We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thunderbird Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thunderbird Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,551 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,506: English reviews
NY
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Tiki bar far place to be. Watch sunset and listen to live entertainment. A restaurant available on premises. I didn't eat here so rating the restaurant would be unfair. But the cooking smells. Smelled good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SALLYGBOY G
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting TripAdvisor readers know how much you enjoyed the Tiki Bar and the live music. I wish we could take credits for the sunsets, they are incredible! You should try the restaurant next time you visit, the food is great! Susan

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We found the resort very clean and comfortable. Although our room was directly above the Tiki Bar, it closed at sundown, so there was no problem. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful at all times and Tawwanna, our housekeeper was great. Thanks for a fun relaxing weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretdefiore
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Thunderbird. I am so glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the staff. Hope you will come back to visit us again soon. Susan

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Not a luxury hotel, but good for the price. Good poolside music, at least 6 good pubs, restaurants walking distance. Bike rental across street, $10 for 4 hours. Free parking. We called maintenance twice and the guy was there in under 1 minute, and fixed the issue. Older crowd, 50+ the younger crowd were families. Caution, we booked a gulf...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickandkathy2016
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Thunderbird. I am glad to hear that most of your experience was enjoyable. Unfortunately, when you book online instead of speaking with the hotel directly, it is very often the case that requests are not even available at the time of booking, let alone upon arrival. I do hope...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We booked a room for two nights on 4/28 and 4/29/2016, checking out on 4/30/2016. Total cost was around $450. Now I knew going in that this place was many decades old as I lived in the Tampa Bay area for over 40 years and I think even stayed there once as a kid prior to moving to the area....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adam W
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to the Thunderbird. Thank you for your feedback, it helps us improve the Thunderbird for all our guests. It is sometimes a problem when people go through 3rd party booking sites and don't speak with the hotel directly when making reservations. We do advertise newly renovated...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Great place on the beach! It is a bit of a hike to the actual water, but seriously, who doesn't like long walks on the beach?! Our gulf view balcony room was a bit dated, but comfortable nonetheless. All staff were friendly and very welcoming. The little reception on Wednesday evening with free drinks and snacks was a nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal E
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay at the Thunderbird Beach Resort. We enjoy our guests as much as they seem to enjoy us. That very long walk to the beach is such an asset! Even on the busiest days of Spring Break we have lots of room for people to spread out and enjoy the sand....

Treasure Island, Florida
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The staff at the THUNDERBIRD ARE BRILLENT .... from the hotel front desk (Ashley) and behind the scenes (Missy) <------- thank you for the awesome upgrade offer that I gladly accepted!! Also, I enjoyed an opportunity to chat with the Manager ~(Luis Diaz), thank you so much for the extension of the upgraded offer, you deserve a BIG WOW!!! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Homeawayfe
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

My goodness, such lovely comments about your recent stay. There is nothing I can add except a big THANK YOU! Susan

Weare, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 May 2016

First of all, the location was nice, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is steps away from the beach. However, if you are looking for a quite family spot, this it NOT it. We stayed in a beach front family suite, with a balcony overlooking the gulf. The view was great, until we opened the sliding door,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FamilyTime1431
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Thunderbird Beach Resort. We are working on creating designated smoking areas away from the guest rooms. We are also working on ways to soundproof between rooms better. During the busy spring season, even after the Easter school breaks, we remain a busy property all week long. The crowds are...

Michigan
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We planned on staying 7 days and checked out after 4. First room they gave us was Room 51 on the other side. I thought it was close to the restraint. Which I was a little worried about with noise. But the other side was worse, with a car 2 feet in front of us. Went back and complained and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mountainmama26
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit to the Thunderbird Beach Resort. The room you booked on April 10th and received confirmation for on that same day was exactly the room you were checked into when you arrived on April 23rd. That is quite possibly the only room that was available for the length...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I went to the thunderbird hotel and JAVI help us with the reservation. He is the best person that you could have in the front desk because he is very helpful and have an amazing customer service. The hotel is awesome and everything is clean.When you go ask for JAVI.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennifer152010
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your interactions with Javi. We think all of our front desk staff is outstanding and the TripAdvisor comments seem to agree. Javi may be our newest addition to the Thunderbird family, but he is already a super star! Susan

pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We stayed at the thunderbird in late January. Our "suite" was not spacious but the new decor, hardware, and makeover helped. You can expect a friendly, helpful staff but a group who often smokes while working. The resort restaurant is also average but serviceable when hungry. We mostly enjoyed views of the ocean without having the ocean view room due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damoroz
thunderbirdmanager, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your visit to the Thunderbird. I am surprised that you do not think the suite is spacious. We have guests who stay in the suites for up to 3 months each year and find there is plenty of room in those units. The staff have been counseled that smoking in view of guests is...

804 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (515)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (201)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (260)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Gulf Front Room (32)
Viewed
Gulf Front Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool 1 (11)
Viewed
Pool 2 (12)
Viewed
Poolside Effeciency Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.2 km away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
111 reviews
0.5 km away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
502 reviews
1.2 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
146 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
424 reviews
0.3 km away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Feola's Italian Ristorante & Lounge
Feola's Italian Ristorante & Lounge
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Price Range: $205 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thunderbird Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Thunderbird Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gulf View efficiency rooms are best bet”
 of 5 bubbles 941elld, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms by the smaller pool are more quiet, much more activity around the larger pool.”
 of 5 bubbles one-love-angie, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 2nd floor with was nice, able to see the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles chickiepoo, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Gulfview rooms are great. Make sure the drain in the tub works before you get settled!!”
 of 5 bubbles MOtravelprincess, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Gulf-view are the best! And worth it!!”
 of 5 bubbles 760amandap, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5