We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Hotel South Beach

Show Prices
#169 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Clifton Hotel South Beach
Clifton Hotel South Beach
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Paper wall hotel. You can hear aby little sound or noise from neigbhors. The doors are non insulation - you hear every step at the corridor.. Very noisy AC. The windows in 1st floor are locked(if to open - you can get fine 100$). Windows view is to another building in 2m. Super small rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andriusp174
DSCornish, Owner at Clifton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our rooms are small and functional. We ask guests to keep the windows closed because many like to open them and keep the air conditioning on. If I could hear every step in the corridor, I too would be disappointed, and while I have heard occasional guests when staying on property, I did not personally...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't plan to stay and relax! Platform bed with the cheapest mattress. Bathroom needs to be updated. Carpet needs to be cleaned. It's half residence half hotel so they don't care about how loud they are. There is an ice machine but it's a little ice maker. Room was not cleaned daily & towels were not replenished let alone being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A Nichole S
DSCornish, Owner at Clifton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review

Nichole - We appreciate your feedback. Our standard is to clean rooms daily - not sure what happened in your situation, it is a very rare complaint. We replenish towels using the green program - so if re-hung we do not replace. If left on the floor we do replace. Guests in South Beach can be noisy, although having stayed...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. Great location for the beach and restaurants. no parking though. We had to pay the garage next door to park for the night. Walking distance from everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lolat469
DSCornish, Owner at Clifton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review

Thanks for your compliments about the friendliness and helpfulness of Tirso and his team. We're glad you found the hotel clean, and as you mentioned, walking distance to all of South Beach - no rental care needed - and if you want one for the day, we have them available ON SITE. David.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Overall this hotel is in the perfect location. You can walk to anything you want to do in South Beach. The outside of the place is dated, but most of the SOBE hotels are older from the outside. We got a deluxe queen room, which had two queen beds and an additional room with bunk beds. We never touched the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 6 August 2015

The hotel was very trendy and close to the best part of Ocean Drive.The rooms were kind of small. There was a bar downstairs in the lobby, but we opted to just hit ocean drive. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

Pros: location, price Cons: cockroachs, lack of customer service, additional charges to my card, not to mention the entire hotel has a awkward smell i can't seem to pinpoint. Spend a little more and stay somewhere else. Being a "boutique" hotel is not excuse for the lack of cleanliness

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank markkr1000
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 August 2014

If you are going to spend the night out, and not drink & drive it's perfect. Because the thin walls will allow you to listen everything. Definitely request a room in the second floor. The front desk people is moody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband (fiancé at the time) and I stayed at the Clifton Hotel in Spring 2013 when we visited for the weekend and we had a positive experience. The room & bathroom were clean & modern and the staff was friendly & helpful. We also loved that it was within walking distance to the beach and the Art Deco district...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsey S
Randers, Denmark
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Don’t ever use this hotel or any hotel in the Ascend Hotel Collection chain. We were visiting the hotel 2 times during our Christmas holidays 2013. The first time we checked in using my husband’s credit card and the second time we used my credit card. We had paid for both stays before arrival, so we only had to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kristian W
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at the Clifton in Miami before my cruise and I can't say enough horrible things about this place. It is a pure dump!! First they charged my credit card for accidentals instead of just putting a hold on my card like most hotels and charge my credit card for resort fees which it is far from being that!...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chenderson

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (73)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Pierre
#184 of 206 in Miami Beach
68 reviews
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#159 of 206 in Miami Beach
458 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#128 of 206 in Miami Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#95 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,301 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel was recently transformed so guests can enjoy a classic boutique experience that is fresh, hip and eco-friendly. We looked at all aspects of updating our 35 room Art Deco historic building using resource conserving technology and selecting environmentally friendly materials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel South Beach

Address: 1343 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $140 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifton Hotel South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Clifton Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Miami Beach
Clifton Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#109 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifton Hotel South Beach staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Clifton Hotel South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor”
 of 5 bubbles dianap740, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Away from lobby and the street”
 of 5 bubbles Workinp, 12 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor are quieter. Try to get the suite at the end of the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles Andreutzza, 13 Jun 2013 | Read review
“If you don't mind stairs... ask for a room on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles CT261, 7 May 2013 | Read review
“Pick a room in any other hotel”
 of 5 bubbles daveandi217, 10 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay