We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ponce De Leon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ponce De Leon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 522: English reviews
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our fourth time staying at this hotel - we've always had a great experience each time. However, this time was exceptional! We had a small problem with the toilet in our room in the morning, which inhibited further use of the bathroom. The receptionist graciously offered us another room to be able to use the facilities. Great friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mommabearct
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is for The Mansion Inn, not the actual Ponce De Leon Hotel a few blocks away. Needing a place in downtown St. Pete at the last minute, we settled on the Mansion Inn. For the price we found it to be quite cozy and even charming. Our host Sabrina was very hospitable and made herself available for anything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Junroc69
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose this hotel for its proximity to the Mahaffey Theater, where I was attending a concert, and because it looked more "interesting" than yet another chain hotel. Although I only spent one night, my experience was quite enjoyable. Check-in was FAST, and I was given a quiet corner room on the 6th floor. There were windows on two sides,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Everett94
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL - Tried to check in at 3 pm, had to wait in lobby for 45 min before being allowed in our room. The next day, tried to get in our room around noon. Keys didn't work. Manger tried 4 different times with other keys including a regular turn style key, she couldn't get us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
PonceDeLeonHotel, Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

We always charge the credit cards that are provided by the guest which would be the cause of the credit card being charged, you are responsible in providing us with a valid credit card. To have stayed here for the full two nights and wanting to be refunded , based on a mistake made on your part, is just not...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rude and unprofessional front desk staff. Had to park offsite and was quoted one price by the staff and was charged more once we got to the garage. Was then given my room key and when arriving to my room it still had not been cleaned. Later that night when we finally got into our room we found pubic hair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessicamatts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is extremely run down and this is the worst bed I have ever slept in and I am 46. Smelled of I don't know what. Very disappointed. Friendly staff. Good location close to lots of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie H
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You have to beware that you have to park in the local parking garage across from the hotel. You can walk any where. Because you are close to resturants, mussuems, and other places to walk to. You are only three blocks from a movie theather.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed here. The first time was with my husband and I so liked the hotel I came back with my mother for an overnight stay in St Petersburg. This hotel is not for everyone. If you are expecting a standard hotel room just like every other hotel room you have ever stayed in,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

I spent one night in this sweet gem, right near the water in St. Petersburg's vibrant downtown. The room was small but charming - the elevator was very slow and a little dicey, but here were the only faults I found. The hotel restaurant, Ceviche, is hopping, and there are two bars open late with food. The service was exceptional,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leluterp
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I will never stay here again. Rude & Unprofessional front desk ladies. Run down hotel. should never have stayed here. Elevator broke that evening. Had to walk up & down 6 flights with luggage. No compensation or reduction in rate. Only 1 key given per room. Claim they told us not to get separated when we checked in. NOT! Checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whisperwd

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.8 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 39 in St. Petersburg
1,169 reviews
0.6 km away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#6 of 39 in St. Petersburg
536 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#21 of 39 in St. Petersburg
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 39 in St. Petersburg
1,379 reviews
1.5 km away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Price Range: $140 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponce De Leon Hotel St. Petersburg, Florida
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ponce De Leon Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Ponce De Leon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have their own special uniqueness...”
 of 5 bubbles mommabearct, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room, they are bigger and have better views.”
  • view from street near hotel
  • sitting area
  • Toilet area of bathroom
 of 5 bubbles 946CherylD, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay some where else!”
 of 5 bubbles whisperwd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any area of the Hotel you are in HEAVEN.”
 of 5 bubbles sabrinadM5793EJ, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the third floor and didn't have an issue”
 of 5 bubbles CarenEV, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay