We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hammocks at Marathon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hammocks at Marathon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hammocks at Marathon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went to the Hammocks for Spring Break, taking one 15 year old and two 17 year olds. The hotel is wonderful. We sat with the concierge and he told us all about the area, in a quick and efficient manner. We learned about the Marathon Lady for fishing and Porkys for lunch. This is a a small time share...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amy S
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Amy S, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are pleased you and your family had a wonderful stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the accommodations and staff. We hope to welcome you back soon and share happiness on your next visit.

Tupelo, Mississippi
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Went on 3 scuba diving boat trips while staying here which was main purpose of our vacation. Also took day trips to Key Largo & Key West. Nice scenery. Do not expect a beach at Hammocks. There is a harbor but no beach. Enjoyed the hot tub area. Pleasant stay but not my fav Bluegreen resort. It was fine as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank phall007
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello phall007, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and found the resort a good location for area activities. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Keys.

Westover, Maryland
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We usually go every spring, but decided to go in October for fantasy fest. Resort is always the best when it comes to customer service, great location, beautiful scenery and excellent amenities. Our favorite vacation location.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave I
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Dave I, Thank you for your review of The Hammocks. We are thrilled that the resort is your favorite vacation location. We appreciate the compliments regarding the resort and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Gronlid
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We loved our stay here, staff was excellent, lots of good places of where to go, what to eat. Easy drive to Key West, watched the sun set at Mallory Square!! Room was large, baloney's are also large. We were on a presentation and we loved the sales staff, not pushy, left feeling informed and excited!! Had to drive to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wambus
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Wambus, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed the large room and balcony. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Savage, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here as a group of 6, in 2 studio units. The rooms were large, and the balconies were great. The air conditioning worked very well. We did not have any bugs or other pests in our rooms. The rooms each had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, and dishes in them. There is a lot of parking. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RN_Mom_to_2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello RN_Mom_to_2, We are delighted you and your group had a nice stay at The Hammocks. We are happy you enjoyed the large rooms, balconies, and the pool area. We hope to see you again soon!

Sunfield, Michigan
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at The Hammocks at Marathon for 3 days end of January 2014. The grounds and property were amazing! View from our room of The Gulf was beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helped with things in the area. Food was awesome! We will definately stay here again if given the chance!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielle W
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Danielle W, We are thrilled you had a great time at The Hammocks. We appreciate your compliments regarding the property and staff. We hope to welcome you back and share happiness on your next visit.

Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were a little worried because of some of the reviews, but although I really appreciate top-of-the line accommodations, it is not something I require to enjoy myself on vacation. That being said, the accommodations were more than adequate and the staff was friendly and helpful. The one thing that would make The Hammocks much better would have been a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P K
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello P K, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the location. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Keys.

Ellijay, Georgia
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We are Bluegreen timeshare owners, so I had to compare this resort to the other timeshares we've stayed at and this is the worst, by far. Considering the cost of the stay, what we got in return was unacceptable. Apparently, the management gives away the best rooms to the people coming from nearby (mostly Miami) for a weekend, while we,...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Ksenoid
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Ksenoid, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hammocks. We regret to learn of your disappointment as a Bluegreen owner. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss your experience further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were a little worried about going here as some of the reviews were awful. However, we wondered if we had come to a different place! It was clean. It smelt fresh. The staff were lovely. Kind and polite and helpful. The room was large, quiet, clean well equipped and very comfortable. Only small drawback was that the TV was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank saramck
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello saramck, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are delighted you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Marathon.

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Christmas eve. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.We had an amazing view from our balcony and bedroom..There is a great pool, hot tub, Tiki bar, three grills.Customer service was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, large and with a very nice kitchen. We woke to that gorgeous view...stay here if you enjoy making...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pcbeachgal
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello pcbeachgal, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are thrilled that we were able to share happiness and make memories for you. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and amazing view. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Marathon Key.

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
1:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.2 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
649 reviews
0.7 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
2.4 km away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $269 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hammocks at Marathon staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Hammocks at Marathon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for pool view if you can”
 of 5 bubbles trspook1, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for one facing bay upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles janac163, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms 113, 213, 313 all face bay. there are only a few rooms that the view is not good”
 of 5 bubbles aslinpopup, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We heard that only Bluegreen guests get ocean or pool views. All rooms have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles srtxtraveler, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms have a great view, but you'll be spending most of your time touring the Keys anyway :-)”
 of 5 bubbles Bob19078, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay