We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coquina On The Beach

12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Coquina On The Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of Coquina On The Beach
 Click to rate
Campinas, SP
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Coquina on the beach is our home in Sarasota since the mid 90's. It is the perfect place for the 3 weeks annual vacations for me and all the family. Some guests frequently are talking about old way, dated forniture and so one. Forget it and have fun! Depending on the category of room you pick, leaving the rum and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank osmarschweller
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This resort is directly on the beach--we stayed in an upgraded pool view room on the second level which had a side view of the beach from the deck--the sunsets over the beach are spectacular. The room was large with two queen beds and a large glass patio door leading to the deck.. Along one wall was an open kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luckytraveler27
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms by pool were great and clean just few steps to beach that was clean and kept that way can't say how friendly everyone was can't wait until next year we will be back.very relaxing time by the pool or on the beach.everything in the room worked tv could be little big.we went to mote's and state park both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1234chip
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and insight into some of our fantastic local attractions! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit:)

Milledgeville, Georgia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you own a nice new vehicle or a large vehicle you do not want to stay here..I woke up every morning wondering if someone had put a ding in the door of my new car because they have parking spaces so narrow you can barely open your door to get out of your car..also there is only one lane...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c4land2017
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review

If you had let us know about your fancy new car, we would have made arrangements for a "special" parking space just for you. It's a shame you didn't, you just sat and worried about your car the whole time. I hope you at least enjoyed the beautiful beach:)

Arvada, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Functional, but desperately needs updating. It would be a great place for a family to stay because it has a kitchen to cook. A little to far from St. Armand Circle restaurants and shops to walk. Right on the beach. Too bad, it didn't have a beach bar although there are some in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
Cincinnati
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reserved online for the close location to a seminar being held. Looked okay but you know online versus in person can be so different. Got to our room and the a/c was not working. Staff got it working for a minute but quickly shut down again. No problem, got moved to a different room. The rooms are very spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review

I am glad it turned out to be a great stay. Sorry about the A/C problems but they do break down occasionally. Thanks for the fantastic review! We are constantly striving for perfection and make every effort to provide the best possible guest experience. On your next visit you must make time for that kayak adventure in the mangrove tunnels,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family had a wonderful time in this older but very nice resort. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was perfect with a very nice kitchen for easy meal preparation. The beds were comfy and furniture was perfect. Literally steps from the waters edge. Cabana on the beach for shade and loungers are supplied for ease. Pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 822margarett
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive for perfection every day at our little slice of "old Florida" paradise. We look forward to having you back soon:)

Evansville, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We had a great room with full kitchen. Wonderful BEACH and beach access. Very laid back. The only thing I would want more is paddleboard or something for an ocean activity at the hotel. The next door hotel had them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nd_wheatfield
CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our "laid back" old Florida slice of paradise! The gentleman next door rents those paddleboards out to anyone who would like to rent one. There are also options for rentals that are delivered to your door (or patio). We look forward to having you back again soon.

Reviewed 23 April 2017

Beachfront hotel which I like very much. It is close to St. Armand's Circle which I like and is a popular spot with many restaurants.The closest grocery store is in Longboat Key but it isn't that far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian V
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

The photos are not current. Visible rust on rails, cracks in ceiling. Poorly attached carpets in balcony, very tight parking spaces. Right on the beach, a short walk beautiful sunsets, calm water, noisy guest past midnight. Older hotel, some renovations but good central air, semi hard bed, medium refrigerator, microwave, no hair dryer. Good TV. Quite expensive for value you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rcastillo115

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.5 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
7.3 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
159 reviews
7.5 km away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.6 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quaint, old-Florida style beach hotel on Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coquina On The Beach

Address: 1008 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2298
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $189 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coquina On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Coquina On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coquina On The Beach Hotel Sarasota
Coquina On The Beach Sarasota, Florida
Coquina Beach Sarasota
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coquina On The Beach staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Dunedin, Florida
over a year ago
Sandusky, Ohio
Racine, Wisconsin
Marshall, IL.
3 months ago
Sandusky, Ohio
5 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Coquina On The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we liked the pool view rooms with a view of the beach. Some rooms are on the parking lot for a savings.”
luckytraveler27, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“the pool side is the best rooms 110 and up”
1234chip, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the pool have a partial beach view”
c4land2017, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“There are poolside rooms that may have ocean views from the room.”
886peggys, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Lower level right on the pool”
mckinleys, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates