We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island

299 Main St Plantation Village, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-1609
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
TripadvisorUSD 149
Hotels.comUSD 149
HIExpress.comUSD 151
PricelineUSD 149
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#12 of 12 hotels in Saint Simons Island
Enjoy St. Simons Island, GA Hotel's Southern Hospitality While on St. Simons Island, Georgia, vacationers and business travelers alike opt for the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel St. Simons Island. The hotel's location is perfect for a Georgia beach vacation since it's only two miles from the beach. Guests are within minutes of local attractions and businesses and just one mile from Malcolm McKinnon Airport (SSI). Jekyll Island, Sea Island, downtown Brunswick and Little St. Simons Island are a short drive from the hotel. Events in St. Simons Island are easily accommodated at this hotel, which offers a flexible meeting facility, A/V equipment and assistance from the professional staff. Family reunions, wedding parties, sports teams and tour groups enjoy the ease of booking a stay at this St. Simons Island hotel for their special events. Leisure travelers enjoy a Georgia beach vacation with the hotel's central location. St. Simons offers many activities to keep you and your family busy during your time on St. Simons Island, and this hotel provides quick and easy access to everything the island has to offer. With every perk from an outdoor swimming pool to free high-speed Wi-Fi access, guests have all they need to work and play on St. Simons Island, GA. The hotel's complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar ensures a great start to each day as well, so begin planning your visit today.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
112Reviews11Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 30
  • 17
  • 11
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jasonlcms wrote a review Mar 2021
Macon, Georgia9 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked 2 rooms for the weekend of March 12 and 13. We showed to find that only one was held for us. Ok simple mistake so we booked another room for 2 nights. When we went to our rooms 200 and 203 both reeked of bleach and mildew. So one room was changed to 215 I think. The next day, Saturday we went fishing and came back to our rooms being flipped and all of our stuff taken out. We went to the front desk and they said that they thought we had left since we only had 1 night booked. We had just spent the following night getting the reservations straight from their first mistake. Plus who leaves all their clothes luggage toiletries medications and coolers? Anyway we got our stuff and went back upstairs only to unpack and find some of our stuff is missing/stolen. So back down stairs we go, after talking the lady at the front desk the only explanation I got was that it must have been thrown away!!! About 80 dollars worth of stuff accidentally got thrown away, yeah right. The only thing I received for my property being stolen/ thrown away was “I’m sorry” There was also not a full breakfast as advertised but I’m sure that is covid related and not the staffs fault. As a former IHG employee I’m not sure how the Holiday Inn name is still on the front of this building. Why would anyone go here? I’m sure I will get a generic response saying we appreciate your response and this isn’t normal experience. That still doesn’t get my stuff back, I at least thought I might get a discounted room but nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jason, The issues that you raise are important to us, and we're very surprised and disappointed to learn that you had these concerns while on-site. We assure you that our team follows strict policies regarding guests' belongings. Please accept our apologies that you did not feel your concerns were adequately addressed in person. We ask that you consider reaching out to our management team directly at your earliest convenience so that we can speak with you regarding this matter further. We cannot change the past, but we assure you that we are committed to continually improving for the future.
Read more
Cathydays wrote a review Feb 2021
Morrow, Georgia24 contributions34 helpful votes
Good location, near everything. I almost did not stay here due to bad reviews, but things were nice and clean. They need microwaves in guest rooms and breakfast could have used a sandwich with meat to warm in microwave (f the room had a microwave). There was no coffee in the lobby and that would have been a good touch. I know it is due to Covid, but most Holiday Inns have been instructed that it was ok to have coffee in lobby now as long as it is checked and changed on a regular basis. Several guests were very disappointed with no coffee...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island
Responded 20 Feb 2021
Dear Cathy, We're so happy that you decided to give us the opportunity to host you. It sounds like our clean, cozy accommodations were to your liking and that our prime location helped you take full advantage of your time in town. Thank you for noting how your visit could have been improved and for your patience regarding the policies we have in place to ensure a safe environment for all. It's our hope that you will join us again in the future because we'd love to earn your five-star rating!
Read more
447bruce wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Room seemed clean but the employees did not believe in protecting patrons from Covid. During check-im at 2 PM on Nov 15, the manager was wearing a mask but the front desk staff with him did not have a mask on. When I returned to the hotel at 7:30 PM, one employee (a male) had the mask around his neck, the other employee had her mask far below her nose. Neither of the two customers at the front desk wore masks. When I asked if masks were required at the hotel, the Male put his mask on, the female employee did nothing. I can never again stay at this hotel if they don't take the safety of guests seriously.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Dear Bruce, All feedback is appreciated, and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will review your concerns with our team, and we apologize for your experience. We do want our guests to feel safe during their visit. All the best, and safe travels ahead.
Read more
Fred wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Don't expect much and you will be satisfied. The TV, cable, and phone don't work. Not able to get assistance from anyone because they only have one employee on property and they can't leave the front desk. Can't call the front desk because the phones don't work. The unsecured wifi works just make sure you have a VPN. Complimentary breakfast doesn't contain anything healthy
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Dear Fred, Guest feedback is valuable to our continuous improvement efforts, so thank you for sharing. We are very sorry for the aspects of your stay that fell below your expectations, and we've alerted the respective team to your concerns so that action can be taken. We know that we can do better, and we would love to prove it the next time you're on St. Simons Island.
Read more
johnfox63 wrote a review Sep 2020
48 contributions2 helpful votes
When we arrived the cashier was very helpful in suggestions for food and things to do! Then we made it to the room and opened the door it smelled musty in the room!! And seemed the air would never cool room completely down!! And the bed was hard!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Dear John, While we're happy to hear our guest service could deliver both our hospitable service as well as several recommendations for things to do in the area, it is unfortunate that our accommodations were not to our usual standards. Rest assured, housekeeping and maintenance are looking into your concerns so we can improve the quality we provide. It would be our pleasure to host you in the future, so please consider giving us a second chance to impress you.
Read more
USD 116 - USD 196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn express st. simon`s island hotel saint simons island, holiday inn saint simons island, holiday inn st simons island, saint simons island holiday inn
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastGolden Isles of GeorgiaSaint Simons Island
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island?
Nearby attractions include Golden Isles Olive Oil & Wine Bar (1.2 km), Epworth By the Sea (0.9 km), and Cassina Garden Club tabby cabins (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wake Up Coffee Company, Fancy Q Sushi Bar & Grill, and Ember.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Frederica National Monument (3.2 km), Horton House (7.2 km), and Cassina Garden Club tabby cabins (0.8 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.