We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Historic Banning Mills

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Historic Banning Mills
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Historic Banning Mills
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Moyock, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Initially had planned to vacation on the East Coast and then Hurricane Matthew made us cancel those plans. This was the best Plan B vacation we ever took! We stayed in one of the small cabins that overlooked the woods. The view was amazing and I loved hearing the zip liners go by laughing and cheering. The website make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dschassie
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I recently went for the all day rush and it was "cool cool cool guys". ;) Our guides Wade and Nick made us feel comfortable as first timers and were fun to be around. We didnt want to miss doing anything, so we went all out and totally dont regret our decision. Would definitely recommend to someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika T
Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this weekend getaway as my restaurant Manager husband happened to be off for 4 days in a row which is a rare occurrence. We opted out of the zip line courses as we did the Lake Lanier zips a few months ago. We really wanted to test out the new fishing gear at the catch and release Lake....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caligirlAtlanta_GA
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

So glad you guys came out to visit with us. We actually do have some big fish but sometimes they can be elusive. Hope you will come back and try our unique, Guinness world record holder zipline course. Lots of fun!

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Our experience at Banning Mills was average, at best. The cabin we stayed smelled moldy. It didn't affect me as much as my wife and daughter. I should have complained after the first night, but I figured it wasn't worth the effort of moving our family of 5 to another cabin. Also, the other cabins (all empty) didn't look much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 932greg
Donna H, Owner at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

We are very sad that the stay was not what was expected. I would like to make a few points: *The family stayed two nights and three days and checked out after 12 on the third day. They never once complained about the cabin being old or musty smelling. *We did not find out about any complaints until AFTER they...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to take a mini vacation and we have never been zip lining so we decided on banning mills. I was a bit intimidated not so much with the speed or height of zip lining but to make sure I follow directions. We had decided on the 2 level adventure. I will say this the zip...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erika S
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Our family spent the day yesterday exploring the grounds at Banning Mills. We checked in at the lodge and paid $4 for access to the trails which is free if you are an overnight guest. This place is beautiful! We watched zipliners in the treetops from upstairs at the lodge, hiked the trails that followed snake river, crossed the huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Missi C
Macon, United States
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We did the couples getaway package. All the treehouses were booked, but perfectly happy with the romantic creekside overlook jacuzzi room. We reserved the Level 1 zipline tour because we were new to ziplining and wanted to start out easy. It was fun and we will definitely be back for the All Day Rush Tour with Flight of the Falcon....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry G
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We live in the Atlanta area, so this was a relaxing weekend getaway for us. We stayed in one of the treehouses, which did sway a little, and is connected to land by a swinging bridge. We also had a couples massage, which we really enjoyed. The Wi-Fi was free, but not that speedy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtinsc2014
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight in one of the cabins. It was nice but parking was an issue. There is a parking space in front of the cabin. There may be a need for marking the parking places for each cabin. Someone else parked in our parking spot and it was raining extremely hard. It would have been nice to have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

We want to thank the guest for their review. Parking can sometimes be an issue on the weekend when we can run 300 people in a day on our adventure treks. Usually though, by the late afternoon and early evening, the day guests have left and parking begins to open up. We have no control over rain but do understand...

Newnan, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We had a gift certificate to spend or lose. We knew both of our kids weren't old enough (ages 7 & 11) to do the main zip lines but they offer so many other activities we decided it would still be fun. Well it wasn't! The greeting at check in was less than enthusiastic, the lake (more like a nasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

We are very sad that our guests did not feel they had a good experience at Banning Mills. We do remember this couple with their children. I would like to mention that We do have all of our adventures on the website. It is pretty clear where everything is and we even have pricing and video of the Crazy Squirrel...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitesburg
14.4 km away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 9 in Carrollton
297 reviews
12.6 km away
Fairfield Plantation
Fairfield Plantation
#1 of 7 in Villa Rica
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the middle of 1200 wooded, preserved acres in the beautiful Snake Creek Gorge, this Country Inn and Retreat Center is known for the world's largest,longest continuous zip line canopy tours, adventure and team building treks, Day Spa, history museum and on site chef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Banning Mills

Address: 205 Horseshoe Dam Rd, Banning Mills, Whitesburg, GA 30185-2560
Region: United States > Georgia > Whitesburg
Price Range: $132 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Banning Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Banning Mills Hotel Whitesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Banning Mills staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Banning Mills staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tree house on end has a crows nest, & more privacy on balcony or Choose a River front lodge, for a bargain, they have Jacuzzi rooms too.”
 of 5 bubbles Angelic2u, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the treehouse!!”
 of 5 bubbles AmyB358, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Many options to choose from. Next time I will stay in a tree house.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeDeeS_12, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Definitely pick a cabin or treehouse”
 of 5 bubbles Dschassie, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Keurigs in the room”
 of 5 bubbles bleph, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay