We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Beach Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Beach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 605: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

We plan a short weekend getaway. I have been coming to Sunset Beach Inn for the past 8 years never did i encounter a problem or issue. THis time i can say not the same. I make my reservations and call thursday to confirm i also asked about prior staff if they were still there and was told that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma L
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Norma L, Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you described at Sunset Beach Inn. It's never our intent to provide anything less than a fun, memorable experience for our guests as I'm certain you've seen from our other reviews. I will address your concerns with our staff and can assure you that many aspects of your experience...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our stay at the Sunset Beach Inn! The fact that you can reserve kayaks and paddle boards saves a lot of time and money. The bikes are readily available and are plentiful. Breakfast foods are replaced daily and there is plenty of stuff to satisfy all! The beach is literally steps from the parking lot. This place is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth F
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth, We appreciate your selecting Sunset Beach Inn to host your recent visit to Sanibel Island and glad to hear found so much to enjoy and had such a great stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon and please let us know how we can make your next visit even more memorable. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time Christmas visit to Sanibel. The desk staff was wonderful! Especially Kylie! (Kylee?) Plenty of bikes are available to pedal around the island and sightsee. The pool is huge and well maintained. Shuffleboard and tennis courts available. It's only a few steps out your door to the beach. Shelling was a lot of fun! Overall just a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red B
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Red, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Sanibel and I'm delighted that your experience at Sunset Beach Inn was a big part of it! Thank you for sharing such a nice review of the property and our staff - I will make sure to let Kylie know how much you appreciated her service. Looking forward to seeing...

Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This place is very clean & well kept. Nice relaxing pool with lounge chairs, chairs & umbrellas on the beach and the only place that provides this amenity, breakfast basket in your room every day and the front desk people, maintenance & housekeeping staff are just the nicest people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you so much for sharing your impressions. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your kind comments about our staff. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast basket as well. We hope you'll join us every time your travels bring you back to Sanibel Island and look forward to welcoming you back!...

Plymouth
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our 10 day trip as we wanted a couple of days to chill out. Sanibel Island doesn't disappoint it's a lovely island. We arrived at couple of hours early and the reception staff allowed us to check in early which we were grateful for All the staff we came across were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthGirl
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear PlymouthGirl, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for taking the time to share your review with other travelers. Your compliments of our staff are appreciated and will be passed along to them. I apologize that you were able to hear some sounds from the adjoining rooms - this may, as you suggested, be due to the adjoining...

Island Heights, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Have been looking forward to visiting Sanibel Isl. for a long time & only had a couple of days here. The accommodations were good as inn was a bit older than most but we found it clean, bedding excellent & the snack basket a bonus! Perhaps my biggest compliment is to the receptionist as we arrived to find our reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your review. I'm glad you had such a great and memorable stay and appreciate all of your nice comments about the resort, our recreation facilities, and our helpful staff. They certainly enjoy making our guests' visits memorable and it's great to hear that they were able to quickly resolve...

Nalcrest, Florida
Reviewed 1 December 2016

we enjoyed our time here. it was great being so close to the beach. everyone here is so helpful. the grounds are lovely & well maintained. the rooms are a bit tired, but there are signs of updating. we would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be so helpful. I'll make sure to pass your comments along to them. I'm also glad you noticed the updates that we've done to our rooms along the way. Your loyalty is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again...

Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewed 30 November 2016

What a great place to stay! We booked our room in August for this busy Thanksgiving Holiday and were concerned there might be a reason it still had rooms available. We were so wrong. The staff was so pleasant and helpful; especially Kim. The rooms were very clean and stayed that way due to the great cleaning personnel. They had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JimOKelly
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jim, Thank you so much for sending such a raving review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sunset Beach Inn and found so much to love about your stay on the Island. Thank you as well for all of your nice compliments of our staff - I will be sure to pass these along so they...

Parsippany, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Sunset Beach was an excellent choice. I reviewed responses from this site when choosing a hotel so i wanted to also leave a review of my experience. The staff was friendly; the room was very nice. The pool was so nice and tennis courts! We loved biking around sanibel. We found nice shells and the sunset were gorgeous. Wonderful stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anonymouswe239
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anonymouswe, Thank your for starying with us and for taking the time to send such a nice review of our resort! I'm glad you had such a fun and memorable visit - you did indeed make an excellent choice and I'm sure other visitors appreciate reading your impressions of your experience. We hope you'll stay with us again when...

Alabama
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Sunset Beach Inn was the perfect choice for a relaxing beach vacation. The price for the amenities cannot be beat. Bikes are provided and that was a HUGE plus. My husband and I ended up not driving most of the week because of the bikability of the island. The only drawback to this amenity is there is a 3 hour...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trish_Reids
Bill W, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Trish, Thank you for sharing this nice review of your stay with us. I'm glad you had such a great time! You obviously made the most of your visit and we hope you'll continue to make Sunset Inn your home when visiting Sanibel for a relaxing getaway in the future. We'll look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Bill...

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (392)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (68)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard King Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
4.9 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,923 reviews
7.5 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
632 reviews
5.5 km away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
651 reviews
12.8 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5611
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $296 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Beach Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Beach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look for surrounding area hotels that have better customer service which there is West Inn, Sanibel Holiday Inn ISLAND INN much better”
 of 5 bubbles normal563, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“there is a guest laundry room”
 of 5 bubbles 280kh, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The second floor rooms closer to the ocean have the best views of the gulf and of course are closer to the water (210-219)”
 of 5 bubbles JimOKelly, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd Floor!”
  • Incredible view from Room
  • Beach Sunset
 of 5 bubbles Anonymouswe239, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in room 203 it was totally fine in the front of the hotel. A short walk to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles RayMaxNYC, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay