your husband. We too enjoyed your visit and hope to be able to serve you again.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Very quaint and comfortable. We definitely enjoyed our stay. Staff is very friendly and we had an amazing massage. The log cabin amenities were very comfortable and the room was cozy. A very romantic getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anacalderon77
goldmoor, Owner at Goldmoor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ana thank you for your nice review we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Goldmoor. Please come visit us again for a relaxing experience.

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.3 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
88 reviews
9.7 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Address: 9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: $440 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Goldmoor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Goldmoor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do your homework - the features, accommodations & views (facing the river or not) are all variable as is the décor for each room.”
 of 5 bubbles bondkaren2, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want privacy choose a cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles Dehjah, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For privacy, I suggest any of the 3 cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles sstcerny, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Floors on the second level are always our preference, especially with the views!”
 of 5 bubbles Dgainor, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are considering the cottages, your first choice should be the English Country Cottage as it is the most private.”
 of 5 bubbles JJTJ1982, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5