We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ohio House Motel

Booking.comUSD 398*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Ohio House Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 496: English reviews
Start your review of Ohio House Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel rooms were scarce so I stayed at this near north "motel." This is not a fancy place, nor does it pretend to be. But it was convenient, clean, friendly, functional and quieter than I expected. And they are in the process of upgrading this summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share a bit about your experience here at The Ohio House Motel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chicago, and that your guest room was a comfortable place for you to relax and refresh. I hope that we will be able to welcome you...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This motel is situated in a great location near bus/train routes. The water tower, navy pier, the bean are all a sort bus ride to all tourist attractions. The rooms were clean and the free breakfast has excellent. The only complaint that I have is that the rooms do not have thermostats but with a phone call to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnthelost
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of The Ohio House Motel. It sounds like you really enjoyed our neighborhood and took advantage of all that it had to offer! You really can walk to everything from here. I hope that you enjoyed your time here in Chicago, and that we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hi we turned up to the hotel, checked in, they gave us a room key, so we went to the room and there were people in it. So we went back to reception and they issued another key - yet again a family already in the room. So, we refused to stay. Did not feel safe and certainly didn't feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slapwap
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It's unacceptable that you felt that our staff was uninterested in improving the quality of your experience. I can assure you that you feedback has been received and passed along to the right departments. Thank you again for your feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in Ohio House. Comfy and clean rooms. Great location with free parking and wi-fi are always +++. Motel staff was also very helpful and happy. We recommend this place for everyone. Thank you :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ossi N
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Bolingbrook, Illinois
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Should be the only time you sleep in one of these rooms. UBER a mile or so out of downtown and stay elsewhere if thats your only option. Holy poor conditions....What a pile of garbage. Sleep on sidewalk before you sleep inside. Dirty, run down, and a slap in the face to Chicago's downtown. I do not know what photoshop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Great location in the city centre, close to lots of restaurants and easily accessible to attractions and train stations. Quite noisy due to its location, decor is dated and could do with a refresh but great value for somewhere to dump your suitcases and go exploring!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

This place reeks of cigarette smoke. Reeks of marijuana. You have no control over the air. We asked them to turn off the heat and rudly turned it up to 84. This is not worth free parking. They did let us out of our reservation luckily but this is an expensive motel that should be no more than 50 a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eater56
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here when we were visiting family. We didn't want to spend up to $60 on valet parking on top of a very expensive hotel. Keep in mind that you will be charged a state tax and a city tax as well (approximately $20 extra for each night). This fit the budget and free parking on site was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Far from luxury but great location and Free Parking. Basic room but clean enough. Dated decor and needs refurb but Perfect for a day in Chicago. Most hotels charging $40-$60 valet parking! Front desk very helpful with lock maps and guidance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel C
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us.

Decatur, Illinois
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We needed a room for a one night business trip with parking, since parking in Chicago is OMG expensive! I chose this little motel for it's proximity to the downtown loop area, free parking and an inexpensive rate. This is a tiny, old, motel with few rooms, but kept up very nice and family owned, they obviously take pride in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyBrownlee
Edgar B, General Manager at Ohio House Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of The Ohio House Motel! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that it will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Please come back and see us again sometime!

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (98)
Viewed
Queen - Double Mini Suite (29)
Viewed
Queen Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Double Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#110 of 188 in Chicago
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Hotel Felix
#117 of 188 in Chicago
1,576 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ohio House Motel offers 2 star accommodations in the heart of downtown Chicago. We are walking distance from Chicago's finest attractions and are located in Chicago's River North neighborhood with free parking, Wi-Fi, HDTV, and free breakfast when you book us direct! The Ohio House Motel offers the best value lodging in downtown Chicago! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ohio House Motel

Address: 600 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $176 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohio House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ohio House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio House Hotel Chicago
Ohio Motel Chicago
Ohio Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ohio House Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
SASKATOON
9 months ago
over a year ago
United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ohio House Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the back side away from Ohio street.”
A5166VIroberts, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from block F, the front door won't close.”
BipBip2011, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get there early to ensure parking! Parking is on a first com first serve basis!!”
kristens543, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Would not recommend bad service from general manager edgar .”
yvetten819, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Better views from the balcony but it is only a 2 story complex.”
kellyrJ7705ZB, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 398* /night
View Deal
CancelonUSD 444
Orbitz.comUSD 398
Expedia.comUSD 398
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates