We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Farmers Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Farmers Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Farmers Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,214: English reviews
Delavan, Illinois
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is the first bed and breakfast I have stayed at and has possibly set the bar high for any others! Susan, Don and Charles were all very attentive and awesome hosts. If you didn't get what you needed it was because you didn't speak up! Thank you to them for looking after us and making our stay very relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brneyedone
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love having the large space here to have quilt retreats. The expansive dining room is perfect for groups and events like getting together with friends. We look forward to your next visit. Many happy returns, Susan & Don

Clarion, Iowa
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. Very clean. Susan is so accommodating and fun. The food was teriffic. The location is perfect! within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. I will definately make another visit. Wine time and chocolate chip cookies were an added treat. Cannot say enough good things about this B&B

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As a quilter myself, I enjoy a luxury retreat where you are pampered as well as given the opportunity to enjoy your craft with others. I had enough of those dorm-style, bring your own food camp-like retreats and wanted to offer a luxury option for those who share my craft. I can't wait for the...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was my first trip to Galena, and we were going for the skiing at Chestnut Mountain and a short getaway from the city. We selected Farmers' Guest House because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. In fact, we were very pleasantly surprised by how Susan, the owner, accommodated our vegan diet. We're used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zackary W
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Accommodating food allergies, restrictions and preferences is something we do for any guest - after all, you shouldn't have to concern yourself with what you can or cannot eat when presented with a sumptuous breakfast each day. We look forward to your return visit. Many happy returns, Susan & Don

chicago
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We love Farmer's Guest House. As frequent visitors to Galena, we've tried a lot of different places, but this one is most definitely our favorite. We've stayed in 3 different rooms and enjoyed all of them. The whole atmosphere at the guest house is comfortable and welcoming. The hosts are great and breakfast is wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your repeat stay and appreciate return guests and the input they share with us. We love the pictures you took of the Charlotte Suite and are delighted you have enjoyed all three of the rooms you have stayed in. We look forward to your next visit. Susan...

North Liberty, Iowa
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was Recommended to stay at Farmers' Guest house by a friend. This stay did not disappoint. My husband and i went as a honeymoon we never had. Susan and Don took wonderful care of us. We were able to stay in the cottage, which was like being at home with out being at home. The food, prepared by Chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smthiele
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Cottage is a favorite for honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic getaways. Private, secluded, yet walking distance to town and accessible to all the amenities of the main building it is a perfect option for a special getaway. We look forward to seeing you for your anniversary trip! Many happy returns, Don & Susan

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Farmer's Guest House March 7 & 8th for our anniversary. I have never been more impressed. It was our first time staying at a B&B, so I was unsure of what to expect. We arrived later than we had planned (and after normal check in times) and Susan welcomed us like we were family. After a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ILmom2
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. WineTime is a highlight here and we never want anyone to miss it! So often when guests are arriving late on a Friday that is when they enjoy a glass of wine the most. We take pride in giving you the best possible service during your getaway to Galena and are delighted to hear that...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My boyfriend took me to galena for a much needed romantic and relaxing weekend. I was very pleased to find that he had really done his homework. The Farmers Guest House was charming, friendly, relaxing, and fun! We stayed in the Aimee room and the cozy charm was exactly what we were looking for. Wine time at 5pm was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cate B
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Aimee is a comfortable and charming room. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many happy returns, Susan & Don

Pekin, Illinois
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you love Galena/Jo Daviess County, you'll love the Farmer's Guest House. I have stayed here many times and it feels like I am coming home every time. New owners Susan and Don have continued the tradition and are making the experience even better. Love the 5 pm wine time! Great breakfast and wonderful conversation. I highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRMCD1
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As we enter our third season as owners/innkeepers, we appreciate the vote of confidence from guests who have been coming to Farmers Guest House for years. It was fun showing you the many improvements we have made and visiting during WineTime. We look forward to your next stay. Many happy returns, Susan & Don

Blue Grass, Iowa
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have been to Galena countless times before and have always wanted to get the B&B experience. I think the Farmers' Guest House was much more than I had hoped for. My beau treated me for my birthday and Valentine's with a stay in the Julia suite. I very much enjoyed the feel of the room and the entire house....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BaileyD0212
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although guests come every weekend for romantic getaways, there is something extra special about Valentine's Day. We are so glad your stay exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next stay. Many happy returns, Susan & Don

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Over Presidents Weekend we had a Mother/Daughter getaway. …shopping, dining, spa time and overnight accommodations at a great B&B. Don and Sue are gracious hosts and offer an amazing gourmet breakfast, fresh baked cookies and wine time, many opportunities to chat with us. The rooms are spacious, full amenities and gorgeous....we stayed in one ROM that actually had a sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As the mother of 7 daughters, I can fully appreciate how much fun a mother/daughter getaway is and am pleased that we could help make this a very special event for you and your daughter. We look forward to seeing you again. Many happy returns, Susan & Don

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
3.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
3.3 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.4 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#1 of 33 in Galena
418 reviews
0.8 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
7.8 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 149 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home,your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: $244 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Farmers Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Dubuque, Iowa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Farmers Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Charlotte suite which looked to me to be one of their best rooms. Every room was nice though. Including the standard rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 789AlanD, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Julia Suite is beautiful...quiet at the end of the hall and with a lot of windows and a good view!”
 of 5 bubbles CKS50, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in the Jenny. It was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles AccomplishMoreToday, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back of the house. All the rooms are large and very clean and bright.”
 of 5 bubbles ctrauthwein, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I looked in the rooms while I was there, they were all beautiful and some bigger than others. ”
 of 5 bubbles amasette, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay