We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yellowtail Inn

Expedia.comUSD 309*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 309*
USD 309*
USD 309*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Yellowtail Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowtail Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My girlfriend and I had lodging that did not work out which resulted in us needing a place to stay at the last minute. We ended up staying here and ended up in the room after 10pm. At first it appeared we had gotten lucky as it was a suite with small kitchen and everything else that goes with it....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stevanpierce808
Palm Springs, Florida
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Pros: Guest service personnel were very nice and helpful. The guy at the front desk deserves a better gig! :) View from room was nice. Cons: WAY overpriced for what you get (almost $200 a night). We stayed in the so called 2-bedroom suite / with ocean view. It was not 2 bedroom (a queen size bed with a futon),...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SusanS0914
Rock Hill
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a 3 bd 2 br looking out at the water, great view clean place.Nice staff they let us stay a few hours longer on our last day. Furniture needs updated but over all really clean and comfortable. The price was right.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wanda G
Valrico, Florida
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable, the central a/c was great in the keys, pet friendly (minimal to no fee), the white beach & iguanas were cute. I loved my view from the balcony and the peace & quite was exactly what I was looking for. Dont leave food or drinks on the counters or the sugar/pharoh ants will invade. Also, dont...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tyanne C
Goffstown, NH
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I wanted to write a review to let everyone know what an amazing, wonderful Inn this is. A few friends and myself were taking a trip to Key West and needed somewhere to stay for one night. While we were in Key Largo we went on HotWire to book a hotel around 10:15pm. HotWire set us up with YellowTail Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristy G
Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were bicycling our way down the keys and I chose this place based on its location. We wanted to bike about 30 miles a day and we had started at Tavernier Key that morning.) This is an adorable, slightly campy but lovely ocean side inn. Enjoyed quietly watching the sunrise over their magnificent pier with other guests in their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eugenie C
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I booked this room on travelocity secret rooms because hotels in the Keys are so expensive(especially on a Friday evening) that I ended up here. I was hoping that the reviews were wrong, but unfortunately they weren't. To start off, the good stuff: It is located off the beach,a nd I found the beach to be quite nice(it isn't sandy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
Montreal, Quebec Canada
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were looking for a place by the ocean in Marathon, FL. Through Expedia we found Yellowtail Inn. It is over priced. I realize that accomodations in the Keys are $$$expensive, but this one has the potential of being acceptable but it is run-down and not catered too. We are seasoned travellers and know the value of hotels. This one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankpo1814
Dawson, Georgia
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My husband and I were looking for somewhere affordable but right on the water and this place fit the bill. After reading all the reviews, we were a little concerned but decided we wouldn't be at the room much anyway so it wouldn't matter. This place is in a really good location between Islamorada and Marathon. (Closer to Marathon) Honestly,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ACooper1180
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! We loved having you here, and we always appreciate guests who understand the geography, as well as the laid-back attitude of the Florida Keys. Hope to see you again soon!

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We first stayed at Yellowtail Inn some 12 years ago. It was our favorite place to stay, quaint, quiet and the little bungalos offered a private, romantic setting. We just returned from the Keys and had the single worst experience with a hotel ever. The floor under the bed was so slanted that two people could not sleep in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick S
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish you would've alerted us to your problems while you were here, when we could have done something about it. Hopefully your next trip to the Keys will be more enjoyable.

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
16.0 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
261 reviews
7.5 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
16.2 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
34.0 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
changing to LaTeDa By The Sea www.latedabythesea.com ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellowtail Inn

Address: 58162 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $291 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowtail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yellowtail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowtail Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 105 is an oceanfront cottage where we stayed. Looks like one of the best on the property for scenery and relaxation.”
831grege, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go here.”
clarkebar99, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
PEFB, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Look at rooms online, then call and ask questions. Different units have different amenities”
Mermaidindisguise, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Move along to the next hotel on your list”
johnthefixerman, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 309* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 309
TravelocityUSD 309
TripAdvisorUSD 309
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates