We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 431: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Eden Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Walsall. West Mids
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My hubby and I stayed at this hotel on a self drive weekend break in March. We arrived early and got a friendly reception from the staff who advised us how to get public transport into the centre of Durham. The location of this hotel is really good with a regular bus service just outside the hotel. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan J
gm_dur, Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan J, How lovely it is to read your review. I am glad you found our Reception team friendly and helpful with organizing your holiday via public transport, i hope you took full advantage of the full range of exciting things to do the surrounding areas. it was nice to also read that you enjoyed all aspects of the...

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely friendly hotel.Food is excellent with a lots of choice.Rooms are large & very comfy beds.I highly recommend a break here.Location on a good bus route.The hotel as its own pool & Jacuzzi,a pool table & a dart board.All in all an excellent place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie G
gm_dur, Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Connie G, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the Eden Arms Hotel. I am glad to see that you took full advantage of the facilities we have to offer here and that you enjoyed it. I wish you all the best in your future travels and look forward to seeing...

Wirral, Merseyside
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

46 have just returned from a 4 day break at the Eden Arms. Daniel the undermanager was extremely helpful in fact all the staff were great, always smiling and helpful. Food was great with a nice choice each meal time. breakfast is buffet style so you can eat as much or as little as you want. The hotel was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bootscooters
gm_dur, Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bootscooters, Having read through your review i must say it is delightful to read that you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff and myself and I will pass your praise on, it was a pleasure having you stay the Eden Arms. I look forward to seeing you in the...

berwick upon twed
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were recommended to stay at the Eden Arms, but warned that it may appear tied, but offered great value - we weren't disappointed. We hadn't realised that our price included our Evening meal, Although portions were obviously geared towards the older coach traveller, it was something that we had not expected so it was a bonus. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tweedsider
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review! we really appreciate your comments and we're so glad that you opted to try us out for yourselves. I know that we can count on welcoming you back, and we look forward to doing so. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The changing rooms in this hotel for pool access are absolutely disgusting, desperately need updating and cleaning properly, extremely unhygienic not only do they look awful and unsightly but smell horrendous as well. I won't be returning as I personally wouldn't let an animal in there, sad really as nothing a cloth and a bit of bleach wouldn't fix !!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hangerbed
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

A rather strongly worded review, but one which deserves a measured response in order that we may address your concerns and explain any actions that we will be taking to ensure that any issues raised can be actioned and duly rectified. Our leisure club is deep cleaned every 12 hours by our night staff, however,this clearly did't suffice on the...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As the title says a tired hotel but with absoultely wonderful staff who really care and do deliver exceptional service on all levels. If I owned the hotel I would stop the free drinks on Saturdays and spend the saved monies on a refurb, the refurbed rooms are lovely so well done to the team Pleasant stay but due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 747Bryan
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments and you'll be pleased to know that we have the final 12 rooms scheduled for refurbishment in 2017. We welcome guests of all ages and we do hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

northumberland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My hubby and I went for a 1 night stay, just for some together time. We had a great time, laughed the entire time, ok so..The Hotel is dated. The changing rooms need updating in the spa. The actual pool area was alright. The Bar area was pleasant and the staff were polite. The food in the restaurant left a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dellasdame
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest comments and thank you for taking the time to let us know where we fell short of your expectations. We appreciate the points of praise as well and we do hope that you chose us again should you visit County Durham in the future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson. General Manager

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for a weekend on the special Party package which includes 3 nights dinner B&B plus 4 free drinks each on the Saturday night and it was unbeatable value. The room was large and had been newly upholstered, and you were provided with a kettle, tea and coffee The staff were very friendly. Breakfasts were excellent and the dinners,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MillsWalbyoff
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Its great to hear that you found our quality product value for money and our staff friendly, two of the things that see us going that extra mile for you every day of your holiday. We would love to see you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here on the way to Glasgow very warm welcome small room and bed but very clean ,adjoining room you could hear people talking Internet did not work for us might work else where in the hotel Ordered a bar meal I would just say wouldn't do it again Hotel has a pool and spa which was available at no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah g
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and we're glad you found the room to be clean and the leisure club a plus. Wi Fi is available in the public areas, I apologise if this wasn't mentioned on check in. With regards to your bar meal I would have liked some elaboration on the reasons why you would not repeat the...

Paisley
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Annual weekend away with sisters in law and one of the best in 15 years! The hotel is old and some parts need redecoration but we had a large twin room, clean, freshly painted with a modern en suite. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Food was served in plentiful portions and chef was great fun. Emily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaggisPaisley
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review, It's great to hear some of our fantastic team getting mentioned by name, Well deserved praise indeed. The entire team's hard work and dedication have transformed the hotel into one of our company's "Must Go" destinations over the last few years. We look forward to seeing you again, sometime soon I hope. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
7.1 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,999 reviews
8.6 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
744 reviews
14.5 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
6.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
0.0 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Rushyford
Price Range: $90 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
9 days ago
merseyside
7 months ago
Clevedon, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are ideal”
 of 5 bubbles ConnieG318, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only 2 floors, no lift, rooms facing front would be a preference”
 of 5 bubbles Bootscooters, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book one of the upgraded rooms very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 747Bryan, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It certainly pays to spend a little extra and have a Superior Room”
 of 5 bubbles davidaB1310SW, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lower numbered rooms are further from the entertainment below.”
 of 5 bubbles Venture65, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5