We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Booking.comUSD 108*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 144*
USD 108*
Great Deal
USD 143*
USD 143*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 597: English reviews
Start your review of The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
 Click to rate
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Entering into the building there is a sign posted stating that "This is a Smoke Free Property" but no where on the website does it state that. They do have chairs right outside of the hotel with ashtrays if you want to smoke but you can't smoke on the rooftop bar/pool. This hotel does not have a balcony. I guess...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squawlady
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a wonderful boutique hotel. We stayed here overnight​ for our anniversary. The room was lovely,we had a river view, king bed was comfy and the bathroom was spacious and clean. Best priced hotel we have ever stayed at. I have paid 3x's the amount for a room this nice. Staff was helpful. We'll definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonijohn
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's great to hear that you had a wonderful time visiting with us here in Punta Gorda. We appreciate your feedback and do hope you visit with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Summer Holman

Venice, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was amazing the minute we walked in. The room was top notch with a huge bathroom and walk-in shower. Everything was in the room was what you would expect in hotel that hundreds more. The rooftop pool and bar offered an excellent view at sunset. There is even a rooftop herb garden. The food was really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VeniceFoodie1
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear VeniceFoodie1, Thank you for staying with us on your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the room and oversize bathrooms. It's great that you also took advantage of the rooftop pool as well as Perch 360 restaurant and bar. We do hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Summer Holman

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently planned our wedding at The Wyvern. A small group of 30 that included overnight accommodations. The event planner made herself available every time I called to add or extend their stay requiring 10 rooms. The private dining room was prepared to my exact specifications. Planning a buffet style dinner can be "iffy" but not so here. Our menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leenlis
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Leenlis, Thank you for taking the time to review our property on your recent event. It was a pleasure working with you on your event and are thrilled your guest enjoyed their overnight stays as well as the dinner. We hope you consider us for any future events you may have! Sincerely, Summer Holman

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The price of drinks at the roof top bar are ridiculous. This is Punta Gorda NOT Manhattan. New owner has increased prices significantly. The food is average at best. Staff is inexperienced. Shame, it WAS a very nice place to watch a sunset.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnFehn
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear JohnFehn, We apologize if you feel our pricing is too expensive and will consider your comments regarding the pricing as well as service. We are continuing to try and make improvements and only want our staff to be the best as well as our guest to receive the best! Thank you again for taking the time to review and...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Wyvern this past weekend - and chose to stay here based on the reviews posted here and the location. I'll start with the positives - because there is only one- the location was fabulous-thus the 2 star rating. On to the negatives - the entry way is not clean - entry mats were dirty, with frayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newtoohio
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. We never have the intentions of anyone leaving our property dissatisfied and please be ensured that your comments will be discussed between all department heads and ownership so that we can make improvements. We do only allow pets and service animals to...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this room online, then followed up with a phone call to make sure we got the room we wanted - higher floor, corner, jetted tub, away from road. Customer service on phone was excellent. By the time we arrived very late and tired (thanks, United!), we were greeted quickly and professionally with a very helpful man who had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you were greeted so quickly and taken care of right away. We do hope you will visit with us again in the near future! Sincerely, Summer Holman

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Checked in early & Naomi at front desk was friendly, helpful, & very accommodating. View from room was of the nearby marina. The location was fabulous & we walked everywhere. Our room was clean and spacious. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glolet
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Glolet, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that Naomi took such great care of you during your stay, she is truly one of our best! We do hope you stay with us again in the near future! Sincerely, Summer Holman

Lutz, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bed super comfy, toilet paper not so much. very nice room, big bathroom, our small old dog very welcome. Rooftop bar and pool area awesome. We finally found the refrigerator on our last day there.(our fault for not checking it out sooner) Walking distance to some awesome restaurants. Would love to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3minpins2015
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Punta Gorda. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our large guest rooms and even larger bathrooms. It's great to hear you enjoyed the upstairs Perch 360 restaurant and bar as well! We hop to see you again in the near future! Thanks, Summer...

Stover, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place to stay after a sail. comfortable room, comfy bed. room service good. Would recommend getting a better price if possible, we paid too much for what it was. Enjoyed the rooftop restaurant and view. Staff was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Barbara M, Thank you for your recent review of our property. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself while visiting. Our pricing does vary depending on the season you visit. Please keep in mind typically after Thanksgiving through Easter is the most expensive time of the year in this area due to all of the travel to escape the cold...

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.5 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
490 reviews
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Price Range: $141 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a water view.”
Leenlis, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms have a jetted tub and separate, large shower. Both beautifully done.”
JenA100, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“See if you hear jack hammers as you enter the lobby. If so, stay somewhere else.”
JEM727, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great view!”
344roccom, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All king rooms are guaranteed a harbor view.”
courtney55, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 108* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 143
Hotels.comUSD 143
getaroom.comUSD 144
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates