We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Lombard, Illinois
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I am really happy with the team member Shulton Powell, he is a really polite person at the front desk. It is one of the reason I always choose this hotel for my bussines contacts, thank you for make us feel part of your family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ggiraldo2002
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that Shelton provided you with great service and the wonderful smile that all of us have grown to love. Red Roof Inn Downers Grove is indeed conveniently located near restaurant, shopping and major expressways. We take pride in being able to continue to go above...

Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

I've been staying in this hotel a couple of nights a week and it is by far the best and most affordable. They have a great staff very professional and very patient. Reserve with Shelton, he's one of the best!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebra B
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review. I have shared your feedback with Shelton, and he was overwhelmed with joy from your comments. We take pride in making our guest feel confident, significant and delight in the service and quality, and we were pleased to hear the you enjoyed your stay at our location. Please consider...

Vinkovci, Croatia
Reviewed 9 February 2016

First time in any Red Roof, nothing special, we used it for one night sleepover and for that price it was just fine... only complaint is for horrible in room smell which can not be removed. In a walking distance to Hooters which is a plus :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegasVK
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review regarding your recent visit to the Chicago Downers Grove area. It truly saddens me that you were displeased with your stay. We welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your visit to ensure that this never happens again to you or anyone else. Please feel free to...

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

We were moving however the house wouldn't be ready for 2 weeks so we needed a reasonably priced place to rest our heads. So I searched, this place had a really good weekly rate I figured for the location it would be a decent place. I got a room with double beds, that was the promotion, so my boyfriend and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sade S
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will address all the areas of opportunity that you mentioned with my entire team. I am extremely sorry that your stay was not a wonderful experience. I would love to have the opportunity to address all your areas of concern. Please do not hesitate to contact me at the...

Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

I always injoy my stay at the Red Roof Inn the staff is always polite, and friendly. I am greeted with a smile every time enter the building the rooms are always nice and clean I would definitely stay here again and would also recommend this hotel to friends ands family. One of the employees "Shelton Powell" was very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ka T
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for writing a review and recognizing the efforts of our newest team member "Shelton". He was all smiles after seeing your review. I am glad that he was able to make you feel welcomed and provided you with a hospitality heart while you lodged with us. If you should need any future hotel lodging, please consider us...

Willowbrook, Illinois
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff plus the two most important reasons I will always continue to stay at Red Roof Inn, Downers Grove, Il, they are a dog friendly establishment with nicely planned outside space. And the front desk employee, Shelton Dovell has a personality that shows friendliness and willing to help with any questions or being sure guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn E
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Our team strives to make our guest feel at home while lodging with us, and it is wonderful to see Shelton being recognized for achieving this. Our friendly service, clean rooms, and personal commitment to our guest are just a few ways we hope to accomplish our goal. Your recommendation means the world to...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I am a "marketing road warrior" and when it comes time to crash - it is Red Roof. Friction-less check in/out, clean place, great staff. Shelton and James get kudos. Had a car issue one time and they kept my tush out a sling with their help. Professional support staff as well. Fluffy towels too. They were so fluffy I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for choosing our location for your hospitality needs. I personally love hearing stories where a GSR makes a difference in one of our valued guest stays. It really makes us feel delighted to hear how our clerks exceed or guest expectations. I have shared your review with my team as we celebrate the success of a fellow...

Reviewed 1 January 2016

The reason I gave it 2 stars is the efficient, friendly service in the front office. All 3 of the people I encountered would be great catches at a higher end property. I would never stay here again or suggest it to anyone else. The odor of old smoke covered with room deodorizer was absolutely awful. The next day I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review regarding your recent visit to the Chicago Downers Grove area. It truly saddens me that you were displeased with your stay. We welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your visit to ensure that this never happens again to you or anyone else. Please feel free to...

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

I love Red Roofs when you are just staying to sleep. Rooms aren't huge, but are very clean. Comfy bed. Shower was hot. No blow dryer, microwave or fridge. But there was a tv and wifi. Better than expected for the price. We would most definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review about you recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove. We are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations through our outstanding quality and attention to detail. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with the entire staff. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to...

Reviewed 25 December 2015

Great service! I always get great service when Uchi is working the desk. No matter which shift she works. She always has a smile and handles customers professionally, even when the system goes down. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni M
i0087, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your lodging experience here at the Red Roof Inn Downers Grove. We are extremely grateful for the recommendation as my entire team works hard to provide all of our valued guest with an enjoyable experience. Uchita was excited to hear your feedback and we look forward to your...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downers Grove
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#5 of 7 in Downers Grove
79 reviews
1.6 km away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Chicago Marriott Suites Downers Grove
2.0 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.5 km away
Stay Inn Lombard
Stay Inn Lombard
#3 of 10 in Lombard
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof Inn Chicago - Downers Grove is conveniently located off of I-88 at Butterfield Road, convenient to Lombard, Downers Grove and Oak Brook. This hotel is located within walking distance of Yorktown Mall, a movie theater and many great restaurants. Features include complimentary wireless internet, guest laundry, and flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove

Address: 1113 Butterfield Rd, Downers Grove, IL 60515-1057
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Downers Grove
Price Range: $65 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downers Grove Hotel Downers Grove
Red Roof Inn Downers Grove
Downers Grove Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove Illinois
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Chicago-Downers Grove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor rooms with fridge are best”
 of 5 bubbles Allan2, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They do allow pets and there was a dog next door that did bark but only maybe twice - and very briefly”
 of 5 bubbles scottj924, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“quiet place”
 of 5 bubbles ggiraldo2002, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good - nice layout.”
 of 5 bubbles markpN9916RI, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room near the lobby. We stayed near the back near the highway and you could hear the cars driving by.”
 of 5 bubbles ll3636, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5