We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,062: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a wonderful time from the moment that we entered the gates. I used valet for my car, which was unloaded by the bellman and our bags were taken to our room. The lady at the front desk was very efficient, she checked us in immediately, and shared all the amenities that the resort had to offer. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review

Linda, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you back again soon.

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The location is really nice, right on the beach (ask for a room with balcony and ocean view). You can watch the dolphins swimming and playing in the sea. Take a (big) walk to pass a grille, really exotic place and not a lot of people. We saw a manatee and lots of beautiful big birds. The rooms however are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatiaVE
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location but it is tired and dated. The room was dirty and the sheets had holes. The public areas were also dated and dirty in places. Only the reception lobby was of a standard I would expect Virgin Holidays use this hotel and I think they should think carefully about continuing to do this....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chugleighconway
flpisces67
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We loved our stay here! We will go back for sure! If you don't have kids there are places at the resort, like the adult only pool, down at the beach and in many of the bars where you can have a more peaceful time. If you do have kids, like we do, this place is awesome for keeping the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flpisces67
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so glad that you fully enjoyed your vacation with us and all that we have to offer.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I came to the resort for an outing with my company. I decided to make a night of it and reserved a suite. It was a wonderful day! I was exhausted by the time I got around to checking in for the evening. The front desk clerk was friendly and extremely efficient. She made sure that I knew exactly where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review

Kimberly, glad to hear you enjoyed your night with us! We hope to see you back again for a family vacation.

Saint Johns, FL
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A friend (who is local to Tampa) recommended TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort for our family. Its where they go for their "staycations". The front desk clerk didn't disappoint with a friendly smile and tons of information about the resort. Now the property is not "new", but it is very well maintained and underwent a major renovation just a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G C
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review

So glad to hear that your family had a wonderful time with us! Hope to see you back on the beach sometime soon.

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Awesome, what a stay, great people great time and food... Would stay here anytime and look ahead to stay here again... We had a great time. Love all the things you have for family to do and see, we are going to start making Tradewind are family vacation spot. Thank you. Rivera family..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctriverafamily
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you'll be returning! Hope to see you again soon for another family vacation.

Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewed 19 August 2013

From the moment we pulled up from our long drive until we reluctantly checked out, we were treated by the staff and resort wonderfully. The room was super comfortable and the view of the beaches and pools was perfect. The resort had very good food and great service. Trade Winds offers fun kids' activities including pool relay races, movies at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda720
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just spent 7 days at TWIGBR (catchy, huh?) Family of 5, kids aged 6,9,11. We used this as our "chill" week after 14 days in Orlando doing Disney etc. Overall verdict - very good but then I did my research (not always the case, as noted on occasion by my wife) If, like me, you're sometimes tempted to use price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew M
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

So many amenities at the beach most included with your rate their beach is 2nd to none with their slide and mini waterpark in the ocean they also have paddleboats mini golf trapeze area and pirate ship there is no better value with children ages 5-15

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jongar6

1,997 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1738)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (357)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (314)
Viewed
Room/Suite (241)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (155)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (586)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (224)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
2.4 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,326 reviews
0.4 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,743 reviews
27.5 km away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#22 of 95 in Clearwater
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 km away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $374 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from TradeWinds Island Grand Resort staff and other travellers.
135 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (135)

Questions? Get answers from TradeWinds Island Grand Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the 4th floor and had a decent view of the beach!”
 of 5 bubbles yardietoo, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book the Jacaranda building facing the ocean! 2nd floor rooms were great so we could use the stairs instead of elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles MamaGina2017, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“you can save a bundle by opting for a non-gulf view room.”
 of 5 bubbles lovetowatchmadmen, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a troom with either a view or balcony”
 of 5 bubbles DNWA, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not upgrade to balcony rooms”
 of 5 bubbles paulrB1905RR, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5