We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,866: English reviews
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 19 November 2016

October, November are the best time to visit. Warm enough for the water activities and cool enough for biking. The resort included all the activities such as biking, kayaking, peddle boarding, tennis. The best deal is to book directly thru the resort, they have different deals that you can choose from.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 733celines
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 733celines, Thank you so much for the five star review! We are so glad you enjoyed a great Fall family vacation with us and all of the amenities we offer! We hope to see you again soon for more fun in the sun! Phillip Starling General Manager

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

My wife and I stayed here for two nights (17 & 18 November) as one of the stops on our fly-drive of Florida's Gulf Coast. We really enjoyed our stay and loved the atmosphere on Sanibel Island. We were allocated a room in Block C which was very nicely furnished, well equipped and extremely comfortable. The room was more like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robin S
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Robin S, Thank you so much for the five star review! We are glad your wife and you enjoyed your stay with us on beautiful Sanibel Island! Our rooms are full condominiums which provide our guests extra space and comfort. We do apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the Housekeeping that came with your package. Some travel agent website will...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Has everything you need for a great vacation - beach, pools, bikes, water activities - all included in your stay. Resort was clean and easy to get around. Nice to have restaurants and convenience store on site. Rooms were nice, but set up varied by room. we rented two condos and one was definitely nicer than the other. Convenient location...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank erinw445
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear erinw445, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear we had all you needed for a great vacation right on site! We like to think of our Resort as a cruise ship on land- you really don't need to leave the property if you don't want to! Our rooms...

Viera, Fl
Reviewed 18 November 2016

So many ammenedies that are included; bikes, kayaks, beach toys, umbrellas, lounge chairs.... There is a bar & lunch place at the pool which offers decent food & drinks. There is a new hibachi restaurant that opened up inside this resort which is absolutely delicious! Fresh ingredients & knowledgable staff. Unfortunately the breakfast buffet was not good at all. Cold,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 416allisons
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 416allisons, Thank you for reviewing your great girls getaway! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the wide range of amenities we offer as well as Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar! We sincerely apologize that you encountered cold food at the breakfast buffet as this certainly is not the norm! We hope to see you again for your...

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Very relaxing place and island, lovely comfortable room, lovely pool bar excellent food at lunch. Japanese restaurant lovely , we had an enjoyable stay. Will return in the future and recommend it to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank I1079CWstevend
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear I1079CWstevend, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent island getaway! We are so glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Phillip Starling General Manager

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 17 November 2016

I love Sanibel Island, and the resort is on a fantastic beach with great pools. hot tub, etc. I was disappointed that the room looked so dated and that little care was given to the transitions in the flooring. There were big gaps at the bathtub and a closet. For the cost, I expected better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Katherine G, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for bringing your experience to our attention. While we are so glad you enjoyed our beachfront location and great pool area, we sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered in the room. Our team is addressing your concerns. We hope to see you for your next...

Greenacres, Florida
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Our only complaint this stay was that the floors of the condo were dirty- turned the kids And our feet black. Also glass on living room furniture is very loose and dangerous. Especially with two toddlers (F-208)otherwise always happy this is our 5th stay. The rooms are always nice, staff and other guests are always friendly, and resort is family...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hpuccio
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear hpuccio, Thank you for taking the time to review your fifth stay at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa! We do apologize for the condition of the floors and glass tops, our team has added additional grips in order to better secure these. We do include information on noseeums in the welcome letter that each guest receives at check-in,...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

The Location is really good direct Beach access. The Hotel had better times. So the quality, design and cleaness of the Room are below average. The size and layout are good. Clean is something else, but we learned today since we booked a package itvseems cleaning changing of towels and bed sheds is not included this is odd but lesson...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank broetz
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Beach beach and more beach with so many shells .... access to the beach was amazing... view from room was the gulf perfect. The efficacy we stay in was perfect! Kitchen was adorable... staff was fantastic.... we'll be back !!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L1137CGsusanf
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear L1137CGsusanf, Thank you for the great review of your great stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our mile long stretch of seashell filled beach! We can't wait to see you back for your next Sanibel escape! Phillip Starling General Manager

Mooestown, NJ
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Pleased with our visit -- requested a 2 bedroom with 1 king and 2 doubles-was told they would do their best - we got a 1 king, 2 twins and an extra bedroom with another king bed -- instead got 3 bedrooms -- very spacious, clean and perfect! Only complaint was in our package a poolside cabana was included-no one...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S5384LDjoannes
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear S5384LDjoannes, Thank you for the five star review! We are so glad the three bedroom unit was perfect for your visit! We do apologize that the cabana was not available for the day you wished, but are glad to hear all worked out with the food and beverage credit. We hope to see you again for your next Sanibel...

1,130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (439)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (661)
Viewed
Amenities (184)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Coastal Apartment (114)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Coastal Apartment (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.8 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
635 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,184 reviews
16.2 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,519 reviews
1.7 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,191 reviews
1.9 km away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $344 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some Rooms are condos so individually owned; each will be furnished differently There are four floors in each building”
 of 5 bubbles Dmp136, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are helpful to avoid the sounds of people dragging chairs across the floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 444bethd, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front building facing the beach must be nice. Avoid ground floor apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles Sergiocrandon, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Recommend ocean or beach view”
 of 5 bubbles 288patriciah, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a gulf view room!”
 of 5 bubbles smfreric, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay