We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 457: English reviews
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 21 February 2016

The sunset is dazzling on the very end of Sanibel where Castaways Cottages will tuck there guest in with dreamy thoughts of the wonderful day they had counting dolphins as they fall into a peaceful sleep. A must to visit and enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonilyn923
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Castaways. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that you described us as a must to visit and enjoy. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards, Rick B

Duluth, United States
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We stayed in number 40, I liked this one as it was somewhat remote on the marina side of the resort. Rates are somewhat high for what you get. It is like a little 2 bedroom house with full kitchen. Shower ran slow with alot of sand clogging it up, cleaning is do it yourself. Every day I would use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allan B
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review of the Castaways. I am glad to hear that cottage 40 worked out well for you, and that the kids loved it. We have recently remodeled this cottage and I am sure you will enjoy it even more on a future stay. Kind regards Rick B

New Jersey
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We stayed in one of the cabins on the canal which is surrounded by bushes so we have no direct view. Just walking out the door and onto the dock did give us a view however, except at high tide when the water floods over the dock closest to land so I got a wet foot surprise in the dark....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slstretch
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 3 star review of the Castaways. I am very pleased to hear how much you loved our location and that you found it a very relaxing spot. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Rick B.

Pembroke, Ontario
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We have stayed at Castaways twice, and it's definitely a Florida favourite! The cabins are spotless, comfortable, and well sited around the lagoon/ bay, or on the beach. Staff are friendly and courteous and it's a wonderful place to kick back, relax and enjoy all that Sanibel has to offer! Just minutes from Ding Darling Nature Reserve, the birding is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onallumette
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Castaways. I am very pleased to hear that you are a repeat visitor, and that you described us as a " Florida favorite". We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rick B.

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

One night right on the beach side. Ur own bungalow. Bed was good, better than many and bathroom was ok. But an old florida property. No heat and 50 degrees with he typical stiff wind out of the north. It was cold. Still it was ok. Had your own kitchen and the appliances where fine

 Report
Helpful?
Thank unbiased54
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am pleased you found the bed good. I am sorry to hear that you could not get the heat to work, there is a flap on the A/C remote that flips up to turn the heat on, this is very rarely needed in sunny Florida, I have now put...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

We have stayed twice at Castaways. It is not for people who demand luxury or perfection. It is for people who are looking for easy access to both Gulf beaches as well as the bay for kayaking, fishing or other laid back activities. The accommodations are individual cabins styled in "Old Florida" style. The basics are well done; they are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BBS-FGS
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very happy to hear that you are a returning guest and that you enjoyed our laid back ambiance. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rick B.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This place is in such a great location and the set-up is like having your own little house in paradise. We love the fact that you have the bay on one side and the sea on the other, with the land so thin at this point that some units can actually see both at once! There is so much wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brad W
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Castaways. I am very pleased that you found us the top choice on the island. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. King regards. Rick B

Covington, Kentucky
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We have stayed several times, love it, love the beach and the quiet location. I would like to have outlets in the bathrooms, that is my only complaint and it is minor. Very accommodating staff. Shelling is fantastic!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheller62
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the Castaways, I am very to pleased that you have chosen to stay with us on several different occasions and that you found the staff very accommodating. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind regards. Rick Boyd

Palm Springs
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We had a awesome time at Castaways as usual! Friendly staff and the best place to bring your pets, even at the beach. We stayed right on the marina cottage 28. What a view to wake up to.Fabulous location on the Island away from in town, quiet and peaceful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elliotr256
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Castaways, I am very pleased that you had an awesome time, and that you enjoyed that we have pet friendly cottages. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards. Rick B

Wickliffe
Reviewed 4 February 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Jan 2016. The cottage was very nice with a great layout and nice size. Everything was very clean. The location was great - 1 minute walk to the beach, marina, or general store. Also a great location between Sanibel and Captiva.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maegan2450
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked the cottages layout and that you enjoyed our great location. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards. Rick Boyd

657 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (338)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Apartment (90)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Double Beach View Room (89)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
Studio (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
14.0 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,999 reviews
3.3 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
15.7 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,532 reviews
9.9 km away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
579 reviews
10.7 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $214 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Cottages of Sanibel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
centralpennsylvania
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Cottages of Sanibel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bay side more birds and wild life, cottages gulf side very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 372nancyf, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No. 28 directly on the Bay has the best view!”
  • This is a view from inside No.28 out across the Bay
  • View of the Bay even from the parkign spot of No.28
 of 5 bubbles BradW72, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pool side is very convenient....never stayed in other locations.”
 of 5 bubbles anneclearspring, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book room on the marina”
 of 5 bubbles JudyR522, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bayside Units have lots of wildlife and no road traffic. Some units newly remodeled, ask whey you call.”
 of 5 bubbles BeenThere2211, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5