We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Thala Beach Nature Reserve

5078 Captain Cook Hwy, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1593)
Pool & Beach (311)
Room & Suite (293)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 resort in Oak Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Game room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1836Reviews37Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,294
  • 377
  • 100
  • 50
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
drrad666 wrote a review Jan 2024
23 contributions19 helpful votes
Can’t say enough about how lovely this place was to stay. The staff was excellent and clearly dedicated to service for their guests. We stayed in one of their canopy bungalows which was just lovely with many amenties, a comfortable bed and nicely appointed with a balcony overlooking the forest. The resort is pretty hilly, but the staff is happy to take you where you need to go in their electric golf carts. We enjoyed the very cool, multi-tiered rock pool as well as a walk down to the beautiful beach. Due to road flooding, we were “forced” to stay an extra night until the main road reopened…hardly a hardship! The staff were so accommodating it made the change in our itinerary easy to bear. We also ate at the Osprey restaurant for breakfast and a few times for dinner…stunning views and good food, too. It’s a little off the beaten path about 20 min south of Port Douglas, but highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you for putting a smile on our faces, it makes us so happy to read this! It was lovely having you and we hope you had a good time in Cairns as well. Maybe we can welcome you here again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
amb1989 wrote a review Jan 2024
Orpington, United Kingdom36 contributions2 helpful votes
We requested early check in and room upgrade which they kindly agreed as they weren’t at capacity due to recent cyclone and flooding events. Reception service was friendly. Upgraded room had a fantastic view of the ocean and trees. Room was large but a little dated and lacking in basic maintenance (e.g. blocked shower head, leaking shower unit and signal issues with television). The site is large but mostly walkable unless it’s nighttime and pouring down with rain for which I’d recommend using their golf buggy service (a few of the lights supposed to keep the pathways lit were broken)! The buggy drivers were also very friendly. They have their own private beach however there had been substantial damage from the cyclone which they hadn’t managed to clear before they arrived. Spa treatments were available during our stay and we both had a massage which was excellent and a real highlight. Our main criticism was the on site restaurant, Osprey. Lunch menu was incredibly limited and was just the entrees from their dinner menu. Luckily we were only staying for two nights, any longer and this would be very tedious! Dinner menu wasn’t much better and food quality was not up to standards expected for the prices charged. Service was very relaxed (if anything, too relaxed!) and waiting staff were dressed like they were about to take us on safari (cheap red polo shirts and work boots!). Again, not what we were expecting given prices charged. The breakfast offering was probably the worst I’ve ever experienced and laughable. Hot food selection was limited to scrambled egg, bacon and sausage and that was it. Cold food selection was basic at best. You’d get a better breakfast at any of the budget hotels in the UK (eg Premier Inn). If staying here we’d recommend you do away with Osprey and drive into Port Douglas and make the most of the fantastic restaurants on offer there. Overall a bit of a disappointing stay as we had high hopes / expectations given the positive reviews we had read when booking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid Osprey restaurant Make sure have hire car - their taxi service into Port Douglas isn’t cheap!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you for leaving us a review. We're disappointed to hear you found your stay underwhelming. We have definitely had our challenges lately however this shouldn't comprise your experience with us. We take your feedback seriously and appreciate your honesty. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Australia.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Heike k wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The most beautiful place on earth. The 4 tier cascading pool feels like a natural water source. The resort compliments the spectacular natural environment, it feels so much like living in nature/ in paradise,whilst simultaneously being spoilt by all the comforts and services of a plush resort with good food and good service . The staff are lovely. The views are heavenly, the location second to none. Thank you Thala for this unique experience. Best place I’ve ever stayed at and I doubt I would ever find anything better👍♥️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 23 Jan 2024
That is so lovely to hear! Thank you for your glowing review and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Everett P wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions
The amenities were dated, the restaurant was subpar and for the money and the owners kicked out the live in staff after the cyclone. For a business like this to treat their staff so poorly is shameful. Honestly embarrassing.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Seton Prettejohn, Owner at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 4 Jan 2024
It’s very sad to read your expectations weren’t met or brought to our attention during your stay. Your main grievance strangely seems to be related to events when you were not a guest with us. Our staff and guests were temporarily evacuated as we were forced to close for a short period due to the property’s access roads being dangerously damaged following cyclone Jasper in late December. The safety of our guests and staff are our most important consideration that we take very seriously. Sadly temporarily closing and evacuating the property was the only option in the circumstance we were left in. The decision to prioritise the safety of our guests and staff above business profits is a stance we have and will continue to stand by and do not consider worthy of your ‘scummy owners’ insult. The owners are a local family who have been harmoniously operating Thala for over 25 years. Other reviews will attest to the contentedness of our staff. It is extremely unfortunate you are compelled to peddle an unfounded, malicious and poisonous point of view without understanding the sensitivity of the situation, the dangers we were all put in and the required safety decisions that were made to evacuate and protect our guests and staff as a result of the traumatising 1 in 100 year weather event the area and residents have recently experienced and are recovering from.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
akamau: Happy Wanderer wrote a review Dec 2023
Cairns Region, Australia3 contributions
Service with a view at Thala Lodge is amazing. I had a great relaxing moment with a tasty mocktail on one hand and mesmerising view on the other. At Thala Lodge, the combination of exceptional service and breathtaking views creates an unforgettable experience for guests. Whether you're seeking relaxation or adventure, this stunning lodge offers it all. Unwinding with friends in this tranquil oasis, sipping on a delicious mocktail while gazing out at the awe-inspiring scenery. The attentive staff at Thala Lodge go above and beyond to ensure your every need is met, allowing you to fully indulge in the serenity of the surroundings. Thala Lodge is the perfect destination. Unforgettable moments await, where service and views converge to create an experience that will stay with you long after you leave.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: It is a steep uphill climb so make sure to arrange for golf-like cabbie to drop you off.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 30 Dec 2023
We're delighted to hear you enjoy Thala to the fullest. Thank you so much for your kind words and looking forward to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Renate wrote a review Nov 2023
Galicia, Spain4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice beach hotel with spacious rooms, excellent food, very good spa treatments and direct access to beach with clear ocean, good for swimming. We liked pools and beautiful suroundings. Especial thanks to the hotel manager Waruna who took a very good care about us, was very friendly, attentive and helpful. Would love to rerurn to this Beach Paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words Renate!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JT14 wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom5351 contributions451 helpful votes
Bit expensive, but rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. Restaurant food was good (but again a bit expensive). The main draw here is to be in such a natural coastal setting. The beach is absolutely stunning - like a castaway cliche. Free star watching on a Saturday evening was a pleasure also. Staff extremely friendly and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Thank you so much for leaving us a review. Rose definitely knows her stars, glad to hear you enjoyed stargazing with her. As we are on a 145 acres of private headland we're lucky to have such a beautiful setting on offer :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Philip_and_Anne wrote a review Oct 2023
13 contributions3 helpful votes
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a beautiful forest and beach location with a secluded feel but still not too far from Port Douglas. They have excellent helpful and friendly staff. The one restaurant is Osprey with breakfast lunch and dinner. Breakfasts are particularly delicious. Colorful lorikeets and cockatoos entertained us from the trees by the restaurant. The resort offers fun and interesting nature walks and other activities. We really enjoyed our bird and butterfly walk with Dave, their knowledgeable nature guide. There is beautiful art of local scenery, history, and wildlife from notable local artists. Sometimes agile wallabies can be seen from the car park area. The 2 pools are beautiful and refreshing. Bookings to Great Barrier Reef and Rain Forests included pickups from the resort, so a car was not necessary. There are shuttles to Port Douglas if needed. The bed was very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 17 Nov 2023
It makes us so happy to read you got to fully enjoy and explore what we offer here at Thala Beach. We're lucky to have Dave and the birds never disappoint, they love the view from Ospreys too ;) We look forward to welcome you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzi M wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
So Relaxing and serene...the bed was super comfortable and the food was good! yes it was a little exy BUT sometimes you pay for the convenience and was happy to do so! Staff were so friendly and helpful so thankyou for a lovely time! The rooms were clean and comfortable as well but i must say the pool was just divine! As fit 60 year olds the layout was not a problem but it could be challenging for older people to get around. but saying that you would call for a cart! Hopefully we will be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We're glad to hear you had such a good time with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AuzzieTraveler wrote a review Sept 2023
Wonga Beach, Australia89 contributions81 helpful votes
Beautiful location, stunning views. Lunch was terrible, and service was atrocious. This is the first time i have ever sent food back, and had to order something totally different from the menu. As much as i loved the setting, i am afraid that it will be my last time here. The food was beyond unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid lunch. Perhaps the dinner menu would be better with more choices. Definitely dont eat the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Kooistra-Vink, Guest Services / Front Office at Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Thank you for taking your time leaving us a review. We're sorry to hear about your experience in Ospreys Restaurant. Our bugs are the most popular dish on our current lunch menu. Although there is little we can do about the market price of bugs, it is unfortunate you weren't happy with the dish, hence chef offered you to pick something else from the menu. As for the service we do value your feedback and it would be helpful for us to hear where we can improve. Thanks again for your time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oak Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$370 - AU$463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thala beach hotel port douglas, thala beach resort, thala beach lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Thala Beach Lodge
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandPort DouglasOak Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THALA BEACH NATURE RESERVE: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Oak Beach) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Which popular attractions are close to Thala Beach Nature Reserve?
Nearby attractions include Flames of the Forest (6.9 km), The Bump Track (7.3 km), and Cloud Nine Guitars - Custom Hand Crafted Acoustic Guitars (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thala Beach Nature Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Thala Beach Nature Reserve?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Thala Beach Nature Reserve?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thala Beach Nature Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Thala Beach Nature Reserve have airport transportation?
Yes, Thala Beach Nature Reserve offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Thala Beach Nature Reserve?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Thala Beach Nature Reserve have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Thala Beach Nature Reserve accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.