We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had made reservations for 9 nights. Our dog was injured and had surgery the day we were to leave and arrive at the hotel. Not only did they understand and not charge us for that night, but we found out this is a pet friendly establishment. We have never taken a pet with but we had to keep an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We were double charged for our stay and treated with utter disrespect, being insomuch as told to "Not Waste Our Breath" because they wouldn't honor their OWN online rates..and we had to deal with this, all while in town caring for a terminally ill family member. We were not only demanded to pay CASH for incidentals, but then we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This place seems to have thought of most everything a traveler could need...AND it's very clean, well maintained, with comfy beds. This is our 2nd stay here and we'll be back when we need to stay in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
Sylvania, Ohio
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Where to start? Carpet was stained in numerous spots, air conditioner frame broken and falling off, broken bedside lamp. All reported and never dealt with. Room never attended to by maid even when ASKED!! Had to go to front desk for clean towels and toilet paper! Coffee maker continually broken in the pantry. Personnel were pleasant enough but never fixed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnB43560
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Dear AnnB43560, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you had with the condition of the carpet and air conditioner as well as the housekeeping services and the coffee maker among the others. I would like to follow up on your concerns that is why I...

Landmark, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I wasn't aware that this hotel was an extended stay place and they don't have a continental breakfast. Our hostess went out of her way and gave us food out of the vending machines for breakfast at no charge. True, it wasn't great food, but most continental breakfasts are only average anyway. A very, very accomodating hostess in all ways....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truenorth76
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

In my 22 years of traveling six to eight months a year I have never and hope to ever come across an establishment of any kind like this one. I have so many things to explain but it would sound so unbelievable that I will sum it up to this; I was charged $300.00 dollars for dirty towels that were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Monica H, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I would like to apologize for the disappointment you had with the management of the property among the others during your stay. I would like to follow up on this situation that is why I have sent you a private message to obtain more information. I...

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 May 2016

After catching a terrible storm while driving through Wisconsin, we were forced to stop earlier in our road trip than anticipated, and we ended up at the Candlewood Suites. What a nice surprise to find that it was an absolutely lovely hotel! We were all exhausted from traveling, had a cat with us, and since we called so last minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dibtio
Iowa
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

I had to be in Elgin for a family members serious illness and Candlewood became my "home" for a month. Exceptional in every way. The Staff went out of their way to help and it was always nice coming and going and chatting g with them. Loved having a little kitchen and laundry since I didn't expect to stay so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scooter22ia
Hoyt Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 March 2016

After a long day of traveling we needed to find a room for the night. This hotel was just what we needed. This hotel is pet friendly, a must for us. The rooms were clean, the shower great, the bed comfortable. The curtains kept the room dark so we could get some much needed rest. The noise from I90 is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Not recommended for a short term business stay. When I asked for lotion, since it wasn't provided, I was told I could BUY lotion from sundry store in lobby. Also there's no way to control room temperature - the thermostat removed from wall & I couldn't change the wall unit settings. Water pressure was minimal in the shower. It's obvious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Julie H, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our property particularly with the amenities provided, room temperature control, and the water pressure in the shower among the others. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
1.2 km away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Comfort Suites Elgin
#4 of 8 in Elgin
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
4.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
95 reviews
4.5 km away
TownePlace Suites Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Candlewood Suites Elgin Northwest Chicago, IL is conveniently located 20 minutes from Chicago s O Hare International Airport ORD and only 40 miles from downtown Chicago off Interstate 90. If you are coming to the area for business we are only minutes from Sears Centre, Sears Holdings, Kmart Corporation, Cabela's, Panasonic, JP Morgan Chase & Company and Nissan Forklift. While in the area be sure to experience world-class shopping at Woodfield Mall, Algonquin Commons, Huntley Prime Outlets and Springhill Mall or visit nearby Grand Victoria Casino, Hemmens Cultural Center or the Schaumburg Convention Center. We understand that extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your special needs. Candlewood Suites is designed from the ground up and our all suite hotel features full kitchens complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free, high speed Internet or relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. When you come to Chicago we know what you need. Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month or even a year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago

Address: 1780 Capital St, Elgin, IL 60124-7890
Region: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Price Range: $110 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago Hotel Elgin
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago Illinois
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are traveling with a pet rooms on the ends offer great access for where you can take your pet out to exercise.”
 of 5 bubbles AllisonB527, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel, Marriot's are always nice.”
  • Right outside of our room.  The community storm drain used as an ash-can.
  • Right outside of our room.  The community storm drain used as an ash-can.
  • Right outside of our room.  The community storm drain used as an ash-can.
 of 5 bubbles rebeccaj873, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Call the hotel directly, they have discounts that are not online.”
 of 5 bubbles 785sc, 14 Nov 2013 | Read review
“For added security, I would recommend ladies request the top floor, since the windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles LorraineK661, 14 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Take a upper floor if it is available, Highway is not an issue with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 914ScottK, 1 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay