We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Caribbean House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Caribbean House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Caribbean House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We stayed for two nights. The air-conditioned room was small but lovely and clean. The whole place was very well maintained. Marie and her staff were delightful to speak to and very helpful. We parked right outside the building and was able to walk wherever we wanted to go. Fantastic location, central to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deniseandmark2016
USA
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and loved it. My inbound flight lost my bag and Marie, the owner, received it from the airline and delivered it to my room when I was exploring the city. The rooms are small but just fine for a solo traveler. The place includes bath towels and beach towels, rents out bikes, and is only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank saman007
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The room was clean, but it was 10'x10'. It was also $109 per night, a great price. No breakfast, but coffee if you wanted it. No control of the A/C. It was just on the edge of being warm in the room. They failed to clean our room 1 day. (that's a problem). I'm giving it a 4 because my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
MINOU226, Manager at Caribbean House, responded to this review

We apologize if this guest is mad because we did not clean the room one day, but we don't go in the room if there is NO DISTURB sign and the housekeeper finish around 2 o'clock like it is advertised in the rooms Sorry again sir

Coxsackie, New York
Reviewed 29 April 2016

WE had never been to Key West before and didn't know what to expect, but when we arrived at the Caribbean House, we realized we had picked a perfect location. Though the rooms are very small - its fine to stay for a couple of nights. The rooms are well decorated with an island theme, with refrigerators in the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl E
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 11 April 2016

My wife and I stayed at Caribbean House from April 1-3 and we had a great stay. Marie at the front desk was extremely helpful and accommodating. We reserved one of the parking spots ahead of time which was $20 for the stay. Well worth it to have your car guaranteed a spot right in front of the inn as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FLboy22
Cathedral City, California
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Our room so small unable to fit our lugguge. All 3 windows in room unsecured no way to lock on the ground floor. The airconditioning was not working so room was hot as an oven making it impossible to sleep or use the room. All air conditioners controlled by office no way to regulate so high Temps and humidity make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prairiegarden
MINOU226, Owner at Caribbean House, responded to this review

I will not even answer to this, it is too vicious ! This review is just too outrageous to be trustful ! Just read all the other reviews that we had all these years and you will have an real idea of what we offer to our guest. We are sooo sorry of all this The owner

Springfield, Ohio
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Thanks Marie for another great 3 night stay at the Carribean House. Marie and her staff are outstanding hosts who make sure even the "little things" are no problem. I called her this past visit to make sure I had locked my door and she made sure I had. "No problem". I have many people ask where I stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hawkeyecox
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We stayed at the Caribbean House for three nights toward the end of an extended tour of Florida. Marie and her staff were extremely helpful. The place has its own quaint charm, though the rooms are somewhat small. This was more than compensated for by both the price and convenience. We ended up parking our Honda CRV with our kayaks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We stayed here over the weekend (2/19-2-22) for 3 nights. It was clean, comfortable and convenient. Lots of reviews mention the rooms are on the small side and while that's true for 2 people (no pets) it was all we needed. There's a dresser and hangers so you can unpack and not have to revisit a suitcase. And the price...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NanciL45
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

I have visited Key West multiple times and lived there full time from 2004-2006. Caribbean House is the best deal in town. Are the rooms small, yes. However, the rooms are spotless, the bathrooms are updated, and the deck and grounds are meticulously maintained. Key West is easily one of the most expensive places in the country to visit. You...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mathew K

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 km away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
711 reviews
0.3 km away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#45 of 77 in Key West
115 reviews
0.3 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
218 reviews
0.4 km away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#27 of 77 in Key West
450 reviews
0.3 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CARIBBEAN HOUSE IS 2 blocks from Duval Street (the main street), 1 block from HEMINGWAY HOUSE, 3 blocks from the beach (FORT ZACHARY TAYLOR BEACH). Dogs are welcome at NO charge. All the rooms are renovated and have their own bathroom, A/C, Flat screen TV with cable and a fridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Caribbean House

Address: 226 Petronia St, Key West, FL 33040-7374
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $173 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Caribbean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean House Hotel Key West
Caribbean House Key West, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Caribbean House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Trenton, New Jersey
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Caribbean House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It did appear the two bed rooms may have a bit more room in them, but I didn't ask.”
 of 5 bubbles bikingfarmer, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs for noise control”
 of 5 bubbles boxtersue, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Request first floor rooms to avoid steep stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles beezus2015, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Second floor rooms feel more secure, but there are plenty of steps.”
 of 5 bubbles FlyguyUK, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are the same size”
 of 5 bubbles big4buck, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5