We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropical Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tropical Cottages
Tropical Cottages
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Benezette, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Spent three days here and found the rooms old but clean. Staff people were friendly,, courteous and helpful. The place could use some TLC-lamps that don't work, ice makers that are broken and shower drains that take an hour to empty. Didn't try the Tiki bar, because the nightly music claim is fictional-never happened. Full kitchen, but not many cooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi P
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Tropical Cottages, we are happy to hear that you will visit again. On your next visit please feel free to ask the staff for assistance, it is not just our job to help, it is our pleasure! We have a store room full of light bulbs, cookware, dishes, etc.... and an ice machine...

LaCrosse, Wi
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We were happy to forfeit our money and stay elsewhere. Didn't look at all like the pictures. Smelly bathroom, broken tiles on the floor, bare light bulbs in wall sockets, doors to nowhere, peeling paint, dripping shower faucet, moldy musty odors, poor privacy, what more can we say? The beds. .....yuck! On top of that, when we expressed our feelings,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travelover
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

Just a short response to this review! This "Gentleman" and his party booked our 2 bed suite online at our website....saw the photos...read the descriptions, read the refund policy, and then agreed and booked the room. Upon arrival, he and his party decided Tropical Cottages, were not up to their standards. Sorry, per resort policy no refunds on cancellations the...

Reviewed 25 January 2013

We were traveling the keys for 3 days and needed a middle point to stay. Tropical cottages was in just the right location and not only that it was the cutest place ever!!! The rooms were homey and they had a great lounge area to enjoy yourself. The staff was super awesome and couldn't have been more helpful. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeann
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it is true, Marathon has everthing you need to make for a wonderful vacation in The Keys, and Sombrero Beach is fantastic! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your photo shoot thoughout The Keys. Being surrounded by four lovely ladies and their camera crews for two days...

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Best place these folks are rad! the cottages are darn cute and the staff is super friendly. there is a great little tiki bar and music most nights of the week. stay here if you hafe a chance. The cottage we got was nice, every cottage has a different color pastel theme, its a very relaxing atmosphere and the a/c...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowbirdsweettea
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at Tropical Cottages for three nights at the end of December. We really enjoyed our stay. The cottages were cute and looked just like the pictures on the website. The room was simple with a bed, bathroom, fridge, microwave and little table. We really liked the atmosphere there. In the evenings we hung out by the tiki bar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is the right place to stay if you value a great atmosphere and plenty of character. We stayed for 3 nights, in cottage 2. The main cottage area was lovely. The kitchen and bathroom were a little dated, but perfectly functional, though we didn't really use the kitchen and couldn't have made any full scale meals. The main thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Honeymoon_traveller1
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing Tropical Cottages for your vacation stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had the opportunity to enjoy all that The Keys have to offer. Marathon is called the "Middle Keys" for that reason, we are islands centrally located in The Florida Keys. There are many activities here,...

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Lovely cottages really quaint. Greated by a lovely lady who makes you feel at home. Bar area is relaxed and really cool. Coffee pot goes on for you at the bar in the morning. Wished we had one more night there will definitely be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Tropical Cottages in Marathon in January 2012 after a month long tour of the Florida Coastline. They are advertised as vintage accommodation, they are like our very old fashioned chalets of yesteryear. They have been decorated beautifully and modifications and updates are taking place all the time. The only thing I would say negative about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamtart6
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Ah yes, Rich is his name...and fishing is his game. He is also the handiest man in The Florida Keys. We feel fortunate to have him as part of the Tropical Cottages Staff. We would love to have a small seating area down by the boat docks, unfortunately...

Reviewed 2 January 2013

Upon arriving at the tropical cottages we walked down to the end of the street to find a swampy looking area with no access to water, beach, etc. The cottages are located right off a main highway which takes away from their supposed charm. We went to our cottage (#6) and found it shabby, dirty, and an overall disappointment. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank awasser
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

I am saddened to hear that your trip to the Keys was so terrible, and that you feel that it was because of your stay with us. I don't want to diminish your unhappiness with us, because clearly you found fault in everything we did, however for our future guests I must address some of your misconceptions! We don't advertise...

McAlester, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Extremely friendly staff. Loved the quiet laid back atmosphere. Nice change of pace when you've been in the chaos of Key West. Great outdoor tiki bar. Room had everything we needed especially since we spent most of our time sight seeing and really only used the room for resting. Would definitely come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rateorhate

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Premier King Cottage (55)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
3.4 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
3.6 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
259 reviews
5.7 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
727 reviews
3.1 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $154 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tropical Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere ethical”
anybeachanytime, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“stay away from this place”
ontheriveragain, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Probably any other but here”
  • Saw ants coming out in the toilet when flushed, opened the top and saw termite evidence
  • Very minor but you should remove the extra slats from the blinds so that it fits the windows
  • Not sure if this was a jet engine or an air conditioner, very loud and held in with plywood
  • Plywood covering a window
  • Floor was nasty not sure if it has been cleaned. A wet towel left on it and dried hard as a boar
  • Old furniture and some holes
  • Nothing like a vintage TV
  • First looks are okay
, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in Unit 2. Could hear traffic from highway and airplanes overhead”
telmquist1, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are probably no good rooms.”
KenB912, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5