We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Booking.comUSD 89*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 387: English reviews
Start your review of Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
 Click to rate
Troy, Michigan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you're looking for a 5-star hotel, the Magnuson is not it. HOWEVER, we found the rates to be much lower than nearby hotels, and the staff is amazing. Garry, Joel, Joey and others will take a personal interest in you and your stay, doing all they can to make it the best. Also, the Magnuson is next door to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9shutterbugs
Powder Springs, Georgia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is hotel was amazing last minute reservation and the staff was amazing! The room was clean! Bed was comfortable! As for the train I heard it once at 740pm I would def use hotel again! Great service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanadee2013
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am a 4th Grade Teacher who came from a small town from Immokalee with 29 students. The service from every employee was absolutely amazing, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing. We visit St. Augustine every year and always go to this hotel because they are so reliable and take care of anything we might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located on a tidal river...sit on the raised patio, surrounded by flowers, and watch eagles, herons, dolphins, or the sun setting over the water. Train line built by Henry Flagler, industrialist who developed Florida coast, offers rare close-up views of occasional trains - kids and train buffs run to watch. Neighborhood across the street includes many architectural styles, from large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cola K
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the Magnuson Hotel was undergoing some renovations the staff made you feel like you were special to them. The room was great. We were on the back side of the hotel and there were train tracks. OMG I though because I just knew the train would keep me up. That was not the case. It was rather exciting. My...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carlina B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Magnuson over the weekend for a local festival. Price was a bit high for this type of hotel, however this is what you get when you come during a busy time. Pros: - The owners were there serving breakfast. They are a wonderful husband/wife couple who are obviously putting in a lot of investment, time, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScenicLegs
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

it is not a 4 stars, I give 3 stars Do not stay in this hotel, there is a cargo train that passes every hour day and night. Terrible Also, they charge a resort fee i asked why is for the parking space Parking is not free

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank itsnotfun
MagnusonStaugustine, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for the bad experience you had in our hotel. Unfortunately, yes we have a train passing by the hotel, however, every hour is an exaggeration. We are always try to accommodate our guest and we would have been happy to move you to a room in the frond of our hotel. Our employees are all very...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I would call it a budget hotel it was clean and comfortable and newly renovated(some areas were still being renovated). They had 24 check in which was great as we didn't arrive until 11.30pm. There was free parking and while I would describe it as being just outside the old town it was certainly possible to walk from it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HoppyJH
MagnusonStaugustine, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are convinced that, when the hotel is totally renovated, we have a great place for our future guest. As I do not know which room you stayed in, I can guarantee that all our AC units are replaced as we speak. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future...

Israel
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Liked the fridge in the room, the room was quite clean, the view is very beautiful but windows were dirty as hell. :) Also didn't like the disposable tableware at the breakfast. The price was very high for this level of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilya P
MagnusonStaugustine, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. After hurricane Matthew, we are going through a 100% renovation. The reason for the window being cloudy is that air got in between the double windows. In the last stage of our renovation, all the windows will be replaced, however, we apologize for not explaining this to you upon your arrival. At all...

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Between the construction in the motel and the train that runs behind it...oh and when the A/C comes on on it sounds like a plane taking off...it was fine. On the plus side, you don't spend a lot of time in the room when you visit St. Augustine. Another plus side it was $80 a night. Wouldn't do it again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki O
MagnusonStaugustine, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry to read that you had a bad experience in our hotel. We are always try our best to accommodate our guests. We would have been happy to change you to an other room and make your stay as pleasant as possible. You are right, after hurricane Matthew, we are renovating the hotel. (including replacing all...

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#49 of 78 in St. Augustine
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.0 km away
No photo provided
Merida Inn & Suites
#55 of 78 in St. Augustine
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine is located in scenic downtown St. Augustine, overlooking the beautiful San Sebastian River and Flagler Era railroad to the west. Leave your car and walk to area restaurants and shops, plus the town trolley and train stops are a 10 minute walk from the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. You will be minutes from shopping at the Belz Outlet Mall, gator viewing at the Alligator Farm Zoological Park, and the fast paced world of racing at the Daytona International Speedway are all near the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Address: 1111 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3124 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Price Range: $124 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views on back side, overlooking the river.”
colak595, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We were on the second floor in the back and it was quiet even when the train passed through.”
776carlinab, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room away from the busy road”
HoppyJH, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms towards the front Near the pool are the best.”
DarinTalbot, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“don't get on the back.. train comes through.”
  • notice the railroad tracks?
deniseb275, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 89* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUSD 203
Expedia.comUSD 89
CancelonUSD 120
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates