We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mermaid\\
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2016

This was our second time to Dominica. We had initially thought we were going to camp. This of course we soon realized was a big mistake. Lucky enough Tim had a cabin available and we jumped on it . So for a couple of nights we got to enjoy hearing the rain on our roof instead of our tent and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shelley w
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review Shelly. Glad you enjoyed your stay which was certainly enhanced by choosing a cabin over your tent ;-) Safe to say it hasn't been the driest dry season! Hopefully see you on your third visit Best wishes from us all Tim

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I took another trip to Dominica in November of 2015. It was not long after the hurricane and things were getting back to normal for some but far from it for others. Well lets just say Mermaids Secret was one of those places. They have two bridges that one must cross by vehicle or foot to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith H
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Keith and Tina, thanks again for reviewing your stay with us. We are now back in full swing since Erika as our road and internet were restored just before Christmas. We certainly appreciate your enthusiasm for our little corner of paradise and knew it was no point trying to warn you off from coming as I remember you saying...

Reviewed 3 February 2016

I have to admit, we had some concerns booking the Carnival Cabin at Mermaid Secret. The internet was intermittent since Erika, so the responses from the owners were slower than what is typical; have no fear...this is absolutely beyond their control and they do try their best to respond as quickly as possible. In addition, my husband's primary concerns were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris-n-LizZ
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Chris-n-Liz Thanks for you lovely review, we are just pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much....even without TV ;-) Erika has been a challenge for us as it has for many people. Thankfully we are leaving the effects behind, moving forward and getting back to normal here. Welcoming good fun guests like yourselves is what we enjoy, as...

New Mexico
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We returned to Dominica in December, a little apprehensive about what we would find after seeing all the horrible pictures of the damage storm Erica had done to so many parts of the island, including Tim and Sam's access road. We are happy to report that the road is fixed, that the island is as beautiful as ever, and that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrin S
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Katrin Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay with us. We very much appreciate your support and although due to internet problems we nearly missed your visit it was great welcoming you back again. The question remains when will you return next as you have done pre christmas, christmas and now new years eve! All...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

I really cannot recommend this place enough! I couldn't of imagined a better holiday than when I stayed with Sam and Tim for two weeks last April. The surroundings around the site were so incredible. The entire site had this amazing atmosphere that did the island justice, making us feel comfortable and welcome as soon as we arrived. Mermaids secret...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank evestarkey11
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Eve for this very nice review. Im glad you now feel inspired to travel as that can lead to many adventures, like it did for us. Im guessing as part of my entertainer role I didnt play my ukulele or maybe your review would have been less complementary;-)

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

amazing island with so much to do and beautiful sights, with brilliant hosts and fantastic area where you stay.everyday was new with different experiences that everyone should be enjoying. I will remember it for the rest of my life!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jon s
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Jon for the review. If your memory starts to fade then please come back for a refresher :-) Glad you enjoyed this wonderfull island

Sundridge, Canada
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We sent a spectacular week with Tim and Sam in January 2016. This is only our second trip outside of our country in 32 years married. I had done extensive research to make sure of our destination and based a significant part of our choice for staying here on previous reviews. Not sure that I can add a lot to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William H
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Bill for writing this very kind review. It really was our pleasure having you guys here with us and thanks for all that lovely maple syrup, fresh from your trees. We would certainly like to accept your invitation to visit Ontario and help out on the farm, especially the snow mobile pilot job:-) best wishes Tim

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Mermaid's Secret looks like the small village in the Tim Burton's movie "Big Fish" : a warm and colorful place where we feel good! Tim and Sam greets guests as friends. Breakfast and meals are delicious. I definitely recommend this place for short or long stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank astrid882016
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Astrid for your review. I'll have to try and watch the movie Big Fish now as Im curious as to how our place compares. It must be favourable though thankfully as you enjoyed your stay here with us. Best wishes Tim

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015

this place is as it says on the website. friendly people, comfortable and very clean wooden lodges and lush surroundings. You'll need a car ideally or use the local bus service. Its a rain forest adventure that is stunningly beautiful. Plenty of rum in their outside bar and a meal cooked for you each evening if you want it. Tim...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jillian h
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. After tropical storm Erika its great to be welcoming guests again and we always appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

This is a late review, but visited Mermaids Secret with family as a get away not realising how beautiful this place really was. MY MIND WAS BLOWN! Sam & Tim went above and beyond every day to make our stay perfect. We stayed for 2 weeks and would say I'd return tomorrow. We were taken on trips around the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LWey22
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Leah, no matter if its late it is still very much appreciated. We have found many guests get inspired to post a review months after their stay due to going through the photos and remembering the good times. Hopefully you all will get chance to return one day and continue exploring the rest of this wonderful...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
0.0 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.0 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
435 reviews
0.0 km away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
304 reviews
0.0 km away
Rosalie Forest Eco Lodge
0.0 km away
Rosalie Bay Resort
Rosalie Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Rosalie
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Price Range: $20 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabins and yurts are all great. If you're looking for a unique experience try one of the yurts.”
 of 5 bubbles letab2015, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“For people who like to get off the beaten path”
 of 5 bubbles shelleyw299, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The sun yurt is economical and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Peeler441, 11 May 2015 | Read review
“We love the yurts as they are true definition of 'glamping' and the closest to the river for a swim...next year we will count the number of steps to the river's edge. Have stayed in the self contained cabins also and have highly recommended them to friends.”
  • Our yurt bedroom on RHS and on LHS bathroom and fully stocked kitchen with our own deck.
 of 5 bubbles 30janea, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Not many rooms. Yurts were fine for us but with a 5 yard walk to private facilities. Didnt worry us but if it does you then cottages maybe better. Bring ear plugs if nature's sounds keep you awake”
 of 5 bubbles peteranthony, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5