We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tamarack Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tamarack Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tamarack Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Portland Oregon
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights during our motorcycle trip. Although our room 210 had a deck facing Bald Mountain with great views, the facility needs lots of work. The stairway to the room is old, mildew all over shower tile, constantly dripping bar sink, glass door sliders that didn't open easily, ripped screen and their lodge sign lit up the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OregonFamof6
HayMaxHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

All of us at the Tamarack Lodge would like to thank you very much for your business and for taking the time to post this review. Our company acquired the lodge in December and we have been making improvements at the property as quickly as possible. We have exciting plans coming up for the lobby and the guest rooms. We...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Good location, comfortable beds (if you like softer mattresses). Front desk staff was friendly, fast and helpful! Place was older, but not too bad. Large room with sofa and coffee table. Sink space was smaller and a challenge for my wife when she was getting ready. We stayed on a Monday night (Labor Day) and the next morning the alley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

At $230/night, I expected at least a decent room. Not so. Was very dark and dingy and felt not clean. The area for the ice machine smelled bad, the bed was not comfortable (too soft for me). It is very conveniently located in downtown Ketchum but we will not be back. I was surprised that it got 4stars on TA...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J W
HayMaxHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

From all of us at the Tamarack Lodge we want to thank you for your support of our hotel and for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodations in an excellent location in Sun Valley and Ketchum. We have some exciting improvements planned for the future and we hope you will...

Niceville, Florida
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The lodge is conveniently located in the middle of town within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Our room was much larger than the typical hotel room and was very comfortable. Laundry facilities were on site. The lodge is showing its age although efforts to keep it in good condition were obvious. There is no included breakfast and no restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twballard
Delaware, Ohio
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This facility has a 14 day cancellation policy. But aside from that I cannot fault the place except for the lumpy pillows. I would expect better for the price of the room. We had a late check in and were accommodated nicely by the front desk clerk who came out of his room to see that we got our key....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 30 August 2016

A full week before our one-night reservation, we had a tragic death in the family. Despite my call to the property to explain the situation, they refused to refund any portion of our $140 reservation. I was shocked and disgusted. We will certainly never give them our business again. Heartless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
HayMaxHotels, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Emly F, We are so very sorry about your loss and we hope your family is doing ok at this time. We always feel very badly when these situations occur however our cancellation policy is based on guests making plans for resort locations well in advance and our need to reserve those rooms and turn other guests away...

Oregon, USA
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Clean and comfortable motel. A bit dated, but the room was large and the bed very comfy. The motel staff were friendly and helpful. The location was within walking distance for dinner and breakfast. Small balcony, large TV and sitting area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OregonJoe
Aspen, Colorado
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

A great little place - in the heart of downtown Ketchum! Seriously, walking distance to everything. Everything. It was quaint, clean and very comfortable. We loved our adjoining rooms that exited to the cute little courtyard. And some nice attention was recently paid to the landscaping. Overall, very pleased with this little hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iheartco25
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The property can't be beat for location and easy access to town. But, it comes with a price. Noise! Part comes from within the hotel walls, which are very thin, and a lot comes from the location. It is an old tired property, shower drain didn't work, chips in the paint, it felt like a throwback to the 70's! Pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen D
Jerome, Idaho
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We stayed in one of the fireplace (pet friendly) rooms. We were only there one night, but enjoyed our stay. Although it is older, there have been some updates and the room and property was very clean. Everything worked well and the room was spacious. It was nice being able to exit the room from the slider and go through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
1.5 km away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
328 reviews
0.4 km away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
0.6 km away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
322 reviews
17.9 km away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Region: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Price Range: $140 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tamarack Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
wa
3 months ago
South Burlington, Vermont

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tamarack Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can walk up and down stairs, best views are on top level.”
wkentf, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the top floor, unless you are a heavy sleeper.”
onthelooselive, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Talk to Tara she is the best!”
Lakerchick00, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor.”
suzbrn, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from alley side rooms to avoid early morning garbage trucks!”
862DavidL862, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5