We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0882
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 298
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/03/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (756)
Room & Suite (198)
Pool & Beach (107)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 11 hotels in Jekyll Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a family-friendly hotel in Jekyll Island, look no further than Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island.

Brewery Ruins Horton-duBignon House duBignon Cemetery (1.5 mi), located nearby, makes Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Jekyll Island landmark.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a coffee shop, and baggage storage while staying at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island. In addition, Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island offers a pool and a poolside bar, which will help make your Jekyll Island trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you like cafes, Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island is conveniently located near The Pantry and Hibiscus cafe.

If you are interested in exploring Jekyll Island, check out one of the parks, such as Great Dunes Park and Clam Creek Picnic Area.

The staff at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1000Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 482
  • 309
  • 120
  • 52
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gwen P wrote a review 22 Oct
1 contribution
Love this hotel !!! Friendly staff, exceptionally clean. Safety is a priority and they meet my standards. Beautiful view, rooms are spacious and very comfortable beds. “We will be visiting here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mel Furtado, Other at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Gwen P, Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate your recommendation and we value your patronage. Thank you so much for noting the cleanliness level that you encountered. We are delighted you enjoyed the view and slept well and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Kind Regards Mel Furtado Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Leslielf wrote a review 5 Oct
New London, Wisconsin119 contributions48 helpful votes
We were right on the beach and that was great. Staff in the office (at check-in/check-out were great). After that the "resort" is ok at best. We had a 2 Queen suite. The beds were comfortable, but the A/C in the bedroom hardly worked and it was 95 out, there was a huge gap at the base of the door jam which allowed more hot air into the room. The A/C worked fine in the living room part so we had to run it as cold as possible at all times which made that room uncomfortably cold. We did call about it twice and nothing happened. The pool could have been great, but the water was a light brownish and dirty. There were never towels and we went right before the pool opened each day and waited at the gate for the pool to open no one ever brought towels. We went to the front desk no towels there either. The hot tub jets were not working in July when we were there and i read a review from a week ago they are still not working, pretty sure they will still be broken when we are on the island next summer! The bar/grill by the pool was rarely open and didn't have food when it was. The room rate included breakfast at the restaurant next door, the food we mediocre at best and the same everyday except they changed the meat on the buffet. Housekeeping was awful, there is silverware in open air cabinets and becauses many of the rooms are pet friendly the silverware holder is full of hair, it was disgusting, I washed all the silver ware, plates, and cups before we touched any of them. The 2 burner cooktop that was stored on top of the fridge was covered in caked on old dried food particles. We called the front desk shortly after check-in and told them the room was dirty and specified what was wrong. No one ever came to clean anything. This was our second time at Jekyll Island last time we stayed at the Beachview Club, but we wanted a larger room this stay. We will be back to Jekyll next summer, but we will never come back to the Holiday Inn. We wanted to like it, but it was just way too dirty in the room, at the pool, on the pool deck. It is expensive to stay on Jekyll island in the summer spend your dollars somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mel Furtado, Other at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Leslie, Thank you for sharing your review - although I was saddened to see that you did not have a typical experience with us. Due to Trip Advisor being anonymous in nature, there was no identifying information shared with the hotel and so we have not been able to locate a reservation for you. If you would like to email me your confirmation number I will be happy to investigate the issues that you encountered. My email is mfurtado@northph.com. As an aside - the hot tub is fully operational at the moment and has been since early to mid September although we did have a lengthy wait for the specialized parts that were needed due to the current shipping crisis. I very much hope to hear from you soon. Kind Regards, Mel Mel Furtado Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Sharon B wrote a review Sep 2021
Bonaire, Georgia24 contributions19 helpful votes
The hotel was lovely and spotlessly clean. There are Lysol and hand sanitizer stations and all measures of protection about the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. Since we used the pull out couch for a bed, we needed an extra blanket. They were very quick and cordial to provide. The couch bed is like any other couch bed -- not the greatest place to sleep but what you expect? We stayed in the Double Queen Suite and it was perfect for my family of 5. The refrigerator kept our drinks very cold and the microwave worked for popcorn to eat while we watched football. The outside pool and huge hot tub was clean and very warm. (The jets weren't working at the time but were scheduled to be fixed -- but we didn't need them -- it was so nice relaxing in that hot water!) There was also a kiddie pool that our 5 year old loved. There is a place to order drinks and food at the pool and spacious lounge seating. With the setting and tables with umbrellas, we enjoyed the pool so much that we never made it to the beach! Breakfast was good -- eggs, sausage, various cereals/juices, waffle makers with extras, delicious muffins, fruits, toast, bagels and all the condiments you can imagine. It was well maintained and the staff checked it frequently. There is a down stairs bar to order drinks and food to enjoy in the afternoon and evening. Various coffees, teas and hot water for cocoa are available 24/7. Next door past the wooded area, there is a lovely area for picnicking which we used for our first meal. The kids loved watching the friendly squirrels. The only bad things are (1) my oldest grand daughter was sad because there was no chocolate on the pillow -- which resulted in a lot of laughter; (2) I wish the checkout was later -- would be nice to be able to stay 24 hours. We will definitely be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: if you are using the pull out bed from the couch, bring a blanket from home.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mel Furtado, Other at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Sharon, Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and found the hotel to be clean and a safe environment during these unprecedented times. Thank you for noting the additional measures that we are taking to ensure the safety and well being of our guests and our staff. I am sorry that your granddaughter was sad to not have a chocolate on her pillow - when you are due to return to us, please email me and I can make that happen for her next time! I can be reached at mfurtado@northph.com and I usually have a small supply of emergency pillow candy for sad girls that I will be thrilled to bust out just for her! I look forward to hearing from you when you are due to return to us! Kind Regards, Mel Mel Furtado Rooms Division Manager
Read more
RoverTreks wrote a review Sep 2021
Thailand1593 contributions380 helpful votes
+1
Not recommended. My oh my my my. Where to begin? Summary This hotel should be a gold mine for IHG on Jekyll Island. It's a sprawling facility of four buildings about 300-yards long with a magnificent presence on the Atlantic. It presents 157-rooms with road and beachside entrances. The exterior grounds keeping is superb. Yet, management never seems to get the hotel maintenance and upgrades in order in re the rooms, you know, those areas where customers sleep. First, full disclosure. My wife and I have been big-time IHG loyalty club fans for years. We were Spire Elites before the Covid era, and our status is now Platinum Elite. We stay at IHG hotels all over the world, and generally, we're quite happy with the IHG experience. When we run into hotels that have deficiencies, we cite them. This is a hotel we want to love. This is hotel we have tried to love for 10 years. We've stayed at this hotel twice a year over the last ten years. We want this place to succeed. We've rationalized deficiencies in the past here as minor because we believe IHG is a diligent custodian of their properties. We can't do that this time. Every time we stay at this hotel, something goes wrong. Now, back to a review of this hotel. Details Here's the Pro's 1. Location, location, location. You can walk from the hotel to the beach. 2. You can get a beach-facing room. 3. The exterior grounds are well maintained and set up to allow visitors to embrace the Jekyll outdoor experience. Here's the Con in a nutshell: Deficient room maintenance. Here's our story. We signed up for a King room and paid cash because the point value redemption wasn't there. That's another story we'll get to in a minute about IHG point redemption policies. This hotel is a long (about 300 yards) spanning a series of four 2-level buildings. After checking in, a drive up to our building revealed a power washing team —-at 6 pm! You have to wonder about the judgment of a management team that allows this activity to go on when customers are most likely to check-in. Our room had the following deficiencies: 1. The toilet wouldn't flush. We got it to flush once. We spent much time trying to fix it. Why? Our experience is that when you call for support at IHG hotels after-hours, workers are usually not available to resolve problems of this nature. This notion makes sense. Why keep a handyperson on staff for 24-hours when you can assign the customer a different room? 2. The shower would not turn off once turned on. We spent several hours, with a few minutes here and there every 15-20 minutes, trying to adjust the handle to get it to stop from dripping. At best, all we could get was a slow drip condition. The condition was progressive. The longer we waited, the more it would leak. If we waited too long, the shower would begin to stream full-bore once again after 15-20 minutes. Finally, the streaming water volume became so high and reoccurring and we couldn't sleep. 3. Card keys to enter the room did not work. This happens a lot in older IHG hotels. 4. We tried to call the front desk using the house phone to get assistance, but the house phone didn't work. 5. Ice machines throughout the complex did not work correctly or at all sometimes. 6. The WiFi service was poor at best. It became so difficult to use we finally gave up. Keep in mind, cellular service on Jekyll can be spotty depending on your service provider. Thus, good WiFi is a plus on the island. We called the front desk using my cell phone to ask for relief. The front desk representative assigned us a king suite at the opposite end of the complex immediately. She said she would comp part of our stay. We packed our stuff, found a cart, and wheeled it to the opposite end of the complex around 9:40 at night. The complex is dark at night, even with area lights present. We lost a digital camera charger in our haste to vacate the room, repack, and haul our stuff to the opposite end of the complex at 10 pm. In the new room, we discovered a similar problem with the shower. As with the last room, the handle flip-flopped on the spindle. It was challenging to figure out where the hot water position was. It turned out, The shower was in the off position at 4 o'clock but in the hot water position at 2 o'clock, less than an eighth of a turn away. This is entirely counterintuitive to the way most showers work. But the deficiency was similar to the shower in the previous room, except in the previous room the water wouldn't shut off at all. If we moved the handle in the new room to increase the hot water temperature, the shower would revert to cold water immediately. The following day, it was an entirely new journey to discover the hot water position in the shower. The air conditioning in the new room ran as if a game of chance were at the helm. First, there were control units on the wall and at the wall unit. We quickly learned the controls on the wall unit were more likely to work. Temperatures were luke cool. We turned the unit down to 65 for the evening. The temperature remained around 73 all nightlong. We awakened several times in the early morning hours because of the humidity. Yes, it's still hot and humid here on the Georgia coast. We know. We live here. The turntable in the microwave did not work. The carpets on the floor were dirty. How do we know? If you walk barefooted from the room into the shower and black dirt runs off your feet, you'll know the carpets are dirty. Yes, we know, it's wise to wear flip-flops or slippers in hotels. And we do so. But this is one of our tests for cleanness at hotels. It's clear there's both a management and a maintenance problem at this hotel. The management problem is managing the maintenance workers correctly to make sure repairs are made correctly and consistently. We don't know what's going on at this hotel but whatever is happening is not correct. We've seen these deficiencies in one form or another here for ten years, and the improvements are not evident. The management problem here is a lack of focus on the issues if our experience is any indicator. Another management problem here is oversight of the repair workers. The third problem is the workers are not doing their work correctly, if at all. Stated differently, if the maintenance on the inside were as good as it is on the outside, this operation would be impressive. Now, to the IHG loyalty program. It used to be the case IHG assessed reasonable point conversions at their hotels worldwide. Only a few select hotels were the subject of premium point conversions because of their location. That's all changed now if our experience this time is any indicator. For example, The point conversion is for this hotel ranged between 50,000 and 91,000 points for stays on a Monday and Tuesday, with the cost in points varying by type of room. A standard room with points + cash combination was $120 plus 40,000 points for a total conversion of $203. A double queen bedroom during our stay was $319. And a King bed was $350. These prices are entirely unreasonable given the conditions we cite in this review, conditions we've seen repeatedly over the past 10-years. After our first night fiasco at IHG we went to the Marriot-Westin on the island the following day for a point redemption of 35,000 or about a $205 for a King setup. Hmm, let's see: $205 for the Westin, a superior hotel in every respect or, $350 for the IHG and the problems we cite. Not too long ago, we told our readers to get the IHG credit card, buy points, and participate in the program. Not anymore. The loyalty program notwithstanding, the subject of this review is this particular hotel. The performance in room deficiencies is consistently substandard, and something has to change. Until it does, we don't recommend booking here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid this place. Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mel Furtado, Other at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel
Responded 18 Sep 2021
RoverTreks, Thank you for the detailed feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry that it fell short of your expectations and that we will not be welcoming you back again. The issues with the IHG Loyalty Program that you cited are outwith the hotels control and you would be better served as a Platinum Elite member to raise your issues with the program to your Concierge. With regards to the issues that you encountered in the room, since your experience was actually quite unique it was very easy for me to locate your reservation despite having no personally identifying information. I am sorry that you encountered so many issues, we appreciate you sharing your opinion. Your feedback has been shared with the team for investigation and remedial actions. Kind Regards, Mel Furtado Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Kara G wrote a review Aug 2021
Fort Lewis, Washington2 contributions1 helpful vote
$400 per night is not worth it. Beach is small and so is the pool. Breakfast is mediocre. Got to the hotel, air conditioning didn’t work so they changed our rooms. New room air worked, back of toilet is cracked, toilet barely flushes, everything is old and outdated. When out for the day, came back and couldn’t get back into our room. They checked us out and didn’t apologize. Blamed it on the system and didn’t bother to call or email us. Will never come back to this hotel. Not worth the money nor stress. Worst holiday inn I have ever been in and I am a Gold IHG member.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Westin is new and clean
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mel Furtado, Other at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Kara, I am so sorry this was your experience - please be assured this was not at all a normal experience. I am unsure why your key deactivated on your second day. In reviewing the issues that you reported, the room was not checked out, I think perhaps the key failed but I am sure this was the icing on the cake for your stay. I am so sorry that we dropped the ball for you, I see that there were two credits posted to your folio and a partial refund issued too. I very much hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a more typical stay with us in the future. Thank you for ensuring that we were aware of the fact that your stay did not go to plan and allowing us the opportunity to make amends prior to your departure. Kind Regards, Mel Furtado Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 176 - USD 319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oceanside inn and suites, oceanside hotel jekyll island, oceanside jekyll island, oceanside inn jekyll island
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastGolden Isles of GeorgiaJekyll Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jekyll Island Trail System (2.7 km), Driftwood Beach (0.5 km), and St. Simons Island (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Georgia Sea Grill, Palmer's Village Cafe, and Porch.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.