We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Whitehall Hotel

Show Prices
#67 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Whitehall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,288: English reviews
Start your review of The Whitehall Hotel
 Click to rate
Springboro, Ohio
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My sister and I visited Chicago for a weekend of girl fun, shopping & seeing Aladdin at the theater. This is our 3rd stay at The Whitehall -- it's very comfortable & a safe place to call our "base" while we are in Chicago--near shopping, restaurants, beautiful buildings etc. This trip was no exception. We feel safe & content at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dekemper
Warrensburg, Missouri
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet. The location is terrific, just down from the John Hancock tower. Not much of a view, but a good place to stay. Easy access to CTA transportation and some great sights.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaronsP1855UP
Chicago
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Son and I came downtown for the night (we live in the city). He loved the room service and the comfy bed.We even passed the small football we brought as a long tradition whenever we stay in a hotel. He loved it and being able to witness that big grin on my 12 year old made my day. Thanks Whitehall....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colnago2017
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you will be back, and we look forward to welcoming you and your son.

Escondido, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful trip to Chicago! Our hotel was close to Michigan Avenue and lots of restaurants. We were within walking distance to the red line. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean and quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear about your wonderful trip while staying at our property. We do hope to see you again in the future. Thank you!

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed at The Whitehall Hotel on several occasions, and this was by far the least satisfactory. I'm honestly not sure if I will return. Here are some of the difficulties I experienced: I emailed a question prior to arrival, and I never received a response. My room was not cleaned after the first night. When I called the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your lack of service stay. As you know from past experiences that is not our standard. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the issues you had during your stay and please trust that these issues will be addressed so they do not occur in the future. We do hope you do choose to...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Dingy room, broken furniture, broken power points, dirty bathroom.Its not the best place to stay if you are visiting Chicago. A whole lot of stuff was broken and the room I stayed didn't have enough lightings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank senp499
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback and these issues are going to be discussed internally to ensure these issues are resolved. Thank you again for your review.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for 9 nights and found it good value for money, with attentive and polite staff. The room was really spacious and compared with rooms of a smilar price in London, it felt like a home from home. Decor wise, sure this is not a Hilton. It is fairly quaint and is probably due a lick.of paint. But,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MancTeacher
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear about your long stay with us, over the Easter break. Tracee is a wonderful asset to our team and we are very lucky to have her, making guests feel welcome and offering that personal touch to the hotel experience. We do hope you are able to stay with us again in the future and...

Savage, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was heading to Chicago for my daughter's birthday (My daughter, her friend, and myself all drove from MPLS). We were only going to stay for 1 night. We chose the Whitehall Hotel because it was close to the lake and reasonably priced. Tracee checked us in and did a fantastic job. She upgraded our stay for free - just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameswartnick
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy you were able to stay with us during your daughter's birthday! Tracee greatly appreciates your kind comments regarding her service. We are very lucky to have her on our team, taking such great care of our guests, especially during special occasions. We are glad we were able to offer you so many bonuses to your trip...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was absolutely perfect ! The service, the staff, the restaurants, the location Couldn't have been better. The location is perfect if you want to just walk which we do. Just a wonderful boutique hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank polly_wagner
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your rave review. We are very happy to hear that nothing could have been better. We look forward to your future return! Thank you

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location right off the Magnificent Mile is fantastic, but the hotel is in desperate need of infrastructure improvements. The windows in the rooms are single pane so you hear all the street noise. Wallpaper is curling off the walls, paint is chipping off the doors and frames, the furniture is rickety, and the lighting in the room is poor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JRF-WS
Andrew H, Front Office Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear that you had a poor experience in regards to our accommodations. We do deeply apologize for the room conditions that you had to see while staying with us. Please trust that these issues are going to be handled directly with each department, to ensure this issue doesn't occur again to you or any other...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#99 of 187 in Chicago
2,082 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 187 in Chicago
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#51 of 187 in Chicago
3,348 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gold Coast

Neighbourhood Profile
Gold Coast
Located just north of The Loop, Gold Coast is one of Chicago’s most affluent and popular neighborhoods. The original Playboy, Hugh Hefner, once had a mansion here. In addition to prestigious hotels, historic mansions and luxury high-rise apartments, you’ll also find upscale specialty boutiques and Michelin-starred restaurants. Walk along Oak Street for your shopping fix and dance through the night along Rush Street. The Newberry Library is also a great stop to check out noteworthy exhibits and rare book collections.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Whitehall Hotel, Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, is a luxury property with impeccable service situated in the heart of the Gold Coast, steps from the Magnificent Mile, iconic attractions and designer shopping. You will feel the modern warmth, relaxed grace and welcoming ambiance of The Whitehall. Our guests experience unparalleled personal service from the moment they are welcomed, during their stay, and remembered upon a return trip. Designed for both the leisure and corporate traveler, our luxuriously appointed rooms and suites reflect the classic character and sophisticated charm of The Whitehall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Whitehall Hotel

Address: 105 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1403
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Price Range: $158 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whitehall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Chicago
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#60 Family Hotel in Chicago
#81 Business Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Whitehall Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Dacula, Georgia
Ireland

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Whitehall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A nice quiet boutique hotel near shopping!”
mariemllry, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I didn't bring any shampoo or conditioner so I had to use what was there but there wasn't any conditioner and I need that every day so that was my only issue:) ”
johnu106, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I like to be at the top.”
322helenb, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nice beds and clean”
moniquel144, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a suite!”
BethP811, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5