We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Americas Best Value Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

A friend found this "deal" for us. Location was good but place is run down & needs updating. It is next to a Publix so we did breakfast in our room, not much else around for walking. Would not stay here again. Spend a little more & enjoy yourselves!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vaca4U
ABVISRQMANAGER, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We hope you will give another try after we complete renovation later this year.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This hotel is in a good location and feels safe however it is very very shabby, kind of smelly, not spotless by any means!! peeling wall paper, holes in walls etc cockroach in the bathroom ( a big one) friendly staff though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 678serena
ABVISRQMANAGER, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. We hope you will give us another chance to meet your standards after we complete remodeling of our property later this year. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Rooms look nothing like pictures. The continental " breakfast " is scary. There are dead bugs in the rooms. Way overpriced for the condition of the rooms. Had to go buy sheets just to feel comfortable sleeping in the bed. Will never stay at this place again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tjohnson69
ABVISRQMANAGER, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. Although, these issues were not addressed to us during your stay. We hope you will give us another try, Thank you.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

This motel is not best value, it is in fact very overpriced for what it offers. No hot drink facility in room or reception area. We tried to get a coffee at the grim Taco Bell next door but they didn't have any. Coffee is available at the included breakfast and is the only part we found almost consumable. Continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jancrow4
ABVISRQMANAGER, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were dissatisfied with our continental breakfast. As an economy brand hotel, we are limited to what we can provide in our breakfast. We strive to provide the most in our continental breakfast while also staying within regulation of the health department. In room coffee makers are available on request. We hope you will give us another...

Reviewed 22 February 2016

wonderful staff very,very comfortable double bed, a great great value for your doller for febuary stay it was the cheapeast stay in Sarasota by more then 70$ a weekend night in what I was told was : :prime season ::. Hotel has PUBLIX across the street & multiple fast food & higher end resterants within in 3 minutes walk time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
ABVISRQMANAGER, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive remarks. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

I was looking for convenience and a great rate. It is right at the entrance to Longboat Key and it was the least expensive hotel off the Key. The Key is full of condos to rent for 3 days or more but not hotels. Worked very well for our short jaunt. The tub drain was a little slow. Other than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GalleryCat
ABVISRQMANAGER, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. -Management

Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We rolled in about 8 pm and checked in easily. It's across from a Publix and behind several restaurants. They did not keep their security doors shut much less locked which was a concern of mine. Staff was adequate as was the room. I did not see bugs, but I didn't inspect under the mattress. Price was about $75 which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
ABVISRQMANAGER, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us. We strive to make our Hotel comfortable and at a good value for our guests. Thank you for your review. - Management

Reviewed 2 November 2015

Not to far from the beaches,but there were no special perks.s.Coffee only from 6:30 to 9:30 and it was so strong we could hardly drink it.Biggest disappointment was the pool closed for repairs and no comp for it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inez C
ABVISRQMANAGER, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. The pool was closed for construction, and reopened on Oct. 30th 2015. Notices about pool being closed had been posted on our website and at the front desk. Our breakfast is served 6:30 till 9:30 A.M. as posted. Sorry for any inconvenience during your stay, we hope you will give us...

Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

We Checked in. The reception gave it away what we were heading for. Dull drab smelly. Arrived to room and I broke down in tears. Dirty bedding smelt of damp roof bowing with damp antiquated mouldy etc etc we had to check out. Reception said room was used daily and blamed the state of room on others not using air...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathryn A
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Probably one of the worst hotels i've ever been at. One of the manager's, pete, Very often, he would not change the sheets after someone checks out, nor change the towels. I heard him saying this to one of the housekeepers, as she tried to change the bed sheets and towels of a room. He just brushed everything off to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irine b

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
5.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
5.4 km away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#24 of 48 in Sarasota
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
3.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
1.1 km away
Hotel Ranola
Hotel Ranola
#9 of 48 in Sarasota
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a clean and comfortable hotel in the great location of downtown Sarasota. 4 Miles to the award winning Seasta Key beach, 3 miles to St. Armonds Circle, and 4 miles to Lido Key beach. All local attractions including Ringling Museum of Art, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Mote Aquarium and Hundreds of restaurants are less than 5 miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 811 S Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34236
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $96 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Sarasota
Americas Best Value Inn Sarasota, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Awful...didn't feel safe, appeared dirty and run down.”
 of 5 bubbles PJAJGilly, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They all seem good”
 of 5 bubbles michaelkA6764TG, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take the upper level.”
 of 5 bubbles GregoryS57, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“upstairs were nice”
 of 5 bubbles irishgator17, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get an upper level poolside room with a nice balcony if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles jamescP564NE, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay