We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pittsfield Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Pittsfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Wurenlingen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Read the reviews of this place and you can trust me, they are true. In brief, I would not advise you to stay there. Reasons to stay there: - good location Reasons not to stay there: - crazy loud place, you cannot sleep there, bed is vibrate - incompetent staff, lady at the reception is also the cleaning lady, cannot... More 

Thank switzerland16
Sp S, Front Office Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are sorry you're experience wasn't what you've expected: - location is right Downtown, we do not have advertised any quiet rooms - front desk available between 3-11 PM, office available by phone 8AM-Midnight - we manage multiple units, do not have pictures with all units unfortunately -... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, the building is not marked as a hotel/suites of any sort so it was difficult to locate. Our 2br apartment looked nothing like the photos. It was a bit run down looking but efficient enough for the weekend. When we opened the bedroom door and found one of the bed frames broken and the bed sagging in the... More 

Thank Shelley S
Sp S, Guest Relations Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the feedback. We are sorry you're experience wasn't what you expected. This review is very helpful to us for improving our services More 

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was hesitant to book here because of the mixed reviews. However, this was PERFECT for my travel situation. I was travelling with a 3yo and my husband. Anyone who travels with kids knows the predicament, how do you get the kids to go to sleep without everyone going to bed at the same time in a hotel room. Well... More 

Thank Akbama
Sp S, Guest Relations Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to post a review More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First and foremost I'd like to set straight all of the negative reviews this property has had. Clearly these negative reviews are from people who rarely or never travel to downtown Chicago. My husband and I, my friends and I, my family and I travel often and make a point to visit Chicago regularly... primarily because that's where we were... More 

Thank Cynthia C
Sp S, General Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate your business and thank you for the nice review. We look forward to your future trip to Chicago More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Three women rented a three bedroom, two bathroom 'hotel' apartment. The location is great, but everything goes down hill from there. There is no one on the desk most of the time, the apartment was not very clean (a towel from a previous customer was lying behind bedroom door, when one of my room mates moved her bed to make... More 

Thank LynnSmithOntario
Sp S, Front Office Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we appreciate your business and the time to post a review. I'm sorry you experienced a unit which i see it wasn't clean properly. I wished you reported this on the day of check in, we would've switched rooms or sent the cleaning staff once more. When situations are reported, we respond in the shortest time possible, either... More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Awful and disgusting doesn't even begin to describe how bad this hotel is. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Don't let the location fool you. Not only were the rooms beyond filthy and outdated but the staff, if you can even call them that, is atrocious. They are mismanaged, unorganized, unprofessional, and downright incompetent. Had a four night stay... More 

Thank Kyle R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but this was so bad I really feel I have to warn you. This is a super rundown building that seems to have dorms on some of the floors and rental rooms on some of the others. There is no maid service and you have to take out your own trash. We were promised a... More 

2 Thank Laura H
Sp S, Front Office Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we do not offer maid service unfortunately. All bookings are confirmed and type and bedding is booked by guests, not promised by anyone. For check out, you just leave your key at the check in desk. Our people from the front desk are sometimes away dealing with situations that might occur. Thank you and we apologies if you... More 

Kuna, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This hotel is not a hotel. You receive no clean linens during your stay (even for six days), the dishes were dirty and the closet had not been cleaned. There is no maid service and the pictures of the rooms are not even close to the flop house tiny space that you actually receive. The air conditioner sounds like a... More 

4 Thank dpw19
Sp S, Public Relations Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we do not provide housekeeping during the stay, we clean and prepare the units before and after guests. Our cancellation policy is very clear, there are refundable rates and non refundable rates, depending on what anyone chooses to book. Thank you and please accept our apology if you had a bad experience More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Not the best apartment hotel we've stayed in but good enough when you're looking for great location, as this was. Absolutely great, short walk to metro, buses, shops, Magnificent Mile, the River Walk, Millenium Park and lots more... Friendly staff in the small lobby but the security guards were not all friendly. I think they have too much on their... More 

1 Thank Bjorn Johann B
Sp S, Guest Relations Manager at The Pittsfield Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. This helps us improve our service, we really appreciate it More 

Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Room was clean and obviously recently renovated. Amenities were adequate (for 2 people). Full fridge, oven, 3-cup coffeemaker and microwave. The 2.0 star for cleanliness due to the toilet bowl not being clean (had a streak which could easily have been scrubbed off). AC was unadjustable and room remained at 70 degrees all the time (gets hot at night), hence... More 

1 Thank vcarolina

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (58)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (22)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
View from Room (2)
Dining (3)
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (37)
Room/Suite (29)
Bathroom (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 188 in Chicago
1,916 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
1,429 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Pittsfield Hotel

Address: 55 E Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-2103 (Formerly SP Suites Millenium Park Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: $118 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pittsfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Pittsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sp Suites Millenium Park Chicago Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pittsfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Pittsfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Confirm reservations before travelling.”
 of 5 bubbles Akbama, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room face backyard, if you want better sleep, noisy streets”
 of 5 bubbles bjornjohannb, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Read the reviews, I did not on this one and was sorry!”
 of 5 bubbles kaerae1989, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We liked facing south and seeing the reflection of our building in a glass tower behind us. Don't choose a room facing the inner courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles MindVisions, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room away from Elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles Geri168, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay