We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chicago Getaway Hostel

Save
Traveller (295)
Room & Suite (235)
Dining (39)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lincoln park”(174 reviews)
“shared bathroom”(32 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
1 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Chicago Getaway Hostel
Hotel deals
Offers from Chicago Getaway Hostel
Hotel deals
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,796)
There are newer reviews for Chicago Getaway Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
851
455
112
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
851
455
112
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln parkfullerton stationshared bathroombunk bedshalf bathdorm roombeautiful neighborhoodclark stsafe neighborhoodfree breakfastcommon areastrain stationmin walka great place to stayenjoyed my staythe loopfew blocks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We enjoyed our stay at this hostel over the weekend. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy, no large issues. Our beds were comfortable enough and we had plenty of space. Heater works great if you're cold. There was a problem with the hairdryer...More

Thank Kylie A
Response from Alex K, General Manager at Chicago Getaway HostelResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for the great rating, Kylie! We are always working very hard to provide high-quality experiences for all of our guests. We appreciate that you enjoyed our clean rooms and comfortable beds, but we are disappointed to hear that we could have done more...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Shared bathrooms - clean, rooms were okay, staff was great. Breakfast could do better, it was just cereals with milk or oatmeal, I did really miss tea. After check in you get coupons for discount on some attractions in the city.More

Thank Rosie P
Response from Alex K, General Manager at Chicago Getaway HostelResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for the 4/5 rating, Rosie! We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated our clean rooms and friendly service. It's unfortunate you had such challenges with our breakfast options. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We strive...More

Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

- It’s in a wonderful neighborhood! - Staff is friendly. - It’s very clean. - Access to a big industrial kitchen. - The rooms are clean and they easily heat up during the cold winter We would definitely recommend this place!More

Thank Thomas R
Response from Alex K, General Manager at Chicago Getaway HostelResponded 1 March 2018

Thanks for the great review, Thomas! It's wonderful you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We strive for excellence so we're thrilled you appreciated not only our friendly service and clean rooms, but also our convenient location! Your praise lets us know we're doing...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Found this place using various hotel searching sites and so glad I did. What a hidden Gem! Only a short 10 minute walk from the 'L' or metro station (Fullerton). Super friendly welcome by the always staffed reception team and things just continued to get...More

Thank Dave B
Response from Alex K, General Manager at Chicago Getaway HostelResponded 28 February 2018

Thanks for the great review, BigDog9999! It's wonderful you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We strive for excellence so we're thrilled you appreciated not only our central location and attentive staff, but also our clean and comfortable accommodations! Your praise lets us know...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018

I have stayed at numerous hostels in Chicago but Getaway is by far my favorite. It is located in the very safe and desirable Lincoln Park section of Chicago. The staff are excellent, and the rooms and linens are always very clean as are the...More

1  Thank khope57
Response from Alex K, General Manager at Chicago Getaway HostelResponded 28 February 2018

Thanks for the excellent review! We're delighted your time with us was so outstanding as providing our guests with an excellent experience is very important to us. It's fantastic you appreciated our convenient location and friendly service as well as our clean rooms. That's what...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenPartner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
USD 30 - USD 184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 30 - USD 184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (295)
Room & Suite (235)
Dining (39)
Amenities (15)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Lincoln Park
Head to the North Side of Chicago for a stroll through
one of the city’s greenest neighborhoods. Lincoln Park
boasts over 1200 acres of green space complete with a
free zoo open to visitors year-round. This
pedestrian-friendly neighborhood is lined with parks,
row homes, boutiques, taverns, and nature. Lincoln
Park itself borders the lakefront area offering
peaceful views of the water and the Chicago skyline.
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jamie16720
28 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Erika M | Reviewed this property |
No! But there is a quiet hour and hours posted of when you are no longer supposed to use the Outdoor areas.
0
Votes
sarahjdavisdds
11 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Phillip S | Reviewed this property |
I do not believe they accept pets. Best solution is to call front desk and ask.
0
Votes
reanna8412
27 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Andre E | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I think so. There is even a Free Parking Out Back for Guests.The Place is Big and has the vibe of a University Campus with kids from the seven seas..lol. The Lounge-Cafeteria area is clean and smoke-free. The People you... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"For best choice book at least 3-4 weeks in advance"
Read review
"book on hostelworld"
Read review
"Great Ambiance, Clean Rooms, Pleasing Service."
Read review
"Rooms in floor L are quite large and quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing