We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Penguin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,097 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 765: English reviews
Idaho Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never stayed in a hotel where the staff were more friendly. They were very helpful with our baby stroller, and opening doors. made us all feel very important. One of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. Rooms are small, bathrooms/showers are great. beach across the street, just a fun funky/art deco area. Edelio went out of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie R
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie, Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. It is a true pleasure to read your comments! Our top priority is to ensure that every guest is satisfied with his / her experience. With an ideal location directly across from the Atlantic Ocean, the Penguin Hotel is just steps from South Beach's best attractions, restaurants and entertainment,...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you enter this hotel and booked. If you drink alcohol, you are given a complimentary drink upon arrival. They have a restaurant included also in the hotel. Good food had t-bone steak, awesome.The rooms were cleaned and nice size. Valet parking. Across street from the beach on Ocean Drive. Beautiful view. Everyone was nice that worked in the Hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 762yvetteb
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 762yvetteb, Thank you for your kind review. We are genuinely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to hosting you again. Our Hotel is located on famous Ocean Drive at 14 street in the heart of South Beach and across the street from the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy your stay at the Penguin Hotel where comfort and service...

Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wasn't wowed by Miami Beach in general. We wanted to find a hotel on Ocean Drive but we spent a lot of time trying to avoid getting lured into overly expensive restaurants by the beach. The hotel is ideally located near the parking lot ($20 per day). Breakfast was included but it wasn't continental breakfast, instead there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helenkitty
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helenkitty, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. It was a true pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decent hotel in perfect location!! Close to everything. Rooms are ok but not more! Beds are very comfortable and we were lucky to get a room with a stunning view! Parking is quite expensive. A lot of things are not that good but with the perfect location and comfortable beds at a reasonable price i give it 4/5.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niclas H
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niclas, Thank you for your positive review, your feedback is essential to us. We are very happy to hear you had a good time. You have also provided us with pertinent comments and we would not be able to improve our guest experience without such feedback from our valued guests. We appreciate you honesty and we will definitely review...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We spent one night here recently and were satisfied with everything. We arrived very early and stored our luggage until check in time. We wandered lincoln road for a few hours until the room was ready. There is a resort fee for around $20. This covers the wifi, a welcome drink,beach towels and breakfast. The rate was reasonable for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitch J
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mitch, Thank you for recommending the Penguin hotel on TripAdvisor community. We are very pleased to hear you had a good time. The Penguin Hotel is located in the center of South Beach close to all attractions and activities that Miami has to offer. We offer modern guests rooms with unique design elements. We look forward to hosting you...

UK
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I really don't know where to start with this little gem as everything is so good. The Art Deco hotel is beautiful, with the rooms spacious and well appointed. Mirrored walls and a full wall canvas. Fridge, ironing board and hairdryer. The staff just cannot do enough for you. I have been lucky enough to travel the world and stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UkFred
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fred, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are located on Ocean Drive just steps from the crystal clear waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Our oceanfront Art Deco hotel offers modern guests room with unique design elements. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Although a room was available it cost $30 to check in early. Odd smells in the hallway and the room, perhaps mildew? The breakfast was free, but rather scant. Wait staff had different ideas about what was included each day. Room was barren, only a bed and no place to layout luggage or anything. View from the room was of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Randy, Thank you for taking the time to post the review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. For breakfast we are currently working on continental breakfast menu for more variety. I will bring this up to the food and beverage manager. In addition we will be renovating our rooms and lobby area in the coming weeks. This should...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Terrible hotel...room reduced to bare minimum, no desk and no table...sheets looks old and worn...hallway is dark and smell bad...floor looks dirty...breakfast served after 7:30...service is very slow...I don't recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbenhami45
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ben, I'm sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with the hotel. For breakfast we are currently working on continental breakfast menu for more variety. I will bring this up to the food and beverage manager about taking so long the food to brought to you. As for the old sheets and the floor dirty...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My fiance surprised me with a trip to SouthBeach, MI for my 40th Birthday and a suprise wedding proposal. It was just us two, When we arrived, the location is great. Its the center of everything, however, once inside the establishment. Its a different story. They have clean, colorful beach towels, very courteous staff. However, this entire establishment needs more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twhitt829
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Whit, Thank you for taking the time to post the review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. For breakfast we are currently working on continental breakfast menu for more variety. I will bring this up to the food and beverage manager about the cold food. In addition we will be renovating our rooms and lobby area in the...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I came here these guys james and Melanie were professionals they were great they were profound and they made my Miami experience incredible. They is a must see! Perfect location great view on the heart of south beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Daniel S, Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin, We greatly appreciate you for taking the time taken in leaving us with your comments. We are glad to hear you had a nice experience with us. Thank you for your kind words.

550 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (332)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Double Queen (46)
Viewed
One King with Sofa Bed (44)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#93 of 202 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitelaw Hotel
#64 of 202 in Miami Beach
1,342 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 202 in Miami Beach
587 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range: $152 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penguin Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Penguin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Booked through trip advisor”
 of 5 bubbles 762yvetteb, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no window views unless you obtain like the best Suite they have.”
 of 5 bubbles twhitt829, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure what to say here, we didn't get what we booked.”
 of 5 bubbles 823scottd, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best view and night life”
 of 5 bubbles sequitah2016, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We are here only and did not stay. Restaurant was first class and Edelio well worth seeking out”
 of 5 bubbles alysonh982, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay