We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Show Prices
#44 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,128: English reviews
Honolulu
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I just stayed for a week. It was a family trip so I reserved a suite with a separate bedroom with a king bed four months ago as a HHonor member. The fridge was a small one like a regular room and the kitchen shelf was broken with pieces coming out. The room was a corner unit next to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripwakid
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello tripwakid, I really appreciate you leaving your feedback with us on Tripadvisor and also for taking the time so share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that you incurred a few complications during your time with us. Regarding your room location, I would like to apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with the suite. We never guarantee high...

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family and I had a quick 2 day get away to Chicago. We chose the Hampton Inn and Suites as this is our "go to" hotel. Close to the CTA Red Line, a quick walk to Michigan Avenue, and enough breakfast to feed our teenagers! We prefer the corner suites for the size, in the in suite kitchen.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smhenkel
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Hey smhenkel, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I'm happy to hear your family enjoyed your time with us. It looks like you stayed in one of my favorite room types, the corner suite. They are larger than most apartments in the city, and really feel nothing like a hotel room with the spacious living room...

Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a very nice six-person suite, at a reasonable price, which is very hard to find in Chicago. That's the good news. The bad news is that you are right next to a fire station, and the hotel itself warns you about the street noise. It wasn't as bad as I expected, other than the fire trucks and an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank danielbeez
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Daniel, I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing your feedback with us. As much of an excuse as it might sound like, it seems as if you may have caught the front desk at a very busy time on the weekend. Our front desk staff is one of the best in the...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic, and for the dates I was staying was definitely the best value in the area. The staff was very friendly, and honored what I requested when I made the reservation without me having to remind them. Yes, as other reviews state the hotel is right across from a fire station, as are a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wahoowahuvahoo
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Needstogetaway, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I really appreciate you pointing out and commenting on our green features option with the towels we use. It is one of the many things we've done to reduce energy costs and do our bit to be green. Im happy to hear that we were able to accommodate...

Minnepolis, United States
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for our daughter's sports tournament. The hotel was nice, clean, staff were friendly. Great location. Good complementary breakfast. Lots of good restaurants and shopping nearby. The lobby was nice.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer H
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer, Thank you so much for leaving us a review and for sharing your feedback. I hope your daughter's tournament went well. I'm glad you liked our breakfast and location. They're two of my favorite things about our hotel. Hopefully we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future. Have a great week, Alex...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel had great staff. The hotel was centrally located in the heart of everything. The lobby was very impressive. The room was large and clean. This Property had the very comfortable Hampton bed.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sussan T
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share an online review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience with us and will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. We look forward to your next visit with us! Sincerely, Alex Sailor Guest Experience Manager

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was placed at the Hampton by NeoCon and was very pleased with the great location and close proximity to the Merchandise Mart. The bedding was very comfortable, and staff was very accommodating. Joe's Fish restaurant in the lobby was very good and recommend it for dinner. Also, Rockits around the corner was a fabulous lunch place. Staff referred me...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ratlas
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us over the NEOCON convention. I know that it was a very busy time for all attending, and glad to hear that you found some time to explore our area and find a few of our wonderful restaurants. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to our Joe Fish Restaurant General Manager....

Kentucky
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I went on a mini vacation with my boyfriend and I have to say I was impressed. I wasn't expecting the quality of service I got. I will definitely stay again!! And I would also recommend this location to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ladybuglovers
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your leisure trip to our hotel! We look forward to your next visit and ask that you contact us in advance if there is anything special we can do for you in advance of arrival. Sincerely, Alex Sailor Guest Experience Manager

Granville, Michigan
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed over a Friday night for Spring Break. The reviews I read here were pretty consistent - - nice hotel with a busy, noisy fire department across the street. For the price, I was willing to take a chance on 1) the fire department not being busy, or 2) on the other side of the hotel, or 3) maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GangOfSeven
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear GangofSeven, We thank you for your business, as well as taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. We certainly apologize for the noise inconvenience experienced. If you can think of anything we could have done better, please do let me know. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast offering! Sincerely, Alex Sailor Guest Experience Manager 312-832-0330

Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown for 1 night in April. Nice hotel in a great location. We booked a 1 bedroom King Suite for 2 adults and 3 children (requesting in the comments section there be sufficient bedding for all with the children's ages 10, 13 &15). Unfortunately when we arrived we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kjb3stop
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback pertaining to your recent experience with us! I am sorry to learn of the booking issue experienced relating to the $10 rollaway bed fee. I will be sharing your response with the Hilton Reservation Center and ask that they consider your request of removing the King Suite option when booking a...

696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (351)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Corner Double Suite (60)
Viewed
King Suite (36)
Viewed
King Suite with Wet Bar (48)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard King (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: $140 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on 9th floor, nice big window that faced the back of the Trump building. No problem with noise at all. Beds very comfy!”
 of 5 bubbles sdpeoples81, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a King mini suite facing the alley”
 of 5 bubbles catsforkids, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 11th floor, which was pretty quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles 304heathers, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with view of ILLINOIS STREET”
 of 5 bubbles 784roya, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some guests have complained that the fire station next door can be a disturbance, but we didn't find that a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles ottos649, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5