We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Show Prices
#22 of 47 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gulf Beach Resort Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Highmount, NY
Reviewed 5 July 2015

OK, the rooms are small, really small. Get past that and here are the pros about this property. Location is great. Close to St Armand's Circle for dining and shopping, and roll out of bed onto the beach. Loved the resident white heron who joined us in our little screened porch to beg for some breakfast. The staff is pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leongus
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 May 2015

After a 3-month business trip around the USA, we were looking for a well-priced place to stay for a 10-day break at the beach before we headed home. The Gulf Beach Resort was just what we were looking for. It is definitely not a fancy hotel, but the studio room had everything we needed, with a good sized kitchen, dining...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank boatie_girl
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 20 May 2015

This is one of the last original places to stay on the beach. Used to be a motel way back when, not it's like a "condo-tel". Each room is owned by a different owners, so no 2-rooms are alike. Located right on the beach, close to St. Armands and the park, and far enough away for peace, quiet, and relaxation....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Francis H
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel with us and so many travelers. We certainly appreciate our local customers and look forward to having you come stay with us to de-stress....even if it's only for a weekend. There seems to be a certain calmness about being close to the water and leaving...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Incredibly rude staff. Shockingly rude to potential customers. I would never give my money to anyone willing to treat a person so poorly. We ended up renting elsewhere (tons of great local rentals/hotels). The beach is beautiful. I recommend staying clear of this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corinne567
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with one of our staff members. That is highly unusual as the majority of our guests typically have nice things to say about them. I am glad that you were able to find other accommodations that you were more comfortable with and were at least able to enjoy the...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Two families joined together for a wonderful week for a wedding. We stayed in condo 317 which was very clean and had all the comforts of home, my only issue was the bathroom could have been a bit bigger. Staff came to clean whenever necessary and did a great job and everyone at the front desk was very helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanders198
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to have your family and friends stay with us to celebrate this very special occasion. It's so nice to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves and had a great time. Each and every one of our staff members try their best to make everyone feel comfortable and at home so it is very nice to know...

Stow, Ohio
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Spent six nights here in late March. Room was small and dated, but clean and the beach is wonderful. I especially enjoyed the sunsets, which were stunning. The staff was very friendly and it was a treat to be greeted by the egrets--one white and one gray who hung around the parking lot most of the time. Located close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chricollin2015
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

It's nice to hear that you were introduced to two of our part-time residents, the egrets! These two feathered friends of ours have been long time residents of ours. They were especially attached to one of our housekeepers who retired a few years ago. I believe they keep coming back hoping to find her here one day! I'm glad you...

naples.fl
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

This motel is definitely not a resort of no kind, don't let the word resort full you. I enjoyed my stay. It was clean and comfortable. Rooms aren't spacious neither are the bathrooms, but I didn't need alot of space. The staff was friendly. The beach was nice,not alot of sea shells tough. I liked how you didn't have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xyummyicecreamx
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that your stay with us was nice and relaxing. You are quite right in that we only have enough space to allow one vehicle per unit to park in our lot. We are in a prime location being right on the beach and the buildings were originally constructed to allow guests to park in a space...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 April 2015

The Gulf Beach Resort is a well-maintained, cute 1950s-style motel right on the beach. We stayed in one of their motel rooms because we only needed a place to sleep (my family owns an apartment down the beach, and we spent our days there) but there are one-bedroom suites and efficiencies available. The room we were in was well-maintained and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael G
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

We are indeed one of the few remaining properties in the area to offer the vacationer an old-fashioned Florida beach vacation. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our beautiful beach. It is important to us that we can remain an affordable vacation destination for families and couples and have them enjoy our...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 March 2015

My husband and I were looking for accommodations in the area that would be affordable, comfortable and in proximity to the activities we wanted to do while in Sarasota. The Gulf Beach Resort perfectly met our needs. This does not have the fanciest accommodations, nor the largest of rooms, and other reviews will support that claim. It does, however, provide...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank kasaWisconsin
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We certainly appreciate all of your comments and take pride in the fact that you enjoyed your first stay with us and were made to feel so comfortable. I can identify with your comment about there not being a lot of outlets...

Branford, Connecticut
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stayed at the Gulf Beach Resort in March. The name is a little misleading. It is a historic 1950 motel style resort. It is on a lovely private beach, plenty of lounge chairs,even a Tiki Hut if you need to get out of the sun. Well maintained grounds with a nice pool. The rooms have different configurations depending on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wandering_grandma
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

I feel like we have done our job well when I hear a guest say "We will return!". It sounds as though this may have been your first stay with us and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We are definitely not a fancy resort but I do like to consider us a comfortable and affordable place...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.6 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.8 km away
Hotel Ranola
Hotel Ranola
#8 of 47 in Sarasota
208 reviews
4.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 47 in Sarasota
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $111 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Gulf Beach Resort Motel Sarasota, Florida
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gulf Beach Resort Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Tampa, Florida
4 months ago
newington, ct
Greer
over a year ago
Superior, Wisconsin
over a year ago
Norman
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Gulf Beach Resort Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are unique in their arrangement and the ground floor rooms have neat little screened porches.”
 of 5 bubbles 282richs, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower rooms have little screened in porches with patio tables. Beach end lower rooms have great beach views,”
 of 5 bubbles debbwym, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“First floor stay away from the laundry”
 of 5 bubbles janices597, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“My favorite rooms are the closes to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Deborah3302, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see a couple of availalbe rooms, and then make your choice”
 of 5 bubbles sandya677, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5