We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gulf View Waterfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 444: English reviews
East Fallowfield,PA
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I loved this place. It is a small complex and very much in the old style. The owner was very helpful. We arrived late in the afternoon after driving all the way from Fort Myers that day. We were hungry and asked for a recommendation. She recommended the Hide Away Café in Marathon and even made a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank traveler1106
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Having stayed in many motels, hotels, hostels, B&B's, homestays, etc... this is the second time I have ever felt motivated to make a recommendation. It is an old style place, clean and functional. I laid in bed while watching the sun shine on palm trees fluttering in the wind. My room was small, as was the price. The room amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan4cs6s
Ridgway, Colorado
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Everything was truly pleasant from booking until check out.This is a peaceful, beautiful resort with a helpful yet invisible staff.Very low key with friendly, happy guests. My boyfriend and I made some great connections. I would love to come back anytime in the future... Sincerely, Mary

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary P
Tijeras, New Mexico
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Mike and Stephanie went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We only stayed one night on this trip but would consider using it as a home base for future trips to the Keys. The grounds are lovely, you can walk to several restaurants, and the Dolphin Research Center is only 100 yards down the road. Very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvonne S
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights. Great little family run hotel, that is very relaxing and low key. (Dog and kid friendly) Good location in the middle keys to get to Key West or other keys for day trips. We always made sure to be back before sunset, to watch the sun go down with our friends....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NCSUWags
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, and found it a very clean, comfortable, covenant and friendly place. It is an older hotel, but has everything you need and it all works. We enjoyed the kayaking in the gulf right in front. The location is convenient to amenities in Marathon (e.g., stores, golf course) and is a easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delidog
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nothing was as advertised. A waste of money. Living area consisted of 2 uncomfortable futons and a TV so small you could hardly see it. Sliding screen door was off the track and very difficult to open. Communal balcony was furnished with a concrete table and bench. So disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ellen s
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is unfortunate to hear that you look back on your stay here with us as a bad experience. We try our best to go above and beyond for all of our guests, and the majority of our reviews reflect this. By providing your feedback we can continue to enhance each guests' experience by improving upon the points...

Nanuet, New York
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the Keys. Gulf View Waterfront Resort was just what we needed. As the name says, the property is waterfront, right on the Gulf. We were welcomed by the owner who brought us right to our room when we checked in. The property was beautiful and "eco-friendly". Loved the talking Cockatoo and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy P
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Old style hotel, friendly staff on the gulf for those great sunsets. Clean with a kitchenette. Nice property with pool. They can make improvements by adding a small side table next to the bathroom sink & adding a luggage rack. The only real negative were the sheets that would not stay on the bed. Hello owners.....an easy fix. I'd stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura T
Cabot, Vermont
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Gulf View Resort for one night while cycling the Keys. When we arrived at the office, there was our name on the welcome sign! Mike was very friendly and helpful as we checked in, then he brought us to our room. The room was absolutely clean. It was on the road side of the building, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janet b

735 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (53)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (470)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Guest Room (65)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (76)
Viewed
Pool (37)
Viewed
Queen Double Efficiency Room (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
16.9 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
17.1 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
8.1 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
727 reviews
1.7 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
259 reviews
33.2 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $150 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gulf View Waterfront Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
North West England, UK
2 months ago
2 months ago
Paris, Wisconsin
2 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Gulf View Waterfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the upstairs room”
jzeitz2017, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“#12 has a front and rear door which is quite handy for morning coffee and pool access.”
DanL36274, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For better ocean view, request a second floor room but may change price. Didn't see elevator, so second floor means schlepping your luggage.”
RobG917, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best rooms are top floor balcony overlooking ocean”
dianef869, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“air condition is too loud and the beds are bad...”
609achillesl, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5