We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harbor Lights Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbor Lights Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbor Lights Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Reviewed 30 May 2015

You should either stay somewhere else while in Islamorada, or just drive and stay any where else in the Keys. I knew something was wrong when my wife asked a man at the from desk in the office, approximately 1:45 PM if we could check in early ( 3:00 PM check in ), and he just laughed, and said most...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John T
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations during your recent visit. Please note that check in time is 3:30 PM (not 3:00) - which is even earlier than most of the area hotels. Even though we post this time everywhere and warn people that rooms are not available earlier...

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

On a recent motorbike trip to the keys we just needed somewhere in-expensive, no frills. It didn't need a hotel owner that was happy to have you there, it didn't really need particularly good service or a happy, friendly welcoming receptionist, a room that didn't have broken towel rails or rusty ovens, it didn't even need to have working blinds...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank CPilmer
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the recent review. We sure wish we had known you had any issues, rather than finding out via this review! We strive to provide a clean, safe and pleasant room for a fraction of what you would normally pay on the ocean in the Keys, but it seems like you had some issues that certainly should have...

DeLand, Florida
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The owner and I got into a verbal altercation before I had even moved into the room. We both agreed it would be best if I left. I asked her for a receipt of the refund and she told me I already had the paper they gave me earlier. I wasn't very happy with that answer was but anxious to...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank annabelle200999
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

This lady was checking in and left her small dog in the parking lot without a leash and unattended. We confronted her and told her she was just steps away from a very busy road, and that as dog owners ourselves we would hate to see anything happen to her dog. We reminded her that pets are to be leashed...

Florida Keys, Florida
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Sadly a very nice weekend was ruined by totally unnecessary rude way of treating tourist. We are respectful adults that deserves professional treatment. DONT MAKE THE WORSE MISTAKE OF YOUR LIFE! You are better off camping.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 403milly
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

These guests were evicted from the property. We have very few rules here at the property, but the ones we do have we take very serious. That is why we take so much time to go over them when you check in, and even have you sign a copy. Our guidelines are in place to provide a safe, comfortable, and...

North Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

I read a review that said sleep in your car and you'll have a better experience. Wish I read that before my husband and I paid $230 for a night we couldn't stay because we were evicted for unregistered guest policies. The manager or owner came down to the pool where we were with friends and asked us to pour...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank 533Jessie
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

These guests were evicted by the police during Memorial Day Weekend. They had over a dozen unregistered guests at the pool and in their single room at 1:30 AM - and we got several noise complaints prior to them being asked to leave. What they failed to mention is that after the police were called they ran up to their...

Homestead, Florida
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Owner of the hotel demanded that we leave due to a violation of registered guest policy and refused to refund the fee for the night. After commuting for close to two hours from Miami-Dade county to Islamorada, we came to the establishment to see if there was a vacancy. Once confirmed, my husband registered us to stay in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank MAMIBALTO
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

These guests were evicted by the police during the Memorial Day Weekend. They were told (and signed) about all the policies and they chose almost immediately not to abide. They screamed at the police and at the staff when they were confronted. There was no "miscommunication" with this party at any time - just because the husband chose not to...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Becky Chandler is the rudest and nastiest woman I have ever encountered in 39 years of travelling. She is the owner and had us evicted with no notice because we were there when other people were making noise. The hotel is a dump and a it is the worst customer service ever. Do yourself a favor and go anywhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sal G
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

This guest was evicted Memorial Day Weekend by the police because they had "invited" about a dozen people over in the middle of the night, disturbing all other surrounding guests in the process. They were evicted at 1:45 AM. The review is malicious and inaccurate. Todd Chandler

Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

I went to this place on memorial weekend and I spend $840 dollars for three nights and the owner (todd) was rude with me and my family . He is very aggressive and nasty . So be careful with this guy . He was trying to start a fight with me and and make me and my family pack and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank duniesgzz
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

This guest was evicted by the police during Memorial Day Weekend. The review is unfair and inaccurate. Todd Chandler General Manager

Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

Don't get me wrong it has a beautiful view, but it has terrible rooms don't get fooled by the room images in the site it's all fake and it has bad service and no more than 4 people can be in a room and if they find a 5 you will be asked to leave and no refunds!

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Samuel H
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

This guest was evicted by the police during Memorial Day Weekend. They were aware of the hotel policies and chose not to abide by them. They were aware of the repercussions and that there would be no refund, and signed several papers outlining these policies. The bad review is entirely because they were evicted.

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 16 May 2015

We've stayed at Harbor Lights twice in June 2011 and May 2015. The first stay was a two bed kitchenette and the value was excellent. I kept a flats skiff there and it was easy access in/out, boat ramp onsite for access. The beds are not very comfortable, but then again we're over 60 so younger would be OK. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Todd & Becky Chandler

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
7.9 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,166 reviews
7.8 km away
Sands of Islamorada
Sands of Islamorada
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
174 reviews
0.1 km away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
540 reviews
1.2 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
2.1 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Price Range: $111 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada
Harbor Lights Motel Islamorada, Florida
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbor Lights Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Florida
over a year ago
Brick, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Harbor Lights Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Saw a few less then positive reviews which mentioned unfriendly owners. This lady is a new owner because she was VERY Friendly & Positive.”
 of 5 bubbles rhpettitt, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT choose 16. Rooms 15 or 14 would be a better choice or the ones above 14 and 15 give lovely views of water.”
 of 5 bubbles Allusionist, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Find another place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles Linzee012, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you have pets first floor is best. You can request it but you'll be put where the owners want to put you.”
 of 5 bubbles 555Karen555, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see it first”
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
 of 5 bubbles 23krystinr, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay