We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chicago Getaway Hostel

Booking.comUSD 128*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 133*
USD 128*
USD 133*
USD 128*
USD 133*
USD 128*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Chicago Getaway Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chicago Getaway Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,419: English reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Everything was cool, the cookies were to die for, I ate mine and my spouses. Everyone was friendly and overall it was just a great getaway. I'll definitely consider booking in the future. I just stayed inside and relaxed so I didn't enjoy any hotel activities but we were left alone to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaleea D
Management response:

Thank you for the fantastic review, Kaleea! We're delighted your experience with us was so wonderful! We endeavor to make all of our guests feel welcome and relaxed during their time with us. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you! Have a lovely...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Clean n neat! However, I paid for a bed in a room of four beds and they gave me my bed in a room of eigth beds. I did not complained or said anything though.... it was a good experience and made a good friend who was Chinese and met 2 French guys who I talked to and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianeska2017
Management response:

Thank you for the excellent rating! We're delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience with us! We appreciate your compliments regarding our hard working team. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another stellar experience! Thank you for sharing your review. Have a lovely day!

Reviewed 19 March 2017

SUPER AFFORDABLE, cozy, very easy access to train and bus, safe neighborhood, dorm is quite clean, free standard breakfast. It's a real good deal, price-wise and location wise. My first assigned bed wasn't fresh so I requested to move and they accommodated that. Towels (I tried 3 times) all had some stain. Some staffs unfortunately can be quite snappy so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivacella
Management response:

Thank you for the excellent rating! We're delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience with us and loved our location! We appreciate your compliments regarding our hard working team. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another stellar experience! Thank you for sharing your review. Have a lovely day!

Laurel, Maryland
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I needed a room for the night and the "Chicago Getaway Hostel" came to my rescue. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was extremely gracious and professional. You can also get free pancakes, milk, and coffee in the morning. You cannot go wrong if you need a great place to stay on budget. Great place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherstevens1
Management response:

Thanks for the perfect review, Christopher! We're delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us! It's wonderful that you enjoyed your room and that everything was comfortable for you. We're also very pleased that our team provided you with gracious and professional service! We can't wait to see you again soon for another fantastic experience! Thanks for...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I stayed here about 8 years ago and recently returned for a short 3-night stay. This place has been around for awhile, but it still feels fresh and modern. It was busy. There was a nice mix of ages and nationalities represented in the people I saw coming and going. I really love the location near the corner of Fullerton...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rlenglebright
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for the 4-star rating and review! We're thrilled you had such a pleasant time with us! We strive to offer top-notch service and convenience for our guests. It's great you appreciated our decor and ambiance. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job! It's fantastic you enjoyed and appreciated our prime...

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Lovely Hostal, actually it looks like an old school or warehouse converted into a Hostal.There is a lovely kitchen and dining area, a large patio out back and ample parking behind it (seemed free).Lots of international tourists . Good Wifi. Flatscreen TV in the Lounge adjacent.There are large industrial fridges where you can store your food and cook it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre E
Management response:

Thanks for the 4/5 review, Andre! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us! We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort, so your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We'd love to see you again soon to share an even more positive experience with you. Have an amazing day!

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Got a private room at this hostel, as much cheaper than downtown places. Basic, but had everything we needed. Breakfast was ok. Short walk to Fullerton to get subway to downtown. Also short walk to Lincoln Park and nearby restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yeantr
Management response:

Thanks for the 4/5 review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us! We strive to offer our guests quality service an comfort, so your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We'd love to see you again soon to share an even more positive experience with you. Have an amazing day!

Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Nice place, clean rooms, awesome location, good breakfast. The only downside was that kitchen staff is a bit rude. The reception people are very courteous. Bedsheets and towels are clean and hygienic.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anirudhj2017
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for the 4/5 rating! We're thrilled you had such a pleasant experience with us! We strive to offer top-notch service and convenience for our guests. We're happy you enjoyed our prime location and comfortable rooms. That's what we like to see! We look forward to seeing you again soon for an even better experience! Have a...

Cherepovets, Russia
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Very good location (very quiet and calm area), the room was very clean and quite spacious, breacfast was perfect and tasty. The internet was good. I will recommend it to my friends. Thank you for your work.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariamM7111UQ
Management response:

Thank you for the wonderful review, Mariam! It's outstanding you had such a pleasant experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and prime location. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Have a fantastic day!

Hueytown, Alabama
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Really enjoyed staying here. The staff was very helpful in our decisions on what to do in the city. There is always so much going on, they really helped in us making the most of our time there. Look forward to staying here on my next trip back to Chicago.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank teder1914
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for the delightful review! We're thrilled you had such an excellent experience with us! It's outstanding our team took such great care of you and made you feel so welcome. We endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. Your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We look...

490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Four Person Private Room (9)
Viewed
Four Person Private Room with Private Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Private Room with Full Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Private Room with Half Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Eight Female Dormitory (22)
Viewed
Standard Female Dormitory with 10-12 Beds (12)
Viewed
Standard Four Person Private Room (15)
Viewed
Standard Male Dormitory (11)
Viewed
Standard Private Room with Full Bed (11)
Viewed
Standard Two Person Private Room (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Days Inn Chicago
#88 of 188 in Chicago
2,621 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#72 of 188 in Chicago
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#54 of 188 in Chicago
743 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 57 in Chicago
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Lincoln Park

Neighbourhood Profile
Lincoln Park
Head to the North Side of Chicago for a stroll through one of the city’s greenest neighborhoods. Lincoln Park boasts over 1200 acres of green space complete with a free zoo open to visitors year-round. This pedestrian-friendly neighborhood is lined with parks, row homes, boutiques, taverns, and nature. Lincoln Park itself borders the lakefront area offering peaceful views of the water and the Chicago skyline. The Lincoln Park Conservatory is one of the most popular attractions in the area, with the Chicago History Museum a close second. Armitage Avenue is where you’ll find great shopping from high-end retailers and small boutiques, whereas Clark Street houses cafes and restaurants. For more highbrow entertainment, walk along Lincoln Avenue to find some of Chicago’s finer museums and theaters.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Affordable Style in Chicago's Chic Lincoln Park Located in Chicago's affluent Lincoln Park, the Chicago Getaway Hostel is rewriting the house rules on hostel style. Policies once etched in stone are being cast aside in favor of fresher, friendlier approach. Membership fees are out and hotel-like amenities are in at this stately 1928 Georgian Revival landmark that, ironically, returns to its early 20th century roots as a boardinghouse for women. Today, all guests are welcome to enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free linens, free housekeeping, a 24/7 chef-caliber kitchen and a BYOB policy. Add nightly events like pub crawls, brewery tours and barbecues and it's easy to see why Chicago Getaway is fast becoming the city's favorite spot for affordable short-term and extended-stay accommodations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chicago Getaway Hostel

Address: 616 W Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614-2682
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Price Range: $44 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chicago Getaway Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Chicago Getaway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Getaway Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chicago Getaway Hostel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Chicago Getaway Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I found that rooms facing the street, rather than the courtyard, are preferable at night as they are darker (less outside light)”
Canadiancitylover, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't book through a third party website or else you'll get robbed.”
79chelseal, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a mixed dorm room, For about $20 a night, this may be one of the best bargain beds in Chicago!”
CFEIII, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cost effective”
christopherstevens1, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stop being a control freak...lol”
237andree, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 128* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 128
TravelocityUSD 128
HotelsClickUSD 133
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates